We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend with friends”
Review of Tormaukin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tormaukin
Ranked #1 of 1 Glendevon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend with friends”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The room was really homely and had everything we needed. We were in a barn room. We were there for a friend's surprise 50th. Breakfast was gorgeous with a choice of cooked breakfast and some yummy treats for the sweet tooth for after the main event!

The food in the hotel's restaurant was excellent. Amongst our party of 6 we ate there both evenings and the food was very good indeed.

The hotel has a lovely relaxed atmosphere, and the staff are very professional.

We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    94
    25
    18
    8
See reviews for
90
276
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinurgh
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our second visit to the restaurant for lunch and what a delightful experience they were. A very welcoming atmosphere awaits the minute you enter and a friendly and attentive member of staff shows you to your seat. The dining area exudes quality and the ambiance is warm and inviting. The menu offers a splendid variety of good, Scottish fare with an extensive wine list at very reasonable prices with some local cask ales as well It is now on our list of favourite eateries in the heart of Scotland.
Overall good food, good wine, good atmosphere and a very reasonable bill at the end. Will we be back? Absolutely yes!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser_Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hi andy,

good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us,
we've just recently updated our wine lists for the new season, so there will be something new to sample on your next visit. We're always happy to take recommendations for real ales as well, so if you have something you would fancy let us know and we'll see if we can get it in!

All the best
Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Booked in to the Tormaukin for a wedding over the hill in Dollar. What a find - a warm and friendly place to relax and kick back. The rooms are comfortable and spacious for an old inn. The inn has much character charm with open fires and lots of nooks and crannies to sit and enjoy a quiet drink.

The breakfasts are incredible with so much choice on offer - really sets you up for a day in the hills.

The staff are really helpful and even ironed a friend's shirt ready for the wedding! Many thanks to all the staff at the Tormaukin for making out stay so enjoyable.

Will be sure to visit again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser_Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hi Jon,

really happy you enjoyed your stay with us, our chefs love to give everyone a good kickstart to their day, nothing like a good fry up to wake you up in the morning!

All the best
Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a really nice wee hotel/pub/restaurant near Gleneagles. My girlfriend and I were had an experience booked at Phoenix Falconry just outside nearby Blackford (it was amazing!) which started at about 9am so, rather than driving up early morning from Glasgow, we stayed here the night before. We stayed in the stable section, which was slightly cheaper than the main building but was a little more basic as there was no fireplace. But the room was still nice and clean with wooden beams across the ceiling and an adequately sized en suite with bath/shower, sink and toilet. The bed was very comfy and very warm! The bar, restaurant and breakfast room all have lovely open fires in them (gas in the breakfast room, wood-burning elsewhere) making the place feel really inviting and homely. The bar itself is really small (about 6-feet long). We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel and both were really good (and substantial). At dinner, we had baked goat’s cheese and onion marmalade tart, and cheese and chive soufflé to start, both great. For main we had the chicken stuffed with haggis and the steak and Guinness casserole/pie. The portions were pretty huge; neither of us could actually finish the mains, which left us disappointed we had no room for the desserts that also looked good! If you want 3 courses then starve yourself before you come. The breakfast spread was varied to say the least. There was cereal, fresh fruit (including blueberries and pineapple), cooked breakfast and even small chocolate cakes and waffles. The fry-ups we had were well cooked and properly appetising, unlike a lot of hotel fry-ups. The staff were really friendly and helpful at all times, even at 7:30 in the morning at breakfast. We would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlasgowMcGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser_Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, we'll make sure you get a pudding next time!

All the best
Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a very relaxing night away at the Tormaukin. The staff were attentive and keen to ensure that we had everything we needed from the moment we arrived until our departure the next day. This is an old coaching inn, so the rooms are not luxurious, but that said, the room we had booked was very clean and nicely decorated - ours had a lovely exposed stone wall, beams and an old stone fireplace and good quality white bedding with a nice throw and cushions. There was a dressmaker's mannequin on the raised are which was a nice touch and the en-suite was spotless and the towels were of good quality. The room was really comfy and quaint and great value and we would happily stay again - indeed, we are planning our next trip! There is a lovely lounge area with a couple of sofas and easy chairs and a toasty open fire where we spent the afternoon reading and relaxing. Our evening meal was top notch - the menu was excellent and our choices proved to be delicious - the cooking was of a high standard and the serving staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Breakfast the next morning was lovely - good quality, plentiful and perfectly cooked. We really can't recommend this place highly enough for an informal, laid-back, relaxing break with great food and service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser_Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Very happy you enjoyed your relaxing stay with us, we always aim to provide a laid back atmosphere for our guests, nobody wants to go away for a relaxing weekend and still have the hustle and bustle all about them.

Hope to see you again in the future,

All the best,
Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is just what I look for in a night away - nice beer, friendly, welcoming staff, top food, great service, a roaring fire, nice location. What more could you possibly want? We were in Rooms 7&8 which were adjoining and, while not absolutely fantastic, at £100 for the night IN TOTAL, provided great value. Even breakfast and a final hot chocolate (with marshmallows) today were really good. We'll definitely be going back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser_Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hi Craig,

happy you enjoyed your stay with us, we are determined to provide the best value possible to our guests, so delighted you felt we lived up to the task, Hope to welcome you again in the future.

All the best, Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in the main building and our bedroom was lovely and bright with a really comfortable bed. We stayed two nights and ate in the restaurant both nights although we were given the choice of staying in the bar next to the open fire as we meet with my parents who brought their dog. The food was very good with a good choice of starters, mains and desserts. The staff could not be more accommodating nothing was to much and every time we were greeted with a warm smile and chat. We will definitely go back but this time in the summer as we had quite a bit of snow.

Room Tip: Rooms for the stable block are across the car park so in bad weather you will get wet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlottegoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser_Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hi Charlotte,
glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us, unfortunately the weather is the one thing we cant influence during your stay, hopefully the Summer will bring us better weather, there cant be much rain left up there surely!

All the best,
Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendevon
4.8 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
12.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
6.1 mi away
Cairn Lodge Hotel
Cairn Lodge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
22.2 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
6.4 mi away
Gleneagles
Gleneagles
#1 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tormaukin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tormaukin

Property: Tormaukin
Address: Tormaukin House Main Street, Glendevon FK14 7JY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Glendevon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glendevon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tormaukin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tormaukin is an 18th-century country inn situated in the village of Glendevon near Gleneagles in Perthshire.The Tormaukin is the perfect choice if you need to get away from it all. It's hard to imagine a more perfect retreat nestling in the peaceful Perthshire countryside. Yet, it's only an hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh and close to both Stirling and Perth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Tormaukin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Perth And Kinross
Perth And Kinross Country Inn
Tormaukin UK/Glendevon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing