We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite!!”
Review of Cleavers Lyng

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cleavers Lyng
Ranked #1 of 5 Herstmonceux B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 3, 2009

We discovered Cleavers Lyng by googling Dog-Friendly B&Bs, and we really couldn't believe our luck. We AND our dogs, Bullit & Maisie, were all made very welcome, and the house itself was absolutely exquisite. The furnishings throughout were fantastic, the grounds were absolutely lovely, and the breakfast was first class. A particularly nice touch was the radio in the reception area, which was left on all day, making the cottage even more welcoming to come into. Sally and Doug were extremely friendly and helpful, and provided us with plenty of useful information regarding local amenities, dog-friendly pubs & restaurants, walks, etc. It is ideally placed for exploring East Sussex and parts of Kent. Absolutely faultless - we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roggo-n-jak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Cleavers Lyng
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 140 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2009

This was our second visit and it was as good as the first. We took our dog and was given a warm welcome, this is b&b at the top of the range but not at all pricey. It offers excelent value for money is set in tranqill surroundings and is more like stayings with friends. If you respect the countryside and peace and quiet this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boycehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

Even though this was a business trip I found it so peaceful. I drive a couple of minutes to the local pub for a meal. Good value for money. I would stay again if I am working in the Hellingly and Hastings area. Breakfast was gorgeous.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

We absolutely loved Cleavers Lyng, and so did our dogs. The perfect setting with amazing scenery, and the owners and staff were very hospitable and welcoming. We couldn’t have asked for anything more comfortable. The location is ideal because it is easy to get to just about anywhere you would need to visit in East Sussex and there are so many places to see nearby.
Our room was the Sunnyside room with a huge comfy bed and amazing views of the pevensey marshes and enough room for my boyfriend and I with our two dogs. We had a flat screen tv with dvd player and coffee/tea making facilities etc. Our room was always cleaned to the highest standard with fresh towels every day. The breakfasts were great we had a choice of full English or continental or a variation of whatever we liked, i.e. soft boiled, scrambled, poached, beans etc.
To top it all off we cannot thank the owners Sally and Douglas for helping us out of a tight spot. On our final day we left and took the dogs to a huge open space of grassland. My boyfriend dropped his car key and we spent over an hour looking in the area we thought it might be, finally he went back to cleavers lyng and Douglas offered a helping hand to cut a long story short they did everything they could to help us including driving 45 mins to get a metal detector! We didn’t find the keys and had to wait 2 and a half hours for my boyfriends dad to pick us up and in that time Sally and Douglas made sure that we were comfortable and had refreshments and made sure our wait was an easy one.
I had such a great time and would recommend Cleavers Lyng to anyone who wants relaxation, beautiful surroundings and amazing hosts!
We would love to return again next summer but hopefully we will not cause the same hassle we did this time round!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mestiza2nv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

This is my second stay at Cleavers Lyng, and even those my stays have been 10 years apart it was still as wonderful this time round. The cottage is as beautiful as I remembered and Sally was just as lovely.

I would recommend the bedroom with the Balcony view where you can sit and have a glass of wine while watching the sky change from day into night. The breakfast was great and set us up for the day and the peace and quiet can make you unwind within hours.

I will be going back to Cleavers Lyng in the very near future and hopefully stay longer.

Thank You Sally for making my first wedding aniversary the best experience ever.

Caroline and Richard Handley, Suffolk

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supercazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jardinero0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longtalleloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herstmonceux
4.4 mi away
The Boship Lions Hotel
The Boship Lions Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lower Dicker
525 reviews
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Hellingly Eastbourne
3.5 mi away
Priory Court Hotel
Priory Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pevensey
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
81 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Horseshoe Inn
The Horseshoe Inn
#2 of 5 in Herstmonceux
289 reviews
5.1 mi away
Starnash Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleavers Lyng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleavers Lyng

Address: Cleavers Lyng Church Road, Herstmonceux, Hailsham BN27 1QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hailsham > Herstmonceux
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Herstmonceux
Price Range: $101 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cleavers Lyng 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cleavers Lyng is a unique grade II listed luxury country house of considerable charm and character dating back to 1577. A 4 star recommended AA property, privately owned and operated. The house is situated in a quiet country lane, a 5 min walk to Herstmonceux Castle or 1.5 miles from Herstmonceux Village and benefits from panoramic uninterrupted views over the Pevensey flats towards the South Downs. We are an ideal location for the Sussex Weald. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Cleavers Lyng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleavers Lyng Herstmonceux, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing