We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brackley has a restaurant that offers fine dining at last”
Review of The Laughing Onion - CLOSED

The Laughing Onion
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The restaurant has recently opened and offers good European food which is rare in Brackley. The menu although not large gives you several options and the quality is good, although slightly on the high side. The service is excellent and friendly. The restaurant offers several theme nights and is well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judi B, Owner at The Laughing Onion, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Thanks for such positive comments about our food and service, we hope you will visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 96 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

This is the fourth time we have eaten at this restaurant. The service is always excellent and food is great. We were the only diners on a Tuesday evening whichever a shame for the restaurant but good for us. The new spring menu was fab, highly recommend the lamb. The wine, suggested by the manager, was perfect.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judi B, Owner at The Laughing Onion, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

thanks very much for your comments, we're really glad you liked the new menu. and that you chose to spend your wedding anniversary with us. We can be quiet at the beginning of the week, but that does mean we're a good bet if anyone wants to pop out on impulse after a hard day's work! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Visited here not long after it opened last year.
Wow what a difference, It has improved no end. Great food, staff were outstanding. We shall be coming back a bit more often now..! Well done to all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank owan2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judi B, Owner at The Laughing Onion, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thanks for this second review, it's great to hear that you found a big improvement, everyone was on a steep learning curve when we first opened, but the kitchen and front of house teams have worked really hard to iron out any teething problems and are doing a great job. We hope you will be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Visited this restaurant on Saturday 26th April. We found the atmosphere very pleasant and welcoming. The food looked fantastic and tasted just as good. The staff were very attentive to our needs and interacted well with the whole group. We will definitely be revisiting the restaurant as we all thoroughly enjoyed our experience and would definitely recommend it for a good meal out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Dawn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judi B, Owner at The Laughing Onion, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're really glad you had a good time with us, and hope you do make it back soon from over the border!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Visited here Saturday 26th April. A birthday treat. The meal was very good, service was a little slow, but acceptable.
The biggest disappointment was that the owner, although working front of house, lacked a little "customer interaction" , which I think I think may have rubbed off on a new waitress (not featured on website) as she also was very quiet and lacked that customer interaction that the other two waitresses seemed to have.
I think when paying these prices, its not cheap, you expect a more attentive host!
We'll still be back as the food is always good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GFwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judi B, Owner at The Laughing Onion, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

We've really appreciated your previous positive reviews, and are glad that you enjoyed the food again on this visit. We are sorry if you felt Kevin wasn't interactive enough, he does generally try hard to chat to our customers as we are very appreciative of their support and are keen to hear their views. He will try harder next time! Regarding the new waitress, I guess all new staff need a bit of time to become confident in their role, and we are sure she will soon be as welcoming as the staff who have been with us for longer. But we appreciate the feedback as always and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Laughing Onion also viewed

Brackley, Northamptonshire
 
Brackley, Northamptonshire
Brackley, Northamptonshire
 
Brackley, Northamptonshire
Brackley, Northamptonshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing