We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moto Gp weekend”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brackley
Reviewed September 2, 2013

On our resent Moto Gp weekend we stayed at the Crown Hotel in Brackley.
After reading previous reviews we were a little worried and anxious but we needn't have been as it wasn't as bad as it was portrayed, don't get me wrong 5 star its not but then its not claiming to be there is plenty of room for modernisation and improvement . The staff on a whole were friendly and helpful, My room was expectable, the shower was hot but you couldn't turn it on full as it filled the shower tray up and would over fill and flood the bathroom ,We had tea and coffee available in the room as well toiletries.parking at the rear of Hotel was a bit hit and miss but not to bad on a whole. Breakfast was ok i didn't eat at night so would be unfair to comment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendi_lindsay14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 367 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I were attending a friends party. Everything seemed ok on checking in, although the staff seemed very disinterested. On gaining access to our room, an unsuitably maintained door plate, which was sticking out, caught on my husbands shirt ripping the sleeve. I complained to the manager who said if I emailed him, showing me the address I could claim some recompense for the shirt. They did give me a sewing kit to make a temporary repair, however.
Whilst there, we tried to make tea in the room but the cups were dirty. The lighting was limited and lamps were placed so that they could not be plugged in. The bed was comfortable though.

When I emailed with photos to outline my claim, I received no answer, no further answer when contacting over the next few weeks, which is rude. I would expect good maintenance in a hotel that wishes customers to return, but this was met with lethargy and a couldn't careless attitude. What's more they lied as they had no intention of reimbursing us!

Room Tip: Don't go here spend your money somewhere that wants the business. The room was over priced too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff in this formerly splendid home now a characterful pub with accommodation. Uncomfortable bed and banging front door kept us awake til 4am. Adequate bar food for evening meal, although slow service probably due to wedding reception happening simultaneously. Wouldn't stay again but location perfect for our needs (Silverstone).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomaticCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A friendly welcome when we arrived and enquired for a room and booked the last available for that night. The room was very clean with comfortable beds. The restaurant was excellent and thoroughly recommend the steak as it was cooked to perfection as was the rest of the food. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheener2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here on Friday 26th July in room 24. The shower room was a disabled wet room with black mould on the walls. Even the toilet paper was damp.. Dingy bedroom with a cheap wardrobe that wouldn't shut properly. Poor cooked breakfast in the morning served by a manual from faulty towers wannabee. They boast of racing drivers staying there for F1. I wouldn't let my dog stay in that room.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

A very tired and unimpressive place. Needs a lot of help with fixtures and furniture. Staff very polite but certainly overpriced for what you get. I think all the food for dinner was made in the microwave. No flavour and overcooked ..all condiments packaged for dinner and breakfast. They tried to put us in the highest room on the uppermost floor which i refused and got a reaonable room on the first floor. It was one of the hottest days so at least we were cooler in this room with a cross breeze. Anyway if your expectations are not high..then this is the place for you. However am sure there is better in the neighborhood if you have time to research

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nolson8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a haunted olde' coaching inn... Creaky and unlevel, room furniture is tired, and really needs updating, and not with cheap pine furniture .... We didn't have time for breakfast but can advise there was no glasses in the bedroom, very inconvenient.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brackley
10 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Towcester
455 reviews
7.2 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#4 of 4 in Buckingham
328 reviews
7.1 mi away
Villiers Hotel
Villiers Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buckingham
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
459 reviews
7.5 mi away
Travelodge Buckingham
Travelodge Buckingham
#2 of 4 in Buckingham
124 reviews
7.4 mi away
Best Western Buckingham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: 20 Market Place | Brackley, Brackley NN13 7DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Brackley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brackley
Price Range: $65 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Brackley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing