We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ramgarh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Ramgarh Bungalows is not exactly a hotel. It is a collection of bungalows old and new which makes it a different experience altogether. It is a collection of old and new structures with the oldest one dating back to the late 19th century and the newest one to the 21st. A varied experience.
We traveled as a group of 4 and booked the Cliff House. There are a couple of rooms on the first floor, Ram Kumar and Gaitonde, both excellently done up. The living and dining area is on the ground floor. The living area has excellent views.
I loved the food especially the Indian cooking. The manager Mr. Shailendra SIngh is extremely helpful and a nice person to talk to. He showed us around the old bungalow area which houses their office and a place where they make jams and marmalade. This area is part of Uttarakhand's fruit belt and hence the great supply of fruits throughout the year. The fresh juice s that they serve during breakfast were superb.
You can drive to Mukteshwar which is an hour away and on a clear day you could be able to see the Nanda Devi range.

Room Tip: Both Ramkumar and Gaitonde are good. You could opt for either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baidurya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about The Ramgarh Bungalows near Nainital.

We are delighted to read about your experience at the Cliff House.

Your appreciation about the cuisine and the hospitality has been conveyed to the Chef and the Manager. We are pleased to learn that you savoured the fresh Neemrana juices, which are served without preservatives – so that you preserve your health too !

We hope that as you continue to travel with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 245 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

My wife and I were at the Ramgarh Bunglows. We enjoyed every moment of it. The staff was courteous and very helpful.Food was good. We were very well taken care of. A big thank to Shailendra, Sandeep, Rajdeep,Manoj and the others for making our stay such a memorable one.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel staff to light the fire place at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiranava C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are honoured to receive your positive feedback about The Ramgarh Bungalows heritage hotel near Nainital.

Your appreciation about the cuisine and the caring hospitality has been conveyed to the Chef, the Manager and the entire team.

While we are grateful that you complete the viability cycle for any heritage ruin to be restored and then maintained for future generations, we urge you to continue on this less-travelled path.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Hi all,

We went there as two couples with kids along with us...Reached there at around 1:30...we were damn hungary ....As soon as we tried to order for lunch...we were informed lunch is not available...we were totally shocked as this resort is in the middle of a small village where there is no restaurant nearby..and with kids along we literally begged them for lunch....
After a while manager agreed that they can get us some snacks...we ordered for mix pakoras, grill sandwich, cutlets n all....but the food was totaaly crap ...distastefully prepared..pakoras burnt...toasted sandwich instead of grilled with couple of tomato and cucumber slices...Tea was like sipping some bitter hot water ...

That was horrible start...
In the evening we decided to order some snacks with drinks...we ordered fish fingers, chilly paneer, fries and some chicken....fish fingers were stinking...fries was prepared using some potato trimmings and I could literally count the number of pieces......hahaha 8-9 pieces....most bizzare dish and presentation!!and paneer was equally stinking and bad...
For dinner we were informed buffet is available for 500 per pax...but we didn't wanted to take a chance with what we exprienced so far...
Finally, we ordered some alacarte which was ok...
Just enjoy the surrounding......don't expect too much on food and service....For that price...its a rip offf...Avoid plz.....!!!!

Room Tip: Ashok Vatika...yellow room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhi968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about The Ramgarh Bungalows.

We are disappointed to read about your experience and are writing to apologise and to offer an explanation.

The Manager of the property tried to contact you on the number provided multiple times so that the necessary arrangements could be made for your lunch before you reached the property. However, there was no answer. When you arrived at 2 pm, you were told that lunch is served from 12:30 to 2:30 p.m. and the team would certainly serve you but you chose to order the snacks instead due to the paucity of time.

With reference to your feedback about the snacks, we shall certainly improve upon the same. Please note that the quantity provided is as per the regular hotel standards.

The lunch and dinner buffet includes approximately 10 dishes with a mixture of Indian, and Continental cuisine including vegetarian and non-vegetarian soups, salads, starters, main courses, and various Indian and Continental breads and desserts. Do give our Chefs an opportunity and they will try and please you whenever you choose to visit next.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here. The bungalows were quite well restored and comfortably appointed given their relatively remote location. All the staff were courteous, helpful, obliging and receptive. The rooms however are in close proximity to one another so if you're looking for complete privacy that might not be possible unless you rent the whole bungalow. We were lucky to have the adjacent rooms unoccupied during our stay!

Room Tip: The blue room, and the rooms in the cliff house are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaizaddinshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is with joy and gratitude that we at Neemrana receive your positive feedback about The Ramgarh Bungalows near Nainital.

Your appreciation about the kind service has been conveyed to the Manager and the team.

We thank you for your patronage to The Ramgarh Bungalows and the Neemrana brand in India. While we are grateful that you complete the viability cycle for any heritage ruin to be restored and then maintained for future generations, we urge you to continue on this less-travelled path.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed in Ramgarh bungalows for 2 nights (21st & 22nd Nov) . Initially, wanted to book Ramkumar suite, however due to unavailbility took a chance and booked Iris room which was better in terms of privacy. The hotel staff was fine and attended us well apart from driver dinner bill incident which they wanted me to pay which hotel manager handled it well.

The place is very quiet and shuts down early evening and has nothing to do apart from long walks or reading books. One can also visit mukteshwar which is 45 mins drive.

The downside is none of the bathrooms have exhaust fan or a cross/proper ventilation which makes it bit difficult and other thing which was observed was it took almost 45 mins to 1 hour to get single bucket of mild hot water to take a bath which was bit suprising.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puneet_vashishta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Ramgarh Bungalows near Nainital.

We are pleased to learn that you had a comfortable stay in the Iris room. Your appreciation about the hospitality has been conveyed to the Manager and the team at Ramgarh. This is exactly what we strive to achieve !

Your observations have been noted and we shall take the requisite action at the earliest to improve the same.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you at our 29 properties across India.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was our first time in any Neemrana and i must say that we're completely sold. We found Ramgarh Bunglows truly remarkable on all counts. It is easy to reach, took us about 45mins more after reaching Nainital (if you come from Kaladhungi). The property is kept in good shape and is very well maintained. We stayed at Cliff House and spent lot of time in the common area which was always super clean. The staff was very prompt and helpful always. The food was seriously good. We had 3 meals there and every time there was at least 1 dish that completely blew us. Some noteworthy mentions - paneer butter masala, green peas soup, baked cauliflower, mutton masala, apple crumble, baingan bharta (yes, not kidding!), pasta in white sauce, chocolate mousse..Strongly recommended if you want a peaceful vacation in the lap of nature..

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayankprksh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Ramgarh Bungalows near Nainital.

It is heartening to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at the Cliff House. Your compliments about the maintenance have been conveyed to the Manager and the housekeeping team.

We have also conveyed your appreciation about the cuisine and the service to the Chef and the service team.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you at our 29 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Amongst buzzing bees, beautiful butterflies and chirping birds this property urges you to mingle in nature without disturbing it. The staff belong from the local village, good intentions but you need patience with them. Having said that, the manager (Shailendra) of the property is a thorough professional who is singlehandedly responsible for keeping the place ticking.

If you only focus on nature and it's beautiful Imperfectness all you can experience is bliss.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickramjadhav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about The Ramgarh Bungalows near Nainital.

It is heartening to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at the property. Your compliments about the hospitality have been conveyed to the Manager.

We hope that as you continue to travel with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramgarh
1.5 mi away
Soulitude in the Himalayas
1.4 mi away
Keys Prima Aamari Resort
7.6 mi away
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
#1 of 1 in Dhanachuli
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 51 in Nainital
353 reviews
6.2 mi away
Fern Hillside Resort Bhimtal
0.4 mi away
V Resorts Ramgarh
V Resorts Ramgarh
#3 of 5 in Ramgarh
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows

Address: Ramgarh (Malla), Ramgarh 263137, India (Formerly Neemrana Bungalows)
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Ramgarh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ramgarh
Price Range: $60 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Own up the Himalayas from colonial British bungalows with bay windows, verandahs and terraced gardens. In the foothills of the Himalayas, The Old Bungalow (1830) and The Writers’ Bungalow (1860) are located in the fruit basket of the Kumaon region. These heritage structures once housed the British – and later the Indian officers as well as their wives – who travelled on horseback and palanquins. The Ashok Vatika was a guest house for outsiders as visitors weren’t received at home, while the Cliff House is a designer’s delight. Vista Villa offers breathtaking views of the valley and Rose Cottage with its private terrace is ideal for a cosy hideaway. Neemrana’s six cottages in Ramgarh offer their own views of the sunrise and sunset, or both – and a new look on life too ! In season, the orchards adjacent to these bungalows, hang with apricots, plums, peaches, pears and apples throughout the summer. Natural Neemrana jams are made here – without preservatives – so that they preserve your health too. Enjoy the company of birdlife and butterflies in the fruit basket of the Kumaon. Sleep that deep slumber which irons out all stress. Live on a peak, or by a cliff or simply in the middle of an orchard. Fireplaces tingling with pine cones in winter. Snow flakes around the New Year. Short strolls to reconnect your legs to your planet. Or longer walks with a picnic basket. Heave your chest, muscle your calves, take all the oxygen back in your lungs. Return when it runs out again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing