We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Putting Brackley on the culinary scene”
Review of The Laughing Onion - CLOSED

The Laughing Onion
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
235 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Putting Brackley on the culinary scene”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We are here on Saturday 17th.

Since our first visit their have been some nice improvements, with the music now on to help the atmosphere, Ortopilot was a great choice.

The service was great, several very attentive waitresses and Lee made the evening very pleasurable.

Two uf us opted for the Signature Beef Bourguignon it was absolutely sublime, the Beef just melted in your mouth, served with some delicious creamy mash.

The Puddings were a little disappointing, although on at a lower price, the Brûlée had not quite set, and the Panna Cota was a little overset, but this did not spoil a delightful evening. Kevin with your Memory Lane / Craigmiller experience, maybe I'd expect a little more.

Mr Blinn and his team have made a great addition to the Brackley culinary scene, keep it up, we will be back.

Helpful?
Thank GFwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    28
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Trying to be something it's not!”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We regularly dine out during the week with our young daughters (8 and 4) due to our busy lives.

This is the first time we have frequented the new restaurant, The Laughing Onion, and sadly the last. We ordered 2 children's meals and 2 adults meals. Ironically, when all meals arrived, it was difficult to tell which were the children's and which were the adults!

The fish and chips were awful. The mushy peas were so dry and grainy they were inedible, and the fish was extremely dry. The 'lots of fat chips' consisted of 5 of them. Very expensive for what was actually received!

Then, the straw that broke the camels back was when the bill arrived and our daughters lime and apple cordials were charged at £2.50 each!

We often dine in nice restaurants, and are very happy to pay premium prices for quality. However, I am not prepared to pay premium for poor quality and a restaurant trying to be something it isn't.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ceekay2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judi B, Owner at The Laughing Onion, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We are really sorry you didn't enjoy your meal with us, it is always disappointing for the staff to hear this. Our mushy peas are homemade - fresh, crushed peas - and therefore possibly do seem drier than those purchased in a fish and chip shop for example. We are sorry that you did take us up on our offer to provide an alternative dish at the time, to try and ensure you had a more enjoyable experience. We are also sorry that you feel the children's drinks were overpriced, we always try and price our drinks competitively, but we are glad that you were able to take advantage of our kids eat for free early bird offer. Regarding your comment about not being able to tell which meals were which, we believe that children's meals should be of as high a quality, and based on the same fresh ingredients, as the adult food, so they do not differ in that regard, but the children's portions are smaller. We are sorry that you feel the adult portions were too small, we try and provide a decent but not overfacing size portion - obviously people's appetites differ and all our customers are welcome to ask for more sides such as chips if they would like. We do not charge extra for our sides, so any extra chips would be free. We are a brasserie restaurant, and aim to produce freshly made, modern dishes at a range of prices, and on the whole we feel we do deliver on this. We are sorry that you feel we did not do so in this case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Saturday evening meal”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I visited for the first time on Saturday evening. I had booked the table earlier in the afternoon and asked for a table somewhere quiet and was informed they knew 'just the spot'!!! We were not disappointed and after a lovely greeting at the door by the staff were shown to a table by the bookcase in the corner, really lovely.The perfect spot chosen for us from just 1 telephone call to book!!! We were given lots of time to decide although we were a little disappointed with the choices on the menu as 3 of the starters and 1 of the main courses were not available.You did substitute the Pheasant starter with Partridge which was delicious although a little on the small side!!! Again when we ordered our desserts 1 was not available although the Lemon & Ginger pudding was worth the disappointment!!! We enjoyed a delicious bottle of red wine with our meal although a little expensive for a house wine!!! The portions could be a larger at times for the amount charged in some cases!!! The staff were very attentive at all times, really pleasant and lovely to be served by. A really lovely evening and would recommend, will be back perhaps for a special occasion though rather than just a normal Saturday evening!!! P.S. Need to sort out the step up to the first floor, even after being informed it was there still tripped up as not quite expecting it!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had been eagerly waiting for the opening of this restaurant over the summer. We live very close to the centre and were very hopeful about this latest addition to Brackley. Our first two visits to the restaurant had been slightly disappointing. The redevelopment had been well executed but the food was mediocre. We had tried to visit a 3rd time one evening midweek but were turned away at 8.50 pm - being told that the kitchen closed at 9pm. However when the restaurant finally opened for Sunday lunch we decided to give it another go. This was by far the best meal we had had here and one of the best roast dinners we had had for a long while. The steam pudding for dessert was also delicious. We regularly eat out for Sunday lunch and it looked as though we had found a new favourite right on our doorstep! How disappointing it was just a few weeks later - when trying to book a table again - to hear that the owners had decided to stop opening on Sundays. We really want this restaurant to succeed but I fear that if the owners start cherry picking when they wish to open it will be difficult to establish regular trade.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CLC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judi B, Owner at The Laughing Onion, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad you had such a good experience last time you visited. It was a difficult decision to close again on Sundays, we are not seeking to cherry pick our opening days. However, opening six days rather than five has quite big staffing implications - if we want our staff to have two days off a week it means recruiting another chef and front of house manager, and our customer numbers are not large enough to justify the costs of this as a new business. We really hope this is a temporary measure, once we are more established and can increase our staff team we plan to open our doors on Sunday once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yummy lunch”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I went for lunch here recently and really enjoyed the food. It was quite quiet (being a lunchtime I guess) so there wasn't much atmosphere but the staff were attentive and friendly and I very much enjoyed my Kedgeree.

If you are in a hurry for lunch you can call and order ahead which is a great idea and I would use this service in the future. I didn't use it on this visit as I didn't know about it!

I'd like to go again one evening to try some other items from the menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lully1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Laughing Onion also viewed

Brackley, Northamptonshire
Brackley, Northamptonshire
 
Brackley, Northamptonshire
Brackley, Northamptonshire
 
Brackley, Northamptonshire
Brackley, Northamptonshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing