We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different but nice”
Review of Tormaukin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tormaukin
Ranked #1 of 1 Glendevon B&B and Inns
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Different but nice”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed one night this week. Room was very clean. Good size but bathroom was difficult to move about. Very tight. Also initially entering the room I felt claustrophobic as the window had heavy nets and looked out to a passage way. After a while it was fine. Bar area was quaint, didn't like the set up in dining room although the huge roaring open fire place was amazing. Food was good and breakfast tasty. Mixed feelings about this one! Might have to stay again just to make sure !!!.....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    98
    26
    18
    8
See reviews for
91
277
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights on a dinner, bed & breakfast basis. This was a gift from our family to celebrate my husbands 60th birthday. We were so impressed with every aspect of the hotel. Special praise to all the staff who couldn't do enough to help. The food is amazing as is the ambience of all the cosy public areas. We wil definitely be recommending this hotel to friends and family.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ScotsLil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

This is a great little hotel set in the pretty countryside!

The staff are very helpful and the rooms are tastefully decorated.

The breakfast, which is included in the rate, is amazing and really is value for money.

I definitely recommend this hotel for a quiet night away

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sunseeker0223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is a lovely hotel situated in Perthshire. The rooms are nicely appointed, however the mattress on the bed was one of the worst I have slept on. It was lumpy, soft and in need of replacement. This did not overly detract from our visit as the food more than made up for it. The choice on the menu was excellent and standard of food fantastic. The breakfast was likewise of a high standard.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My wife, daughter and one of her friends have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Tormaukin Hotel and had a wonderful stay.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and with us having our dog with us, were very accommodating.
The food was excellent and again if something wasn't on that nights menu, they again accommodated our requests.
A first class experience all round.
The 2 rooms were in the stable block and were clean and warm.
We will certainly going back.

Room Tip: If you have a dog with you, you can eat in the bar area. Reserve the table next to the window, as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Called in to the Tormaukin Hotel for a quick Saturday lunch. We used to frequent this place years ago and have enjoyed the food many times. In times passed you had to reserve tables at lunchtime ...should have seen the empty tables !....anyway - good help at reception- shown to dining room to make free choice of a table. Good, punctual ordering and then a long long wait. Never mind, its usually worth it.so we thought ....perhaps they are cooking the casserole from scratch....they say the cook everything fresh..obviously not everything....can do a casserole in half an hour can you? So eventually, our meals arrived. What a disappointment: a few scoops of dry beef stew with a few carrots and I think a piece of something like parsnip, a "piece" of flaky crust obviously cooked separately, and a wee (very wee) basket of potato chips. I expected a serving of vegetables to have been included - perhaps to be brought seperately - no - No other vegetables brought or on offer. Served just as I described. £25 or thereabouts for 2 servings . Very poor value. Not recommended. Never returning. I advise you to take heed and avoid this place until pretense and "riding on a reputation" is replaced by the serving of decent plates of food. Sorry!

Room Tip: Go to another restaurant for good food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

A safe "go to" choice when in the area. We went in January having not been for about six months. It was busy, buzzy with a great atmosphere. Lots of staff all of whom knew what they were doing and very friendly. A pretty big menu with some pretty diverse options. If I ever have a niggle it is that sometimes the menu is written better than it tastes but at the end of the day it is very good and very busy and that is more than enough to go out of your way and go.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Innspiration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendevon
4.8 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
755 reviews
6.3 mi away
Harviestoun Country Hotel & Restaurant
9.7 mi away
Broomhall Castle
Broomhall Castle
#1 of 1 in Menstrie
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
7.9 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kinross
349 reviews
6.4 mi away
Gleneagles
Gleneagles
#1 of 3 in Auchterarder
3,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tormaukin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tormaukin

Property: Tormaukin
Address: Tormaukin House Main Street, Glendevon FK14 7JY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Glendevon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glendevon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tormaukin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tormaukin is an 18th-century country inn situated in the village of Glendevon near Gleneagles in Perthshire.The Tormaukin is the perfect choice if you need to get away from it all. It's hard to imagine a more perfect retreat nestling in the peaceful Perthshire countryside. Yet, it's only an hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh and close to both Stirling and Perth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Tormaukin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Perth And Kinross
Perth And Kinross Country Inn
Tormaukin UK/Glendevon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing