We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”
Review of The Horseshoe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Horseshoe Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Herstmonceux B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The best thing about this place is the food in the evenings: everything else about it can easily be topped by a Travelodge so don't bother. A colleague and I had two rooms booked for 2 nights: both had dodgy flush buttons on the toilet and filthy vents above the shower. There's no soap provided for the washbasin althought there were complimentary shower gel and shampoo - but only on the first day. I'd used mine up and they weren't replenished on the next day, nor towels replaced. There was only one teabag in the complimentary tea/coffee facilities and the kettle was broken and didn't switch itself off once it had boiled (the lid was shut properly, I checked!) I had no tv control in my room so asked for one when I left for work on the first day. By the time I returned in the evening, one still hadn't been supplied so I asked again: I was told they didn't have one so they would have to swap the TV with one from another room which did have a control - this was done. In the meantime the exceptionally loud music that takes place on Friday nights began; as it was still early we asked what time it would go on til and were told midnight; as we had work the next day we asked if there was any chance of quieter rooms; initially we were told no but then, later we were offered alternative rooms. The new rooms were clearly a different price tier (a bath in mine and a four poster and a bath in my colleagues, although no shower in the latter!?) Mine now had soap and a tv control, however said tv control didn't work: I assumed it was batteries and went downstairs to get them replaced: almost a problem, but narrowly averted - only to return to my room and find that the control still didn't work, at which point I gave up. As I write, the music continues and apparently will do so until midnight. The wifi works, for the most part, but don't bother getting up for breakfast which is abysmal; it's only served from 7.30 so too late for business travellers and it consisted only of cereal boxes/milk and cooked breafast. No real coffee, only packets of Nescafe and the cheapest tasting juices which are those that are syrup diluted with water. For those who think this breakfast magnificent, again, go stay at a Travelodge which at least provides an array of breakfast options and a damn sight better quality. According to the board outside "Emma and Julien" welcome you although they were clearly nowhere in sight and, quite frankly, if they were I would strongly recommend they try spending a night or two in their own hotel in order to pay some attention to details and make this place at least satisfactory. Clearly they make their money from weddings so don't bother with the hotel guests. And yes, it's on an A road so don't expect a good night's sleep

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel would be better, however, if you do stay here, go for rooms 20/21 which are b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClareC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    54
    48
    43
    35
See reviews for
60
119
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was our second stay at the hotel.
We chose to return; having had such a wonderful time, the previous month.
The hotel is very well situated for visiting many of the local attractions in 1066 country; such as Herstmonceux and Pevensey castles, the observatory at the former, Battle and its abbey and Hastings as well as other places, slightly further afield, including Eastbourne.
The hotel has an amply large car parking area, immediately to the side; so there was very little distance to carry our cases.
We were made to feel at home, from the moment we arrived; the staff were extremely welcoming, polite and helpful and we were soon in our room.
The room we had, this time and last, was a standard double, with en suite shower and toilet; it was clean, tidy and very pleasant, with tv and tea and coffee making facilities.
The hotel has a lovely bar and restaurant; the latter serving a wonderful variety of freshly cooked meals, from the menu or specials board, using mainly locally sourced meats, fish and other produce.
Being adjacent to the busy A271, there was a little traffic noise, in our room, during parts of the night and early in the morning; however, the bed was very comfortable and we had a lovely night's sleep.
The breakfast provided was absolutely amazing; you can have cereal, as well as, toast and a full English breakfast, if you wish, and as much tea, coffee and juice as you want.
In summary; this is a fantastic place to stay and eat, in the evening and at breakfast time, we will most definitely be visiting again and again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I had my wedding here in october and it was amazing.The whole day was just how i planned it ,and the staff were brilliant in all aspects of the event.The food was great,the room looked stunning ,it was a wonderful day.totally cant reccomend enough.Thank you all at the horseshoe.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mrtundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our sons wedding was held at this hotel and recommended it for value and venue.
staff and management were wonderful. same goes for breakfast time and selection of food was terrific....Highly recommend it for anyones wedding

Room Tip: all rooms were adequate for your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Such great value for money. The food was so tasty and the breakfast was so much nicer than the one I had the night before in a 4 star hotel in Eastbourne. It is such a great place in a nice location and the only downside was the room was cold and no extra pillows or blankets. The staff were amazing and so attentive and pleasant. The building is lovely and just what you would expect from a traditional inn,very atmospheric,relaxed and comfortable. Do not be put off by previous reviews as improvements have been made.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debsh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARTFORD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Went to the Horseshoe for a wedding got put in Family Room for 2 nights which had one double bed {big} and a double sofa bed a nice size television and an adequete bathroom think it was rm 18 The place was well staffed and food at the wedding was good and filling. Sleep wise was ok Room was tastefully decorated and worth the money we paid for the 4 of us.Beer was 3.50 a pint of Fosters and Vodka and Coke 3.25 which is par for the course.All in all it is a nice place in a nice location.Would i stay here again probably if i was in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear as there is nice views of the fields and less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COLOSBOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Often passed this Inn and thought we would try it for early evening meal.
Entered bar and looked at specials board. My wife only wanted ham, egg and chips, and it was on the board in the bar. Told to go through to restaurant, and were seated. After looking at menu my wife changed her mind, and asked for the steak and kidney pudding. 'No sorry we don't have this, that's the only thing that we don't have' said the waitress, and bear in mind this was early evening at about seven o'clock. So my wife asked for the ham, egg and chips. 'No that's only on the lunch menu'. So she ordered their burger and chips with salad, and I ordered the Beef in red wine and mushroom sauce on a bed of bread, which was on their specials board in the restaurant.
Then she came back to say no beef in red wine, but we can put Irish stew on the bread base. So I had fish and chips. When the meals were brought out, no salad with the burger!
We ate our meals with a real feeling of being let down by what looked to be a decent restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shepsno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Herstmonceux hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herstmonceux
4.9 mi away
The Boship Lions Hotel
The Boship Lions Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lower Dicker
495 reviews
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Hellingly Eastbourne
7.1 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
870 reviews
9.9 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
23.7 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horseshoe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horseshoe Inn

Property: The Horseshoe Inn
Address: Posey Green, Herstmonceux, Hailsham BN27 4RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hailsham > Herstmonceux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Herstmonceux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Horseshoe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Horseshoe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Horseshoe Hotel Herstmonceux
The Horseshoe Inn Herstmonceux, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing