We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little place to "do lunch"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tormaukin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tormaukin
Ranked #1 of 1 Glendevon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thornhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Lovely little place to "do lunch"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This review only covers the restaurant so I make no comment on the rooms. We were staying at a well known nearby hotel and were recommended this eatery for lunch. It most certainly did not disappoint. We received a warm welcome and were promptly seated in the conservatory. The service was very friendly and efficient. The food lived up to our expectations, especially the fillets of sea bass on a bed of cullen skink risotto with fresh asparagus. All perfectly cooked and complementing one another. The wine list is frankly a bit limited though there were specials available on a blackboard at greater cost. Good coffee but home made petits fours would have been nice rather than those awful biscuits in clear plastic packets. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank finisterre72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser_Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your trip to the Tormaukin, the sea bass has been a big success ever since we introduced it to our menu. Our wine list is in the process of being updated, we try and stock a wide variety of wines, and our specials are constantly rotating, however we try and shy away from having large numbers of wines that may end up just sitting in our cellar for months on end. Next time you are in ask to speak to Fraser, and if you have something specific you would like to see i can see about getting in as a special (and if it does well it may graduate to the main list!). All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    93
    25
    17
    5
See reviews for
87
271
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dunblane, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We chose to celebrate a special occasion at the Tormaukin because of its excellent reputation for food. Our experience was quite different and we are left feeling baffled by such a marked contrast.

The evening got off to a poor start when we were seated at a table in the restaurant area literally feet away from a roaring log fire - wonderful to look at from a reasonable distance but not to sit in front of for a whole meal. Our faces were burning within minutes of being seated and I asked if we could move table. The waiting staff were happy to move us but there were no other tables free at that moment. The situation was saved by a very kind couple seated at an adjacent table who overheard the conversation and offered to move to the bar area to eat their desert! The lady commented that she couldn't have coped with sitting so close to such fierce heat either and sympathised with us having been seated there.

We chose from the Valentine's menu and whilst my starter of beetroot gravalax was excellent, we thought the rest of the meal was extremely poor. My husband described his starter of crab and fennel fishcake as watery and completely tasteless. It was also served without any accompaniment, just one fishcake in the middle of a large plate. We both opted for the guinea fowl, puy lentils and potatoes dauphinoise for our main course. It looked fabulous but we found it completely tasteless apart from the sauce, which left an unpleasant aftertaste. We both had the chocolate tart for dessert and again were very disappointed. The pastry was so tough we struggled to break it, while the filling was not particularly pleasant.

We commented to the waitress (who provided very good service) that we had not enjoyed the meal. She conveyed this to the chef who responded that he was 'disappointed' that we hadn't enjoyed it. Unsatisfied with this response, my husband subsequently emailed the Manager of the hotel who apologised for the fact that we hadn't enjoyed the meal, but commented that 'there is nothing we could have done to make the food any different...' The response finished by saying that 'We and our regular guests are happy with our ever changing menus and the only issues we have are trying to fit everyone in who books." We found this response quite smug, but it does perhaps go some way to explaining why our table was squeezed in so tightly in front of the log fire.

We are not regular complainers and this is the first time I have written a review and the first time my husband has written a letter of complaint about a meal. So it takes a lot for us to take such action, but apart from our annoyance at having to pay £50 (excluding coffee and drinks) for what we considered to be such a poor meal, we are above all left feeling that our very special occasion was ruined by this experience.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vjc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillicoultry, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

On arrival on a cold dreary afternoon we were greeted warmly by smiling staff and huge roaring toastie log fires throughout the Inn, we enjoyed a warming glass of shiraz by the fire before we checked in. cosy very comfortable couches.we were offered a table for dinner but declined as we hadnt decided what we were doing but as the evening progressed and we seen the menu and restaurant we decided it was a must! all locally sorced produce and a stunning menu. our room was room 7 in the stable block ( all rooms within hotel were booked) and it worked out perfect as we are smokers and our room was in an outdoor corridor perfect for a ciggy! the room was toastie on arrival andspotless spacoius with a sofa and a bed. a nice size tv and plenty of storage , tea coffee shortbread and mineral water. the bathroom had bath and shower and nice wee toiletries for a lovley bubble bath after a nice walk to admire the stunning scenery. we returned to bar around 8.30 and hadnt booked a table and we couldnt beleive how busy the place had become! we were given a menu and sat once again by log fire and broused the menu. we were seated within ten minutes in the coservatory (very classy) and enjoyed a delicious 3 course meal very unusual menu to choose from but everything cooked to perfection. breakfast next morning was in another room once again with a stunning roaring fire in the centre, so welcoming as were the staff. cold buffet of everything and hot cooked breakfast to order. best breakfast ever! superb. so if your considering this wee gem of an inn dont! just book it. perfect for a get away from it all stay.cant fault anything. and the value is fab. cant wait to go back and will be staying 2 nights next time.!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi Julie, delighted you have enjoyed your stay at the Tormaukin, it always amazes us how the restaurant can go from quiet to mobbed in the space of 5 minutes too, it always keeps us on our toes! We try and keep a good mix of classics and more unusual foods on our menu, so theres usually something for everyone. Hope to meet you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Tormaukin Inn Glendevon, staying from the 18th-22nd February.

I was initially apprenhensive when my partner announced this 4 night trip to Glendevon, partucularly when he had booked a room in the 'stable block', which allowed pets for just £50 per night, bed and breakfast.

We were checked in and assigned room 9 by a delightful employee, who showed us to our room, just outside the main building of the Inn. The room itself was really lovely, with no smell or indication that pets were allowed in the stable block rooms. The bed was really comfortable, and the room itself was comfortable and warm. We had been left complimentary bottles of water and shortbread which was a nice touch. The bathroom was small and the water pressure from the shower was a little weak, but plenty of hot water available, so no real issues.

Dinner at the Inn was a real treat, so much so that we dined here every evening of our 4 night stay. We tried numerous items on the menu, all of which were really reasonably priced and well prepared. Peroni was available on draft and we spent a few evenings in the lounge before dinner which was really enjoyable, (really enjoyed the 'Glee' soundtrack that was played ;0)). Dining room was comfortable and warm, with plenty of room between diners which we both really appreciated.

Breakfast was equally impressive, with a large selection of both hot and cold offerings in a lovely morning room.

The employees of the Inn were really friendly, particulary the waitstaff at dinner. We loved the informal atmosphere which was provided.

In conclusion, a really great stay, at just £50 bed and breakfast, we felt the Inn provided excellent value for money and we are looking forward to a return visit!.

Room Tip: Room 9 located inhe 'stable block' allowed from some additinal privacy just a few steps from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jajd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi there, delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Tormaukin, we pride ourselves on providing value to our guests and feel the stable block rooms are a great example of this. Peroni is a new addition to our bar and appears to be going down very well with our guests, personally could do without the Glee soundtrack though!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I went for evening meal on Saturday 16 Feb 2013. It was for my husband's birthday but it also coincided with their Valentine's Event. What can I say, from the moment we arrived the staff could not do enough for us. The venue was beautiful with roaring fires in each room. I do not eat meat and one staff member in particular, deserves a special mention, Maria - she was very helpful with the menu and the chef was happy to adapt a meal to suit my needs, although very kindly, after some input from Maria, then offered to cook me a meal from the lunch menu instead. The food was delicious and it was exceptionally good value for the quality and freshness of the food provided. I can highly recommend the baked goats cheese, tomato and onion marmalade tart yum yum. Defo going back next month for my birthday but hopefully can book a room next time so that we can experience the full Tormaukin hospitaility from start to finish. Thank you for a fab evening.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi there Pamela, delighted you enjoyed your evening with us. We always try to cater for guests specific requirements (especially Maria, theres nothing more odd than how she likes her steak!) We look forward to welcoming you again for your birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here (in October 2012) when taking our grandson back to Strathallan School after his half-term holiday. What a wonderful place to just take a deep breath, sit back and relax. Our room was delightful, the staff were friendly and helpful and the food in the dining room was par excellence. I know it's easy to say "We'll be back" but we will be - at least twice this year (booked already).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi there James, delighted you have enjoyed your stay at the Tormaukin, and even more delighted to welcome you back in the future. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed on the 17th and 18th Jan and it was a great place for us to go for peace and quiet. Just like we had wanted. We own a pub and just wanted a quiet little place to relax. Log fires, warm and friendly, great food, great staff.
One word, Tremendous! We paid £140 for two nights bed and breakfast and it was well worth it. And the dinners both nights were to die for.
If you want a lovely little place to go and relax then this is it, trust me you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cunny111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Tormaukin, its always nice to have someone else doing the running around for a change! Hope you make the short trip from Killmarnock again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendevon
4.7 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cairn Lodge Hotel
Cairn Lodge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
12.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
22.2 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
22.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tormaukin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tormaukin

Property: Tormaukin
Address: Tormaukin House Main Street, Glendevon FK14 7JY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Glendevon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glendevon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tormaukin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tormaukin is an 18th-century country inn situated in the village of Glendevon near Gleneagles in Perthshire.The Tormaukin is the perfect choice if you need to get away from it all. It's hard to imagine a more perfect retreat nestling in the peaceful Perthshire countryside. Yet, it's only an hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh and close to both Stirling and Perth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Tormaukin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Perth And Kinross
Perth And Kinross Country Inn
Tormaukin UK/Glendevon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing