We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Old Classic”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brackley
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming Old Classic”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

If you want a modern box type hotel don't stay here! This is a classic old creaky hotel full of character and eccentric charm! For petrol heads its a must, the history of Silverstone Motor sport is literally every where around you! The bar is inexpensive and friendly, the Breakfast is fantastic! Oh! and they've sorted out the heating!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madman2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    62
    73
    64
    81
See reviews for
60
118
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Ok..firstly you cannot judge this hotel as if it was the local Travel lodge or Premier Inn, it is an old traditional coaching inn ..a pub with rooms, it is plain silly to complain about slopping floors or a bit of strange decor. The Crown is a very pretty hotel in the centre of an attractive town and fundamentally full fills its function. There are some issues ,however. A common thread in these reviews is the heating , or lack of. I rang down twice to reception to complain that my radiator was cold and it spluttered into life for a short while and then died. I rang down again later and again the radiator kick started for a while and then again expired. It is March..in England..not good enough.
The management needs to address that problem if it wants repeat guests in the Winter.
My room was clean basic but more than adequate..the staff were pleasant and the breakfast
was very very good. At a pinch I might stay again but not in the winter.
It is fairly obvious here are some suspect reviews for this hotel which is a shame...this kind of quaint place is disappearing and should be supported don't dismiss it out of hand.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonPeterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed here for just one night while attending a 40th birthday in the town. What a charming little hotel. I found myself agreeing with previous reviewers about the heating, it seems they won't, or forget to turn it on, unless you ask. However, unlike other reviewers, I found the management and staff extremely friendly and polite. The decor is ok and the roaring fires, of which there are two, are just what the doctor ordered on a cold winters night. They are lit very early too, about 10am. We found our room clean and comfortable, with a slightly sloping floor, although this is a very old building, so thats to be expected. Breakfast was tasty and uncomplicated, and set us up to do some exploring of the town. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredPornStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The crown hotel was a great base for visiting Warwick castle, Oxford and Stratford Upon Avon. The hotel could not have been more central for the town of Brackley. Not too noisy at night although some youths were heard racing their cars through the main street quite late into the night.
The room was very good value for money, were very fresh and clean for an old hotel.The hairdryer had to be requested from reception.
Breakfast had plenty choice and staff were efficient.
There is a restaurant in the hotel with good food for all tastes.

Room Tip: A room at the back might have been slightly quieter but there is always going to be some noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fionatravelstheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Good Hotel, clean & good customer service. Food was very good & not expensive. Room was very clean but the only thing that lets the Hotel down is the heating in the rooms. The room was freezing even though the heating was on full. I would return but only in summer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I have stayed a couple of times at the hotel,and on this occassion left some property in my room,when i rang the next day i was told they had my property and arranged to have it collected within the next hour.When I arrived to collect the property I was told they had giving it to someone else in ERROR? When I asked what they were going to do about it,I got a negative response and was told it wasn't their problem? and that I shouldn't have left it there.They said they were trying to contact the person they had giving it to with no luck.Their policies stink and I will be taking this further,and wont be staying again or recommending.

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank davidjneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brackley hotels

Windsor
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I booked directly with the hotel five days before our stay.
We arrived early and parking was no problem but it could be on busy days.
Check in was fine. We had a superior room and it cost £60 B&B which we considered good value for money. The room was clean and comfy. Our heating did not work well so we reported this and it was immediately dealt with and rectified.
We ate in the bar (next to the lovely log fire!) and, as it was a Friday, we got two meals for £10. Good food and good value.
Brackley is a lovely market town with a great antique centre and we would visit again and stay in the Crown Hotel.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room at the back or the side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brackley
5.8 mi away
Travelodge Bicester Cherwell Valley M40
8.8 mi away
Travelodge Bicester hotel
7.4 mi away
Best Western Buckingham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
8.4 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
7.2 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#4 of 4 in Buckingham
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: 20 Market Place | Brackley, Brackley NN13 7DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Brackley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brackley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Brackley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing