We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great learning and entertainment centre for adults and kids!”

The Observatory Science Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great learning and entertainment centre for adults and kids!”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The science park is amazing for adults and children. Our neighbours recommended we went and said their grandchildren had been totally absorbed for over four hours. Our grandchildren (and ourselves!) were equally absorbed and spent over four hours there too. There is a water apparatus area, a discovery area, scientific experiments and talks about chemistry and astro-physics - each presented in an easy-to-understand way. It's a really worthwhile place to go.

Visited April 2014

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BandWT4647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JO H, Manager at The Observatory Science Centre, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review and we are especially pleased that personal recommendation led to your visit. Everyone that works here strives so hard to ensure all visitors leave with a positive experience. There are activities for all ages and, as you discovered, we aim to present everything at a level that can be understood by our diverse audiences.
We hope that others will now take up your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    71
    10
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
east sussex
Level Contributor
155 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed it”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Came here with my brother both in our 60's. Excellent talk on the observatory and space etc from a very enthustisatic member of staff. I shall return with my grandchildren as there is so much for them to do. Lovely spot

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Blatters2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JO H, Manager at The Observatory Science Centre, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit with your brother and joined one of the regular telescope tours / talks given by our enthusiastic staff. We hope we offer something for all ages and abilities so I am sure your grandchildren will enjoy their visit too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Science Explained”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We sent a day with the grandchildren at the centre, it was fantastic. The kids were able to learn about science in a great way with plenty of hands on stuff. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the tour of the telescopes and domes fascinating for all. There are not only things to do inside but outside as well. We spent 6 hours at the centre and the time went in a flash, the café is good. The 'big' kids want to go back. In all a great day out.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mackgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JO H, Manager at The Observatory Science Centre, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for your review and we are delighted you all enjoyed your visit. As an attraction with indoor and outdoor interest we aim to offer offer something for everyone - no matter what the weather.
You enjoyed the tour of the domes and if you visit for an open evening you have the chance to actually look through the telescopes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Science, simples.”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This may well spark an interest in science for kids (and adults) who either think they don't understand or didn't think they would understand. Excellent hands on stuff for all ages in simple but not condescending language. If you don't enjoy this you are a very sad person. We intend to return with our great grand son.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JO H, Manager at The Observatory Science Centre, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for your positive review
We always aim to put the fun into science, hopefully offering entertainment and education for all ages: 'sparking an interest'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We visited here on Bank Holiday Monday with my granddaughter of 7, we had a really good afternoon. We spent 4 hours learning about science and the sky. There were very well informed staff, very interesting telescopes to look at and learn about but most of all it was Hands On.... My granddaughter enjoyed the afternoon immensely. The hands on experiments are for all ages and although some are a bit tired they are interesting. I learned quite a few things that I didn't know. I would happily recommend this attraction to anyone. The café was a surprise as they have a varied menu and it was extremely well priced. My partner and I had a Bacon Sandwich each (toasted) 2 lattes, and a large slice of Chocolate cate and it was £8.80. You do not have to pay lots of £'s for drinks.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JO H, Manager at The Observatory Science Centre, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for your positive review.
As an educational charity, visitor recommendation for all ages is important to us, and I love that you learned about 'science and sky'.
We are delighted you enjoyed visiting our cafe, located in a former optical laboratory.
We manage the cafe ourselves and take pride in our 5* hygiene rating and well priced menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Observatory Science Centre also viewed

 

Been to The Observatory Science Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing