We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, convenient location, snooty/judging check-in staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cranford
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, convenient location, snooty/judging check-in staff”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I recently stayed at the Doubletree for a 3 day business trip. As a group of 4 (arriving at different times) we all had individual rooms however the booking for all 4 rooms was made against a single corporate card, the plan was to book all of our expenses to 1 room however upon check-in we were told this was unacceptable and that for all extras for each individual would need to be charged to the individual rooms, despite not all of our party having a suitable corporate card.

As a frequent traveler, never before have I been told this approach was unacceptable, the staff were very rude about the matter and insisted this was the case. We did not want to do this (as only 1 person had a corporate card, and was picking up all expenses) the check-in staff decided that we would need to pre-load our rooms with 'credit' on this card to the amount of £200. It was at this point it clicked that the staff simply did not trust us. Unfortunately the rooms were on a pre-paid rate so cancelling was not an option.

So all in all despite the rooms being pre-paid (to a total of over £750), an extra amount of 'credit' per room! Yet the staff didn't trust us and it put our business trip off to a very bad start. T

Despite all of this the rooms were clean, well presented and extremely comfortable. The gripe I would have is that if you're in an 'inner' room then you face in towards all other rooms and can see everyone in all their glory. So most of the time you will need to keep your curtains drawn for the privacy.

The hotel is run of the mill, on equal par to a premier inn, ramada etc. So don't be fooled by the association with the Hilton name. I'm unsure what this does to separate the hotels from the rest of the market. Apart from a free cookie on arrival that it.

Check-out was without a fuss and much to the hotel's surprise we paid our bill without a fuss ;)

In summary as a business we will probably not use this hotel again due to the fun and games on check-in, which I have to say is a shame given the frequency of trips in this area and the fact that it is actually a nice hotel and alternative to the other mainstream chains.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeLHRAirport, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your review, and let me firstly apologise for the problems you experienced during check in. Please be assured that the team would never want to make our guests feel uncomfortable, and for this I am truly sorry. I’ve spoken to all the team regarding this matter, and they would also like me to pass on their apologies, as they were not aware that they had come across as rude and it was certainly not their intention.

As you have mentioned you all checked in individually, it is our policy that we cannot leave a guest’s account open without a valid credit card pre-authorisation. Therefore until this guarantee is made, we would close any guest’s account. I am sorry you were made to feel you were not trusted, however we need to ensure payment for any extras. I understand this was possibly not explained to you in the correct manner, but I hope you can appreciate we have this policy in place that we must apply to every guest. I can see we only pre-authorised one card for £100 and left all the accounts open, guaranteed to this card.

Despite the check in issues, I’m pleased to read the rooms were clean and comfy and that there were no issues on check out. I do hope that this experience hasn’t permanently marred your opinion of DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow, and that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. If we have authorisation from the card holder we could manually pre-authorise the card to ensure that whatever order the guest’s arrive in, we already have a guarantee for extras and wouldn’t require them to provide a card upon check in. If you are travelling again, please feel free to contact me directly at suzie.riddell@hilton.com. Thank you again for bringing this to my attention, and I am confident in the future staff will deal with any similar situations with a different approach. Suzie Riddell, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    848
    334
    113
    86
See reviews for
360
598
246
595
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
portsmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

this hotel was clean and comfortable and room was more than adequate for the one night we stayed there prior to an early morning flight from Heathrow Airport. its in easy reach of the airport as only about five minutes away. good sized car park if your taking a car. hotels bar was a little pricey for what it was but otherwise a pretty good place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andywatsonPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeLHRAirport, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm really pleased the room was clean and that we were ideally located to get to the airport. I hope we can welcome you back on your next visit to Heathrow. Suzie Riddell, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Spent a couple of nights here en route from the Middle East back to US. A good value for the location near Heathrow, great Indian restaurant across the street and hotel restaurant good as well. Breakfast buffet is pricey, but typical for the UK.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeLHRAirport, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm really pleased you found us to be good value for money and enjoyed the restaurant . I hope we can welcome you back the next time you are flying from Heathrow. Suzie Riddell, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pudsey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have just had 4 days at the hilton, and have to say the staff could not have been more helpfull, friendly and polite nothing was too much trouble have stayed at a few hotels on bath road but have to say will be staying from this one from now on the full english breakfast is also fantastic, and the food is not dried out or over cooked it is checked all the time will be back very soon

Room Tip: we stayed at the front almost on the flight path to heathrow was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeLHRAirport, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm delighted to read about the positive attitude from our team members and that nothing was too much trouble for them. It is also fantastic to know that we would be your hotel of choice in the future, and therefore I very much look forward to welcoming you back! Suzie Riddell, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

A great location for the airport and easy to find. Clean, comfortable, quiet and spacious room with friendly staff and a bonus to have early check in and late check out when flying! The bathroom was well equipped with a great shower and everything you needed and staff happily got you any extras if needed. A very pleasant nights stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PRwritesareview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeLHRAirport, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your stay with us. It is lovely to read how friendly the staff were, and that we could accommodate an early check in and late check out for you. I really hope we can welcome you back the next time you need to stay in the Heathrow area. Suzie Riddell, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed one night waiting for flight the following day as snow and delays forecast. Recently taken over from Ramada. Initial welcome was friendly and helpful by cheerful front desk staff. Room was very comfortable, although the television was somewhat limited in available channels. Did not try the wi-fi. If you do not have your own internet facilities, there is a £1 charge as this is provided by an outside contractor. Breakfast was well worth the extra cost. This is an excellent value hotel for stops for the airport, except Terminal 5 which is some way off and there may be better alternatives. Would recommend this hotel, and will stay again next time we fly from LHR.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandwich10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeLHRAirport, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It is great we could give you a friendly and cheerful welcome and you found the room to be really comfortable. The Head Chef will be really pleased to know that breakfast was good value for money. Thank you for recommending us, and I look forward to welcoming you back. Suzie Riddell, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed at this Heathrow airport hotel for 2 nights and found it to be very comfortable and great value for money. Staff were friendly and facilities were good. The breakfast buffet was plentiful, with everything from Full English to porridge. Heathrow is airport is very close and the shuttle bus runs every 45 mins for a minimal charge.Would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dollman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeLHRAirport, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you found the hotel comfortable, great value for money and with good facilities. The Head Chef will be really pleased to know the buffet was well stocked and had lots of options. Thank you for recommending us, and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Suzie Riddell, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranford
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
1.5 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
2.0 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Heathrow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow
Address: 745 Bath Road, Cranford TW5 9QE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Cranford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cranford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a warm welcome, stylish contemporary comfort and a convenient location just ten minutes from London Heathrow Airport, check-in to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London Heathrow Airport hotel. Enjoy a famous DoubleTree cookie on arrival at this Cranford hotel. Catch-up with friends or colleagues over a drink in the bar, or order a meal in The Brasserie where fresh produce is showcased in innovative dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada London Heathrow Hotel Cranford
Ramada Hotel London Heathrow
Ramada Hotel Cranford
Hounslow Ramada
Ramada Hounslow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing