We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The balcony opening in the valley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ramgarh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This place is a paradise. The drive to the resort is lovely. Green and golden pelted road, winding down, and the nimble sound of the river.

The resort has only a few bungalows, spread across the acres of alnd, offering excellent space & privacy.

We stayed at the cliff house, which has excellent views of the valley from the big balcony at the back. The clouds gather in the valley at night.

Food is terrific, service is great. There is a small kitchen within the bungalow should you want to indulge in some self-service.

The walks around the resort are great, and you can always take a drive up to Mukteshwar (we did!).

We actually stayed here in 2012 so this review is a little old FYI.

Room Tip: Writers Bungalow, Cliff House or Ashok Vatika, all are great. Please note that some of the bungal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FindingNeverland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Ramgarh Bungalows near Nainital.

We are delighted to learn that you had a comfortable stay at the Cliff House and thoroughly enjoyed the views of the valley.

Your compliments about the cuisine and the service have been conveyed to the Chef and the service team.

We thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 240 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our second trip to the property and am sure there will be many more to come. As hospitable as ever…a fantastic family destination for those who are willing to live on love and fresh air… May is a good month for a trip down to Ramgarh as the orchards are in full bloom...peaches, apricots laden trees are welcome site for city dwellers...Each of their rooms - Writers bungalow , ashok vatika or the old bungalow have a unique rustic charm....the food is excellent !!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TanveerSUberoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about The Ramgarh Bungalows near Nainital.

We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at the property.

Your appreciation about the cuisine has been conveyed to the Chef.

We thank you for your continued patronage and look forward to welcoming you back for many more memorable getaways.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Amazing and courteous staff who make your stay memorable. It's a must visit place and the location and places around are marvellous and picturesque and away from the crowded locals of nanital this place is a blessing in disguise.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about The Ramgarh Bungalows near Nainital.

We are pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the picturesque views of the Ramgarh valley from the property. Your appreciation about the warm hospitality has been conveyed to the entire team.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you at our 28 properties across India.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I came with my wife on honemoon. It was nice drive from Delhi. We stayed in English(yellow) style bungalow. Which was upto our expectation. You can stay in any hotel with modern amenities but this something different. Old British Raj times. Food was excellent.
Staff here are very understanding and eager to help. I had lots of request for which they didnt even said no. I am sorry that i dont remember the names as I am writting this review after long time. We stayed there in 16th and 17th Night. The Manager of the hotel is another charm to this hotel who was very hospitable.
Thank you guys for all your efforts. You really made it a memorable trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to spend your honeymoon at The Ramgarh Bungalows near Nainital.

We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at the property.

Your appreciation about the food and the service has been conveyed to the Chef and the service team. We have also conveyed your compliments about the warm hospitality to the Manager.

We hope that as you discover more of real India with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about. On behalf of the entire Neemrana team we thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you at our 28 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Ramgarh Bungalows is a hidden gem... its around 50 kms from Kathgodam and easy to reach. The property is well maintained and very well managed, staff is courteous and attentive and Shailendar the manager was very accommodative of our requests.

We stayed at the Lemon Cottage... its Spacious and recommended for family with kids... as you get 2 separate beds too. The view is great too. and its very near to the restaurant... so that was good. The bathrooms are huge ;)

The property is spread out... and if you are traveling in a Group... Just go and stay at Ashok Vatika... this is by far the Best Bungalow they have...

While we only stayed for 3 days... I think this place is good for spending a long relaxing vacation with your kids and loved ones... 3-4 days is just not good enough to truly experience the English Era feel it provides...

Oh yes, there are no TVs in the room... Which is such a blessing!! we weren't aware about it till we got there... loved the food, variety of jams and fresh fruits from their garden..

All in all, wonderful place to go for a long vacation :)

Thank you Shailender and rest of the staff at Neemrana for making our say memorable...

Room Tip: Lemon Room is good for family with small kids or aged parents... as this is near to the restaurant a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hetul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about The Ramgarh Bungalows near Nainital.

We are pleased to learn that you had a comfortable stay at the Lemon room in Vista Villa.

Your appreciation about the warm hospitality has been conveyed to the Manager and the team. We have also conveyed your compliments about the food and the natural Neemrana jams to the Chef and the team in Ramgarh.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My family and I drove down from Gurgaon to Ramgarh, it was an 8 hr. drive with several stops on the way. I had made my booking on line at the Old Bungalow about 30 days in advance.
This was our third visit to the Ramgarh property and we have always stayed at the old bunglow
The old Bungalow has two interconnected room with one double and two single with 2 bathrooms, these are Kumaon and kashmire. Both rooms are ideal for a family of 4, we have stayed in both the room and each of these are equally good. One large room with a huge king size bed and two single beds in a smaller room. Both rooms open out to a veranda with a garden in the front and lawns with seating in the rare. The bathroom are not very large but have all the basic amenities one expects from a Neemrana property.
The food was not fancy but the Breakfast and dinner were all well prepared and there was variety….
There are no phone or TV’s in the room which is such a relief when you are in location like Ramgarh. Lots of long walk into the fruit orchid, see the setting sun and just watch the stars.
There is a small preserve factory at the property where jam, jelly and chutney are prepared and supplied to all Neemrana properties. But these is where it is the freshest

The staff is very friendly and make you feel at home every time. We had a great time. You could also stay at the Writers Bungalow, 2 families or other properties which are at a walking distance from the main Bungalow

Room Tip: Family of 4 Kumaon or kashmire at the main Bunglaow,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikasvij_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Ramgarh Bungalows.

We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay in the Kashmir and Kumaon rooms.

Your compliments about the food have been conveyed to the Chef and his team. We have also conveyed your appreciation about the warm hospitality to the service team.

We truly value your continued patronage to The Ramgarh Bungalows and the Neemrana non-hotel Hotels. Do let us know whenever you choose to visit our 28 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I came across Neemrana's website while searching for Indian Honeymoon destinations (wanted to surprise my wife with this vacation as a wedding gift) Since we were getting married in the highs of the Indian Summer, Ramgarh seemed like a cool escape. I am big on rustic, close to nature type hotels off the beaten track And Neemrana's non-hotel at Ramgarh promised all that and more.

Ramgarh Bungalows arranged for an early morning pick up from the nearest railhead, Kathgodam, which also happens to be the last station on this route. An hour's journey through misty Kumaon mountain range via Bhimtaal and Bhowali slowly took us farther and farther away from the civilization until we reached Ramgarh, after about 50 Kms.

The Ramgarh Bungalows is a cluster of 4 properties. The Old Bungalow (Oldest of them all), Writer's Bungalow (they say Tagore lived here) and Ashok Vatika (My favorite) are the British era bungalows whereas the Cliff house (located on top of a Cliff and houses Ram Kumar + Gaitonde Suites), Rose Cottage (Nest to the Old Bungalow and houses Magnolia Suite) and Vista Villa (Next to the Rose Cottage) are new additions which are constructed in sync with the whole British era theme in mind. Vista Villa and Rose Cottage are located next to the Old Bungalow. All these properties are situated in a village known as Ramgarh Mallaa (top) which watches over the valley housing Ramgarh Tallaa (bottom).

We checked in to Magnolia, which can easily house a group of 6 and has an attached private balcony with a breathtaking view of the Valley. The place oozes of old world charm and is quite cozy. The staff is courteous and very discreet. The whole time we were there, it felt as if no one was around for miles (except when you call for room service). Breakfast was set up on the roof of our cottage and that’s when we got introduced to the amazing variety of Neemrana jams and jellies which are manufactured by hand at the Ramgarh property (the staff was happy to show us around this jam making facility). The fruits are all locally sourced. Lunch was an equally lip-smacking affair set-up outside the dining hall (which used to be a stable in 19th century). The whole premise is one huge garden with at least a hundred varieties of flowers and fruits.

After spending a couple of days at the Rose Cottage, we moved to Cliff house. Cliff house offers a great view of the other side of the valley. View of the Sunset from the balcony of Cliff house is a USP of this place. The exquisite dining hall of Ashok Vatika was where dinner used to be served during our stay at the Cliff house. Following the trails through fruit orchards, short walks in the tiny village, and smiling faces all around made this stay extra special.

Ramgarh Bungalows is how I always imagined British Era living to be like. Neemrana has quite brilliantly been able to preserve this and a stay at this property takes you back to that time. The service is excellent, property is spacious and close to nature, the food served is among the best I've had and the weather is a delight. The price you pay for all these burns quite a hole on a middle class pocket but the experience is worth it.

Thanks Neemrana, I'm a fan.

Room Tip: For privacy, opt for Magnolia. Best view of the valley from Cliff house. Ashok Vatika is best if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChetanBais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to spend your honeymoon with Neemrana at The Ramgarh Bungalows.

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at the Magnolia Suite in the Rose Cottage and at the Cliff House.

Your warm and appreciative feedback about the service has been conveyed to the team at Ramgarh.

We have also conveyed your compliments about the natural Neemrana jams to the team in Ramgarh and your appreciation about the cuisine to the Chef and the service team.

We hope your honeymoon was memorable and historic. Our team looks forward to welcoming you at our 28 properties across India in the future.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramgarh
1.4 mi away
Keys Prima Aamari Resort
1.5 mi away
Soulitude in the Himalayas
6.8 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 51 in Nainital
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
#1 of 1 in Dhanachuli
144 reviews
4.9 mi away
Country Inn Bhimtal
Country Inn Bhimtal
#3 of 12 in Bhimtal
213 reviews
0.4 mi away
V Resorts Ramgarh
V Resorts Ramgarh
#3 of 5 in Ramgarh
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows

Address: Ramgarh (Malla), Ramgarh 263137, India (Formerly Neemrana Bungalows)
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Ramgarh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ramgarh
Price Range: $58 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Own up the Himalayas from colonial British bungalows with bay windows, verandahs and terraced gardens. In the foothills of the Himalayas, The Old Bungalow (1830) and The Writers’ Bungalow (1860) are located in the fruit basket of the Kumaon region. These heritage structures once housed the British – and later the Indian officers as well as their wives – who travelled on horseback and palanquins. The Ashok Vatika was a guest house for outsiders as visitors weren’t received at home, while the Cliff House is a designer’s delight. Vista Villa offers breathtaking views of the valley and Rose Cottage with its private terrace is ideal for a cosy hideaway. Neemrana’s six cottages in Ramgarh offer their own views of the sunrise and sunset, or both – and a new look on life too ! In season, the orchards adjacent to these bungalows, hang with apricots, plums, peaches, pears and apples throughout the summer. Natural Neemrana jams are made here – without preservatives – so that they preserve your health too. Enjoy the company of birdlife and butterflies in the fruit basket of the Kumaon. Sleep that deep slumber which irons out all stress. Live on a peak, or by a cliff or simply in the middle of an orchard. Fireplaces tingling with pine cones in winter. Snow flakes around the New Year. Short strolls to reconnect your legs to your planet. Or longer walks with a picnic basket. Heave your chest, muscle your calves, take all the oxygen back in your lungs. Return when it runs out again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing