We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay with the entire family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cleavers Lyng

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cleavers Lyng
Ranked #1 of 5 Herstmonceux B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay with the entire family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We just got back from a 2 night stay at this B&B with the wife, our newborn and our dog.

We arrived late on Friday night after travelling down from London. We were welcomed at the door by Sally who was helpful in getting a speedy check in so we can get settled and in from the cold. I was taken up to the room and shown where everything was, how everything worked etc.

We stayed in the Four Poster room and it was well presented, very clean and had a nice little settee area to relax. The bed was ultra comfortable and the room had everything we needed to ensure we enjoyed our stay.

Breakfast was very good. There was lots of choice and Sally was always attentitive, making sure we had everything we needed. On one occassion the wife had to pop out to feed our baby and when the food came out, Sally kindly took it back in to keep warm. The wife enjoyed her nice breakfast when she was ready.

We enjoyed the local area, walking around the castle grounds. The dog loved it too.

For dinner we went to the Horse and Groom. A dog friendly pub recommended by Sally. We had a great meal. Food was very good, a good mix between nice pub food and also restaurant quality food. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. As we're the locals. I would recommend this place to anyone in the area.

Overall a very pleasant first trip with the baby. Looking forward to going back to both Cleavers Lyng and the Horse and Groom soon.



  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannyw35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleaverslyng11, Owner at Cleavers Lyng, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to meet your family, beautiful baby Charlie so gorgeous! Would love to see you back one day. Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    22
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
99
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here in Autumn 2012. We booked the Sunny room, a big disappointment. It was small and cramped and the bathroom was the same. No room to put toiletries and with one towel rail that was practically falling off the wall. The cooked breakfast was good, but we were not asked if we would like brown or white toast. Sally can hardly be called friendly, rather officious if anything. We stay at a bed and breakfast in the West country and there we are welcomed back like old friends. What a difference.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Comments-JBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleaverslyng11, Owner at Cleavers Lyng, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hello, I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, I do wish that you had of advised me that you did not like your room, I may have been in a position to change your room to one of our larger rooms, the Sunny Room is our smallest double room with a kingsize bed, hence why the price for this room is our lowest from our range, however the room is beautifully furnished and benefits from outstanding views over the Pevensey Levels towards the South Downs. I have very many people coming back year after year to this same room. I do of course remember you and your husband coming to stay with us, I made sure our house keeper paid particular attention to your room (not that we do not with all our rooms) since I recall for some reason you seemed a little off with me, maybe why I tried very hard to be professional , rather then my chatty self. Little things like you had a pot of tea on your first morning, on the second morning as soon as you came downstairs , I whipped a pot of tea out to you (thinking I would get brownie points) but sadly you then requested the tea , be changed for the tea bags in the bedrooms which are PG Tips, (the same tea bags we serve in the kitchen) only difference is the tea bags in kitchen do not have a tea bag tag. Nothing I seemed to do for you met with your approval, I must say I did feel rather out of sorts, it is always difficult when you just know that someone does not like you.

The en-suite for the Sunny room is compact, I agree, but really the towel rail practically hanging off the wall , huge over exaggeration, it may have been a little loose, the grub screws do sometimes work loose, again why oh why did you not say anything, we are very nice people and would have done everything possible to make things right for you.
Also if you disliked staying with us that much why did you stay for 3 days, why not just say on your first morning that , the house was not up to your expectations and that you would like to check out, obviously I would have been disappointed, but would have understood, rather that then get underhand remarks about myself , displayed to friends and family and customers over a public medium , it is very upsetting. Anyhow once again I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Great B&B, took Dog with us and had a great time, bedroom beautiful, breakfast to die for and easy reach of Sisinghurst, Great Dixter and the Coast, Rye was lovely, highly recomended.

Very nice French and Indian restaurants in the village, fantastic pub food 6 miles away and great walk around the castle and gardens nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Beautiful place in the middle of nowhere! Lovely room with a very comfortable bed. Shower was not particularly great but worked. The only negative is that you can hear the other guests walking around and breakfast being prepared in the morning. The breakfast was fantastic, good portion sizes! The hosts were not particularly warming but courteous none the less. Would definantly return!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawoomaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleaverslyng11, Owner at Cleavers Lyng, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you both again one of these days. Your comment regarding the shower is puzzling , since they are all newly installed Power Showers. Can only assume that you failed to push the Power Shower Button, without this function, you get a normal shower !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Researched this B@B specifically as we wanted to take our Border Collie away with us. We were not disappointed. Ticked all the boxes for all of us. Beautiful building with history, great ambiance, clean, welcoming and relaxing. Despite the bath being on the small side in the French Room, the lovely smellies made for a relaxing time after a day of sight seeing. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits, milk, coffee cream, sweets and bottled water replenished daily and towels changed every 2 days.
There were areas of garden which our dog was positively invited to use whatever time of day/night. We had a front door key so no awkward seeking out owners to let us in and out. There is woods opposite the house (surrounding Herstmonceaux Castle) so we were able to start and finish our day with walking the dog without getting into the car.
The breakfast was a truly relaxing and enjoyable event. Freshly cooked food from a good choice of menu. Sally was a perfect host, polite, friendly, competent, no intrusion and quick to tend to us. Another plus with Cleavers Lyng was allowing our dog to come to breakfast with us.
Yes you need a car to get around to see the sights..Eastbourne, Lewes, Hastings, Battle, Beachy Head (all the places we visited) but returning to Cleavers Lyng in the evenings was something to look forward to.
We had the French room which was wonderfully furnished in keeping with the period. (& allowed dogs in!) There is a choice of rooms and if ever we come back to these parts, we will certainly try all of them out.

Room Tip: The house is situated in a very quiet location. No noise whichever room you stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

There was a very rocky start to our stay, that was there was no room booked, however Sally (the owner) sorted out accommodation for us for that night and we stayed with them the following night. The first nights accommodation was a lovely room with an amazingly luxurious bathroom. Cleavers Lyng was a lovely historic building, the room (The Balcony Room) was lovely, although the bathroom was a little lacking in the luxury of the first accommodation. Breakfast was lovely and freshly made and the location was superb to get to local places. If visiting try the Sundial restaurant, a real culinary experience! We had two lovely nights at Cleavers Lyng and would recommend this for a lovely relaxing break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley Shiers M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Went here just for a one night stay on the weekend. Must admit from the website we didn't really know what we were letting ourselves in for as the photos are a bit small and bits of it looked a bit dated on the website but it was nothing like that at all. We stayed in the 4 poster room - really nicely decorated - very contemporary and loads of space. Also I must admit I don't think I've ever slept in a more comfortable bed in my life! Combined with the peaceful location it was a really restful weekend in a lovely location. I'd definitely come here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herstmonceux
4.5 mi away
The Boship Lions Hotel
The Boship Lions Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lower Dicker
3.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
3.5 mi away
Priory Court Hotel
Priory Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pevensey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
7.4 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne Town Centre Hotel
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleavers Lyng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleavers Lyng

Property: Cleavers Lyng
Address: Cleavers Lyng Church Road, Herstmonceux, Hailsham BN27 1QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hailsham > Herstmonceux
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Herstmonceux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cleavers Lyng 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cleavers Lyng is a unique grade II listed luxury country house of considerable charm and character dating back to 1577. A 4 star recommended AA property, privately owned and operated. The house is situated in a quiet country lane, a 5 min walk to Herstmonceux Castle or 1.5 miles from Herstmonceux Village and benefits from panoramic uninterrupted views over the Pevensey flats towards the South Downs. We are an ideal location for the Sussex Weald. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Cleavers Lyng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleavers Lyng Herstmonceux, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing