We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Green Man Inn

The Green Man Inn
Ranked #15 of 40 Restaurants in Brackley
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coventry
Level Contributor
159 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

I have driven by this pub many many times and so when we needed to find a location to meet up for lunch with some friends, we decided upon this place as it was halfway between both parties.

We didnt even think about booking a table, and felt a bit embarrassed when we turned up at lunchtime only to be told that they are fully booked and wouldnt have a table until 5pm. Of course, the Sunday before Christmas, we should have really known.

The guy who we were speaking too however (i think it was the manager) was very nice and said we could sit in the bar area whilst we waited for our friends, he also suggested some alternative pubs who might have space. When our friends turned up, he then kindly said that as long as we werent too worried about quick service (due to how busy they were - 140 people he said!), we could stay and order food to save us going else where.

From that moment on we were waited on hand and foot by a waitress who kept an eye on us, ensured our orders were taken promptly, our drinks were replaced when required. All in all the customer service was outstanding. Better than ive had in some 5 star restaurants.

The food itself was acceptable for the money, we opt`d for Sunday Roast, and after the meal we were all stuffed. Dessert was amazing, huge portions of cheese cake and chocolate cake.

All in all id definitely return, as there were at least 3 other dishes on the menu I wanted to try! And in this day and age it was a nice surprise to find such good customer service by both the waitress who served us and the bloke who let us stay.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jackinbox99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    130
    101
    82
    94
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect family day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

As the family are spread around the country and we wouldn't all meet up for Christmas I arranged a sunday lunch for us all at the Green Man for it's central location. 9 adults and 5 children aged 18 months to 7 years duly arrived, took over part of the restaurant and began to open presents. The Manager brought us menus, a bin bag to put the paper in and told us not to hurry but let him know when we wanted to eat. The staff were friendly, professional and couldn't do enough for us. There was an excellent choice on the regular menu and also on the special Christmas menu including a variety of vegetarian choices. The food came in good time and was excellent, I had the roast rib of beef and it was just perfect. We all enjoyed the day and plan to do the same again around Easter as it was so good. Top marks, cannot think of any way to improve things without being silly and nit picking.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Average meal, worst ever service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Booked table for 4 at midday & told wouldn't be too busy at that time. Arrived at 11.30 after long car journey hoping to have a drink (had previously checked opening time which was 11am). Waited & waited. After 15 minutes a waitress sauntered in & served us drinks. Told to "tag along" with some other guests to go to our table. Starters either soup with stale bread or miniscule mushrooms on brioche. We then waited approx. 35 minutes for our main courses (which were all pre-prepared chips & scampi etc), at no time told there would be a delay. Charmless waiter explained that we had to wait so long because too many people had ordered at the same time. The place was not that busy so cannot imagine how long the wait would be if it was busy. Food was OK but nothing great. Offered desserts & coffee but we explained we did not have too long as service had already been so slow, told these would be with us straight away if we ordered. We ordered 4 coffees which took 10 minutes to appear. Waiting staff in casual clothing & just seemed to wander about aimlessly. Lots of people got fed up waiting & were walking around restaurant to find staff for service. We asked for bill at same time as coffee & gave money to waitress to pay. She literally SHOUTED across the restaurant, "Do you want your change?", the most embarrassing request for a tip we have ever encountered in our 35 years of dining out! Cannot believe that this sort of service is offered today with the most average of food. Shame as we have eaten at 2 other Chef & Brewer branches in other parts of the country & really enjoyed food with great service. They need to sort themselves out. Avoid!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 218karenv8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The Green Man Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear 218karenv8

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Green Man Inn in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awful food and terrible service. Don't go there!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

My friends and I had a table booked for 7.30pm on Thursday 12th December. We ordered our drinks and then waited for someone to take our food order. This was done at 7.50. By 8.10 we still hadn't received our drinks but we were approached by a waiter with the drinks order in hand and told us he would bring our order over as it had been missed. We were then approached by a waitress that told us we would have to wait for our starter as they had a large party of 7 in!!! Our starter was a sharing plater, nothing cooked! We asked for bread and olies to keep us going and this appeared within minutes. We were then served the starter. Our main meals followed an hour later. They were luke warm, and the food was over cooked and completely dried out. How can anyone think that this service and quality of food is acceptable? We complained and recieved a discount on the bill. Even so, we will never visit this place again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The Green Man Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Michele S

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Green Man Inn in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lathom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Lunch time special off special blackboard,
price very reasonable £10-£15 with drinks
service friendly, fast.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank gedneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Man Inn also viewed

Whittlebury, Northamptonshire
Silverstone, Northamptonshire
 
Towcester, Northamptonshire
Brackley, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Green Man Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing