We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a difference”
Review of The Laughing Onion - CLOSED

The Laughing Onion
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What a difference”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Visited here not long after it opened last year.
Wow what a difference, It has improved no end. Great food, staff were outstanding. We shall be coming back a bit more often now..! Well done to all.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank owan2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judi B, Owner at The Laughing Onion, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thanks for this second review, it's great to hear that you found a big improvement, everyone was on a steep learning curve when we first opened, but the kitchen and front of house teams have worked really hard to iron out any teething problems and are doing a great job. We hope you will be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    28
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brecon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Visited this restaurant on Saturday 26th April. We found the atmosphere very pleasant and welcoming. The food looked fantastic and tasted just as good. The staff were very attentive to our needs and interacted well with the whole group. We will definitely be revisiting the restaurant as we all thoroughly enjoyed our experience and would definitely recommend it for a good meal out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judi B, Owner at The Laughing Onion, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're really glad you had a good time with us, and hope you do make it back soon from over the border!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Brackley Means Business”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Visited here Saturday 26th April. A birthday treat. The meal was very good, service was a little slow, but acceptable.
The biggest disappointment was that the owner, although working front of house, lacked a little "customer interaction" , which I think I think may have rubbed off on a new waitress (not featured on website) as she also was very quiet and lacked that customer interaction that the other two waitresses seemed to have.
I think when paying these prices, its not cheap, you expect a more attentive host!
We'll still be back as the food is always good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GFwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judi B, Owner at The Laughing Onion, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We've really appreciated your previous positive reviews, and are glad that you enjoyed the food again on this visit. We are sorry if you felt Kevin wasn't interactive enough, he does generally try hard to chat to our customers as we are very appreciative of their support and are keen to hear their views. He will try harder next time! Regarding the new waitress, I guess all new staff need a bit of time to become confident in their role, and we are sure she will soon be as welcoming as the staff who have been with us for longer. But we appreciate the feedback as always and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We Didn't Leave Laughing”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I took my parents to the Laughing Onion and was very disappointed. Starters were ok but really not worth the money. Our main meals were also not very inspiring, the burger buns were burnt and the bacon was cremated tasting of charcoal. The Venison burger was also over cooked. When the Fish Pie arrived it could of been mistaken for fish soup with very little potato. On the positive side the staff were very good and the venue was pleasant and had quite a buzzy atmosphere, however the food was nowhere near worthy of its price tag. I did complain about the food and was given a free desert which was actually nice, maybe because it was free! :) Overall I think the Laughing Onion is trying to be something it isn't but I would like to see it do well. Maybe we went on an off day? I will probably give it another try and also make use of the cocktail bar.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judi B, Owner at The Laughing Onion, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We're really sorry to hear that your visit didn't measure up to expectations and that you didn't feel the food was up to scratch. We don't believe this is reflective of most people's experiences and we really hope you will give us another try. Thank you for your kind words about the front of house experience, which our hard working staff will be pleased to read.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clearly went on an off day”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Reading the previous reviews it is clear we went on an off day.

Starters were lovely and left us excited for the rest of the meal.

Unfortunately, what followed was mediocre to say the least. Had to send my pork belly back as it was inedible. The rest of my party thought their mains were below standard.

Waiting staff were lovely and we were offered free desserts, however, just wanted to get the bill and leave.

Had to send the bill back as we had been charged for 2 bottles of wine and not one.

Overall, a really disappointing evening and won't be going back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pootle69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judi B, Owner at The Laughing Onion, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We're sorry to hear that you were so disappointed when you visited us. Our pork belly has been a really popular dish so we are sorry to hear that it was not to your taste, and also that the others in your party were disappointed with their mains. We're glad you enjoyed the starters at least. We also apologise again about the mistake with the bill, this clearly is not up to our usual standard of service. We do hope you will return to give us another try as our customers do generally leave very satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Laughing Onion also viewed

Brackley, Northamptonshire
Brackley, Northamptonshire
 
Brackley, Northamptonshire
Brackley, Northamptonshire
 
Brackley, Northamptonshire
Brackley, Northamptonshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing