We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And relax .....”
Review of Tormaukin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tormaukin
Ranked #1 of 1 Glendevon B&B and Inns
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“And relax .....”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a very relaxing night away at the Tormaukin. The staff were attentive and keen to ensure that we had everything we needed from the moment we arrived until our departure the next day. This is an old coaching inn, so the rooms are not luxurious, but that said, the room we had booked was very clean and nicely decorated - ours had a lovely exposed stone wall, beams and an old stone fireplace and good quality white bedding with a nice throw and cushions. There was a dressmaker's mannequin on the raised are which was a nice touch and the en-suite was spotless and the towels were of good quality. The room was really comfy and quaint and great value and we would happily stay again - indeed, we are planning our next trip! There is a lovely lounge area with a couple of sofas and easy chairs and a toasty open fire where we spent the afternoon reading and relaxing. Our evening meal was top notch - the menu was excellent and our choices proved to be delicious - the cooking was of a high standard and the serving staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Breakfast the next morning was lovely - good quality, plentiful and perfectly cooked. We really can't recommend this place highly enough for an informal, laid-back, relaxing break with great food and service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser_Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Very happy you enjoyed your relaxing stay with us, we always aim to provide a laid back atmosphere for our guests, nobody wants to go away for a relaxing weekend and still have the hustle and bustle all about them.

Hope to see you again in the future,

All the best,
Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    101
    28
    18
    8
See reviews for
93
283
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is just what I look for in a night away - nice beer, friendly, welcoming staff, top food, great service, a roaring fire, nice location. What more could you possibly want? We were in Rooms 7&8 which were adjoining and, while not absolutely fantastic, at £100 for the night IN TOTAL, provided great value. Even breakfast and a final hot chocolate (with marshmallows) today were really good. We'll definitely be going back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser_Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hi Craig,

happy you enjoyed your stay with us, we are determined to provide the best value possible to our guests, so delighted you felt we lived up to the task, Hope to welcome you again in the future.

All the best, Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in the main building and our bedroom was lovely and bright with a really comfortable bed. We stayed two nights and ate in the restaurant both nights although we were given the choice of staying in the bar next to the open fire as we meet with my parents who brought their dog. The food was very good with a good choice of starters, mains and desserts. The staff could not be more accommodating nothing was to much and every time we were greeted with a warm smile and chat. We will definitely go back but this time in the summer as we had quite a bit of snow.

Room Tip: Rooms for the stable block are across the car park so in bad weather you will get wet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlottegoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser_Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hi Charlotte,
glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us, unfortunately the weather is the one thing we cant influence during your stay, hopefully the Summer will bring us better weather, there cant be much rain left up there surely!

All the best,
Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakley
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My partner took me back as l love it up there,we were booked into a stable block room(which l was excited about) but didn't get that one and we were put into the main building we have stayed in other main rooms and they were gorgeous but the room we were put into was very tired and needed a bit off loving care!!we arrived early so we could have lunch which was lovely and we were also booked in for evening meal couldn't fault the food but we were hurried away from our table and put in reception area to finish our drinks which l wasn't amused about as l was enjoying quality time with my partner.Breakfast was lovely and staff friendly but like l said l was a wee bit disappointed with room and being hurried out from dinner.

Room Tip: room 3 a bit tired needing tlc,room 11 beautiful but you get bar noise the other big room at the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dietcokebabe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser_Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Many thanks for visiting the Tormaukin once again. Please accept my apologies that your experince this time did not quite live up to expectations. We do try to let people stay at there tables as long as they like during an evening service, however on some occasions we do have to ask guests to move through to the bar or lounge area in order to free up the table, we do only do this as a last resort if nobody is moving from there table however, again i apologise for the inconcenience.

Room 3 is on the "to do" list as far as refurbishment goes, if you choose to stay again in the future please let us know which room you would like and we will make sure you get the room of your choice.

All the best,
Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The Tormaukin was recommended to me by a friend and it didn't disappoint.

We stayed in room 6 - lovely bright spacious room with a stunning fireplace and great views.

Staff were attentive, welcoming and friendly. Reception and lounge areas were great for relaxing in - comfy sofas and open fires.

We had dinner on Saturday night - good food, great atmosphere.

Definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a cosy weekend away

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fraser34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser_Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Glad to see you enjoyed your stay at the Tormaukin, theres always a wee bit of extra pressure when a place has been recomended by a previous guest as we have to keep are standards high (not that we wouldn't anyway of course!).

Hope to see you again in the future,

All the best,
Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely meal with friends. Service was good and all 3 of us enjoyed our meals. We only had a main course each so can't comment on the starters or desserts. Nice ambiance in the restaurant and whole of the building is very characteristic. My only gripe is that our table was next to an outside door and with people enjoying the sun, there was a constant stream of people in and out, leaving the door open. There may have been sunshine but the air was nippy so we felt the chill. We got fed up getting up to close the door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser_Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hi there Sally,

glad you enjoyed your meal with us. Please accept my apologies over people coming in and out of the door, most of our doors are set to close by themselves, let us know the next time you visit and we'll make sure to put you at a less drafty table!

All the best,
Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

A lovely hotel, previously a coaching inn, right in the heart of the countryside but near all amenities. Very warm welcome and attractive bar and restaurant areas. Our room was in the stable block and at £50 for the room with an excellent breakfast this special winter price was worth every penny. We had dinner which was very good as well.

Room Tip: Watch out for their special deals - the stable block was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser_Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Really happy to see you enjoyed your stay at the Tormaukin. Our stable block special offer this Winter and Spring has been phenomenally popular. At the end of the day we all prefer to have a busy bustling hotel, with guests feeling they have had real value for money, and we think that that deal hit the nail right on the head!

Hope to see you again in the future,
All the best,
Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendevon
4.8 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
767 reviews
6.3 mi away
Harviestoun Country Hotel & Restaurant
7.9 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kinross
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Gleneagles
Gleneagles
#1 of 3 in Auchterarder
3,208 reviews
13.6 mi away
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
6.9 mi away
Smiddy Haugh Hotel
Smiddy Haugh Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberuthven
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tormaukin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tormaukin

Property: Tormaukin
Address: Tormaukin House Main Street, Glendevon FK14 7JY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Glendevon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glendevon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tormaukin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tormaukin is an 18th-century country inn situated in the village of Glendevon near Gleneagles in Perthshire.The Tormaukin is the perfect choice if you need to get away from it all. It's hard to imagine a more perfect retreat nestling in the peaceful Perthshire countryside. Yet, it's only an hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh and close to both Stirling and Perth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Tormaukin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Perth And Kinross
Perth And Kinross Country Inn
Tormaukin UK/Glendevon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing