We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cottage Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Cranford B&B and Inns
Castle Rock, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A little gem ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was nervous about booking here because my boyfriend is a fan of the big box American style hotels. However, The Cottage turned out to be a little gem. From the quirky proprietor, to its efficient and quiet staff, this guest house was a delight. We were in a deluxe room at the back of the hotel (not the main building) and the room was a good size, very clean, and the only complaint I could have was that the TV was so small, I couldn't read the on-screen guide!!! It was the cleanest hotel room I have stayed in for some time. The breakfast was delish, and for this Brit, nostalgic with sausages and baked beans. It is about a 25 minute walk to the underground, which for we Coloradans was no great shakes, but I think the average American would want to get a cab!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms AWAY from the main building which I imagine could be noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britkim2169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    37
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
31
32
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
607 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 518 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I'm giving this guest house 4 stars because it was unexpectedly good. I was stuck in Heathrow overnight due to snow, found this guest house on last minute.com, booked then phoned to say I'd be late arriving, they sent a taxi to meet me, gave me a warm welcome and showed me to a warm, comfortable, large room off the courtyard which was absolutely spotless. In the morning, I had a quick breakfast in the bright breakfast room which overlooks the courtyard, whilst waiting for my cab which again they organised for me. This is not the sort of place I would ever look for but after this experience, I'd happily recommend it and would stay again. It's particularly handy for Terminal 1.

Room Tip: I think the rooms off the courtyard will be quieter than those in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeville, Hawaii
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed there for a night when traveling from Heathrow airport. It is just a few minutes away with a cab from the terminals. Nice, quiet and small place, perfect to have a rest and relax. The breakfast was good as in most B&Bs… Otherwise nothing special to offer.

Room Tip: Mine was right next to the reception and would not recommend it, as other guest might leave early in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peshovuchev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed over night before long flight and had a long drive to get there due to weather conditions so appreciated the friendly greeting. Room warm and clean with coffee making facilities and comfortable bed. Lovely gardens. Recommend The Queens Head opposite for a no nonsense home cooked evening meal. Typical London local. Meal for two including drinks under £20 !! Highly recommend. The Cottage is located behind other properties so tricky to find. It is between a row of terraced houses and a pub down a drive. Look for the metal gates!

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie444Stafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Cottage Guest House offered accommodation close to Heathrow airport. We also enjoyed the secure and complimentary parking offered. Had we had the opportunity to stay longer, the gardens looked quite lovely. The check out process was easy and convenient for our early departure to catch a flighlt. There is a great pub nearby to enjoy a meal.

It was a bit difficult to locate the Cottage Guest House as it is set back from the road. Additional signage might be beneficial. It would also have been nice to have some continental breakfast items available in the room as our very early departure did not allow us to enjoy the included breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misty_River7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Nice and quiet rooms, all facing a beautiful garden you can sit in with apple and plum trees. Top security, with locked gate (opened either with your key or the staff). Rooms are comfortable, with fridge, but windows are the kind that only open from bottom out and so the room was a little hot when we went to bed (cooled down as it cooled down outside, but I'd hate to be here on a hot summer's day).
Breakfast was good, but no selection of fruit other than a plate of bananas, and cereal is only corn flakes. Breakfast room is very bright and welcoming.
Reception gentleman was very friendly and check-in was fast.
Close to airport, but there's no bus to the B&B, so you have to order a taxi from West Hounslow station, which is a bit of a nuisance.
Rates were much cheaper booking through booking.com

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The room was nice and clean, overlooking the garden, and the bathroom was rather big. Breakfast, served in a very nice conservatory overlooking the garden, was very nice. The manager was very kind and helpful. Definitely a handy place when you have to catch an early flight or arrive late at night.

On the negative side the map on Booking.com's website wasn't very clear, it appeared that the guesthouse was located in Hounslow, so we took the tube to Hounslow West, only to discover that it is infact in Cranford, which is a different place, so after asking a lot of people (even the Police) which bus we could take, and having received so many different answers, we ended up calling a taxi, so we spent a total of £ 18,60 to travel the few kilometres from Heathrow Airport. Anyway, it appears to us that this is Booking.com's fault rather than the guesthouse's.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiziana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranford
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow
1.8 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Skyline Hotel London Heathrow
2.0 mi away
Park Inn Hotel & Conference Center London Heathrow
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Guest House

Property: The Cottage Guest House
Address: Guest House 150-152 High Street, Cranford TW5 9WB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Cranford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cranford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Cottage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Guest House Hotel Cranford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing