We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best you can get!”
Review of Cleavers Lyng

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cleavers Lyng
Ranked #1 of 5 Herstmonceux B&B and Inns
malden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best you can get!”
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We stayed for 11 nights in Cleavers Lyng. My wife and I in the Balcony room and my mother in law in the Sunny room. The view from the Balcony room was breathtaking. The bed- and bathrooms were spotless clean and every second day the fluffy towels were changed. Breakfast was also excellent with a big choice of cereals, sweet cakes orange juice and ofcourse the cooked breakfast; even the continental breakfast was a surprise every day with a choice of Cheddar and French cheese. Sally arranged for me black pudding because I love to eat this with breakfast. Everyday fresh fruitcocktail as a healthy starter completed this.
The surroundings of Cleavers Lyng were also magnificant and coming home from a busy day of visiting gardens or a castle we could use the beatiful garden to relax and have a drink.
We felt very welcome and Sally was very helpfull to point out some trips we made during our stay. The stay with Sally, Douglas and their lovely dogs was top!
The words "highly recommended" and the four stars on the sign at the frontdoor should be written in capitals!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank volvoMalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    24
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
101
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southerbysue
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2010

This is the best small Hotel we have ever stayed in , the room was just superb with lots of unexpected extras, Sally was very friendly and gave lots of good information of local places to visit and eat. the garden at Cleavers Lyng are just beautiful and the views are to die for. The breakfast again was 100% and we could not have asked for more, we will be going back again and again. You must visit here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southerbysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

Due to a last minute appointment in nearby Bexhill I had the choice of staying the night before or catching a train at some ungodly hour of the morning. I chose the former and I am glad I did because I discovered this place!
A little gem almost at the end of a dead end road, you are surrounded by glorious views you can appreciate in peace and quiet. I had no problems preparing for my work for the following day and there were no disturbances to my night's sleep. Breakfast, prepared by Sally, was great with both cereals, fruit and yoghurt as well as the full English breakfast if required.

I was so impressed that, the following week, I stayed there again as I had work to do in Eastbourne. I took my partner down for the night as well and she just loved the place. So...business or leisure, if you want to stay somewhere different to a chain then stay here

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bedelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

Just like to echo all the previous reviews in saying what a friendly place in a really beautiful setting. We've never tried to take our Golden Retriever to a hotel before and were a bit apprehensive, well-behaved though he is ! However all three of us were welcomed and pampered throughout a really relaxing short stay. We shall be back - and for longer !

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gill159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in the Balcony Room. The location is beautiful and we arrived just in time to enjoy the sunset view.

This B&B offers better value for money and nicer surroundings then many hotels! The breakfast was fabulous (cereal, fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, cooked breakfast with fantastic sausage, bacon, eggs cooked to your liking, tomatoes and mushrooms, toast and preserves, tea and coffee, fruit juice)

It's hard to believe that this is a pet friendly B&B because there are no signs that any animals have been near the place, although we did see one of the doggy guests at breakfast! As another reviewer said, everywhere is spotless, including the cream carpet in the bedroom!!

There are some really nice "finishing touches" to the room, including after-dinner mints, lovely biscuits and great quality loo paper!!!! It's one of the things that usually bugs me - that really top class hotels often have horrible budget quality loo paper - but not here!

We stayed for two nights, took advantage of all the local information that is provided in a folder in the room to visit a few local spots (Beachey Head, Seven Sisters, Bexhill, Brighton).

The B&B was extremely peaceful and set in a truly wonderful spot and is a great base from which to explore Sussex.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pineapple27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hockley, essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2009

We discovered Cleavers Lyng by googling Dog-Friendly B&Bs, and we really couldn't believe our luck. We AND our dogs, Bullit & Maisie, were all made very welcome, and the house itself was absolutely exquisite. The furnishings throughout were fantastic, the grounds were absolutely lovely, and the breakfast was first class. A particularly nice touch was the radio in the reception area, which was left on all day, making the cottage even more welcoming to come into. Sally and Doug were extremely friendly and helpful, and provided us with plenty of useful information regarding local amenities, dog-friendly pubs & restaurants, walks, etc. It is ideally placed for exploring East Sussex and parts of Kent. Absolutely faultless - we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roggo-n-jak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leigh on sea
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

This was our second visit and it was as good as the first. We took our dog and was given a warm welcome, this is b&b at the top of the range but not at all pricey. It offers excelent value for money is set in tranqill surroundings and is more like stayings with friends. If you respect the countryside and peace and quiet this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boycehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herstmonceux
4.4 mi away
The Boship Lions Hotel
The Boship Lions Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lower Dicker
3.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
3.5 mi away
Priory Court Hotel
Priory Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pevensey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
7.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Horseshoe Inn
The Horseshoe Inn
#2 of 5 in Herstmonceux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleavers Lyng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleavers Lyng

Property: Cleavers Lyng
Address: Cleavers Lyng Church Road, Herstmonceux, Hailsham BN27 1QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hailsham > Herstmonceux
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Herstmonceux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cleavers Lyng 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cleavers Lyng is a unique grade II listed luxury country house of considerable charm and character dating back to 1577. A 4 star recommended AA property, privately owned and operated. The house is situated in a quiet country lane, a 5 min walk to Herstmonceux Castle or 1.5 miles from Herstmonceux Village and benefits from panoramic uninterrupted views over the Pevensey flats towards the South Downs. We are an ideal location for the Sussex Weald. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Cleavers Lyng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleavers Lyng Herstmonceux, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing