We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem for Foodies”
Review of Tormaukin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tormaukin
Ranked #1 of 1 Glendevon B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Tormaukin Inn is located near Gleneagles in Perthshire. At the time, we were staying at The Gleneagles Hotel and our Concierge James recommended it as one of his personal favorite.

At first, the restaurant seemed a bit quiet, as there was only one table to dine in but soon it became very cozy to sit next to fireplace on the bench. The Restaurant team was quite pleasant and service was seamless. We went there 2 times during our stay as we very much enjoyed our first experience. The food was scrumptious. We were not surprised to see that the restaurant received the Certificate of Excellence from Tripadvisor, which is well deserved by the way! Sending all our compliments to the Chef for creating such a nice menu and our big favorite the sweet glazed cabbage.

We will definitely be back and will recommend it friends & family.

Room Tip: Great Food!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Oliver-Vanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
There are newer reviews for Tormaukin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 518 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stopped here for a quick bite to eat on wet Sunday night and WOW. I've been passing the hotel for years and never stopped before and I really regret not stopping before now.
The restaurant was lovely and welcoming with cosy fires and friendly staff and peacefully relaxed dogs, just made the evening for us. The small touches of slate placemats with the T engraved just added to the ambiance. We shared the Terrine to start with, which was just so full of flavour and beautifully presented and our maincourses of WildBoar and Chicken stuffed with haggis, where even better. We finished off with the sticky toffee pudding and homemade icecream which just melted in the mouth.
Overall it was a wonderful meal, great value for money and left us wondering why we've never stopped here before. We'll be back and hopefully get to enjoy a glass of wine and stay over.

Room Tip: We didn't get to enjoy an over night stay, but after seeing what we did, we will be back!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a lovely 3 nights at the Tormaukin. Staff were incredibly friendly, helpful but non-intrusive. We spent most of our time lounging around drinking eating and playing games!
The room was spotless, warm and spacious, bed was very comfortable with nice quirky touches in the room such as nice mugs, cute cushions and a mannequin to put our jackets on.
Nothing was too much trouble and the food was pretty much unsurpassed, fresh, tasty and large portions. We liked it so much we are coming back for Hogmanay!
Thanks for the lovely stay.

Room Tip: We were in room 6, which was at the front. but the hotel allows you to choose your own room from th...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemorag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I was really looking forward to my visit to the Tormaukin. I made an online booking via the website and received a confirmation. By luck, I phoned the hotel to make dinner reservations only to be told they had no record of my online booking and the hotel was now full. They tried to give me local alternatives which were not the same standard. Sadly, they prefered to honour a local booking made just the previous day ( taking the last room) rather than honour my online booking made four days prior to that.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank travelsimeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I stopped off at the Tormaukin Hotel this week and opted for a cream scone tea.

Delightfully served as we sat beside a wood burning open fire.
Large warm scones, butter, jam and a dish of cream plus surprisingly strawberries and raspberries - ideas of diet just were fogotten.

The place was very busy despite being off the main roads but we still got quick service.

Will have to consider an overnight stay to sample some of the large range of Mait Whiskies available at reasonable prices !!

Room Tip: two rooms in restaurant with log burning fiires
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank eddienicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We booked this hotel for a family get-together last weekend after reading the brilliant reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed.
Everything from the rooms to the staff and the food were all excellent and we certainly won't think twice about going back again.
Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant!!!

Room Tip: We had four rooms...all were excellent.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sludger8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

I cannot comment on the rooms as we only ate at the Tormaukin however this experience matched up to my expectations based on recommendations.
The pan seared pidgeon breast with blackpudding was excellent as was the game casserole. I thought the prices were reasonable for the quality of food being served with good sized portions. The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doccraignewlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendevon
4.7 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
777 reviews
12.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
7.8 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kinross
356 reviews
6.3 mi away
Harviestoun Country Hotel & Restaurant
6.4 mi away
Gleneagles
Gleneagles
#1 of 3 in Auchterarder
3,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tormaukin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tormaukin

Address: Tormaukin House Main Street, Glendevon FK14 7JY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Glendevon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glendevon
Price Range: $73 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tormaukin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tormaukin is an 18th-century country inn situated in the village of Glendevon near Gleneagles in Perthshire.The Tormaukin is the perfect choice if you need to get away from it all. It's hard to imagine a more perfect retreat nestling in the peaceful Perthshire countryside. Yet, it's only an hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh and close to both Stirling and Perth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tormaukin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Perth And Kinross
Perth And Kinross Country Inn
Tormaukin UK/Glendevon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing