We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Afternoon Visit”

The Observatory Science Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We were looking for somewhere to visit in the afternoon on the way home form Eastbourne with our two daughters and wanted something different from a Soft Play place or Farm and found the Observatory Science Centre advertised and thought we would try it out and what a great choice it turned out to be. There were over 100 experiments that you could try and young and old could all join in. The girls loved it and were running from one experiment to another and they were full amused for the whole time we were there. We were only disappointed we could not have been there longer as was such an interesting place to visit and would highly recommend.

Thank MarkSparkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JO H, Manager at The Observatory Science Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for your review and recommendation to others. We are pleased you unexpectedly found the science centre which was originally the home of The Royal Greenwich Observatory. The new site was chosen in the 1950's in middle of the countryside, away from light pollution, so the science centre is now truly 'a hidden gem'.
We hope you have the opportunity to visit again and to include a Telescope Tour and Science Shows / activities which are included in your admission every day through the local school holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 283 of 360 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was a fantastic day out we thought we would be risking it with potential rain however plenty to do both inside and out. The kids absolutely loved it and complained when we wanted to leave. The big kids also enjoyed themselves. The circus skills were also fun.
I think this was one of the most interesting days out I have had in a long time as good as the science museum in London so seriously give it a go its worth every penny

Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JO H, Manager at The Observatory Science Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that all 'kids' had a fabulous visit. During each school holiday we aim to offer something extra: like the circus skills which you all tried. There was certainly a lot of gravitational activity that week!
This summer we have a NEW science show and activities included in your admission price so I hope you can visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is well worth a visit and very educational for children also undercover so when like on our visit a Thunder storm had just started, it was ideal.

Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JO H, Manager at The Observatory Science Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for your review and we believe you purchased joint entry tickets for the science centre and gardens / grounds of Herstmonceux Castle.

We have indoor and outdoor areas at the science centre, so we can offer activities / entertainment and education - whatever the weather!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Despite a rainy day, we spent an excellent few hours here. It's a great mix of historical insight into the observatory itself, the opportunity to see some of the telescopes and equipment, and a really well produced set of activities for children. And adults, in fact.

The outdoor activities are well constructed, interesting and entertaining, even in light drizzle. Inside, there's a great mix of gadgets and displays with a lot of physical sciences covered. It's probably aimed at 4+ but our 2 year olds enjoyed plenty of it.

Decent value, friendly staff and reasonable, if busy, cafe.

Thank JamesSkinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JO H, Manager at The Observatory Science Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for your review. As a tourist attraction we are fortunate to have both indoor and outdoor activities, so we can offer Spectacular Science in all weathers.
As you mention there is interest for all ages and in each school holiday we aim to offer themed science demonstrations / shows - this week it is 'have-a-go' Circus Skills!
We operate our own cafe (in a former optical laboratory) and pride ourselves on the range of reasonably priced snacks, refreshments and light meals. If only we could make the space larger for wet weather days.....but we do have a marquee for picnics and cafe overflow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

This was our second visit. At nearly £25 for a family of 4 it is not cheap, but would have been good value if everything was working.
Last time we went there were just a couple of exhibits broken or not working, this time there were many. Even worse, with the exception of the small overhead train track which had a notice saying it was not working (same as last year), you found out the hard way with the inevitable kids disappointment.
Especially noticeable were 3 external items, the floating granite ball (no water), the water diverting system (no water) and the wheel up the entrance steps.
Most inside exhibits were working, although at times with 2 school visits it did get a busy and noisy.
The cafe was a pleasant surprise, a reasonable range and very reasonable prices.
The centre could be so much better and could easily achieve 5*'s but ongoing maintenance is essential plus more thought needs to be given to the visitor experience.
Not just organised school visits.

1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JO H, Manager at The Observatory Science Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for your review. If a visitor has any issue we would love to have opportunity to discuss in person whilst still on site.
Our admission prices have not increased this year and we do not charge any extra for tours / shows etc.
We have a comprehensive maintenance programme and ALL areas / exhibits are checked daily before opening. Staff are constantly checking all areas during the day and if visitors bring issues to our attention, we act swiftly. Historically the train track has had problems but we have recently installed a different power generating exhibit.

On the day of your visit we are unaware of any other exhibits that were not working.... including the water systems: the only explanation is that you arrived at opening time, just ahead of the water pumps being switched on.
The 'wheel on the entrance steps' that you refer to is an historic mirror from the Isaac Newton telescope, with information panel. It is not an exhibit, and does not move.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed our cafe which we manage ourselves and offers a great range of reasonably priced refreshments and holds the maximum 5* hygiene rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Observatory Science Centre also viewed

 

Been to The Observatory Science Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing