We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday worth the long drive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
WelcomHeritage Taradale Cottage
Ranked #1 of 7 Ramgarh B&B and Inns
Chandigarh, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holiday worth the long drive”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We spent the 15 August long weekend at Taradale Cottage(traveling from chandigarh). Had a great time. Truly felt like an old English cottage. Very pleasant and helpful staff. They were great at suggesting things to do in the area. They arranged candle lit dinners for us in the courtyard. Great view from the cottage of the valley & mountain ranges beyond. (will try to share some pics). definitely lives upto the name of a home away from home. Would have also been a great place for a family stay since they are stocked up for board games for kids and an activity room with a television. We stayed in the Attic room that was very cosy, tastefully done and a perfect stay for being in a hill station. We loved the view. the bathroom was clean and little touches like two stools in the bath area made its use more comfortable. on a side note, my wife loved the texture of her hair after using the particular complimentary shampoo that they stock for guests. The food wasn't fancy but made a hearty meal enjoyed after a good hike.

Apparently Rabinedrnath Tagore loved those hills and wrote his gitanjali there. Hiked upto the ruins of his house (not the best season to make that hike every thing was over grown)
A lot of wood peckers and thrush of different kinds were frequent visitors at Taradale. The white eyes loved playing in the bottle brush which made for great pic's... went birding to pangot .. lovely place but might have seen more birds around ramgarh (was cloudy/misty in panot).. Went to nanaital 40 min drive and climbed up tiffen top not a bad hike for being in the middle of so much development. Must say Nanaital was very clean for an Indian hill-station in the rainy season. We'd love to visit again because there was still so much to do around. Taradale was a great option, as it wasn't very far from nainital yet was away from the hustle bustle. Like a hill holiday should be!

Room Tip: attic has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raehet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    26
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
16
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stay date: 9th to 11th 2013..long weekend..... Rainy Season...

Pros: the time when Nainital becomes a slum with millions pouring in due to holidays... Ramgarh which is only 25 km! provides a peaceful adobe and this Welcome heritage property is a star.

Menu is small but the food is excellent and the smiles of the staff make it great.

Staff is v helpful and are more than eager to help you and be at your service with a big smile.

Amazing and breath taking views from the rooms.... Mist and fog makes the experience very spritual and romantic....

Rooms and bathrooms are very clean.

No television in the rooms saves one from those TV serials and painful news for 2 days.... AND HELP THE FAMILY TO COME CLOSER.

Lots of indoor board games options and a pool table help to spend good family time.

The hotel gave us a complementary room the kids which made the stay even more comfortable, a lot of thanks for this gesture.

Cons: the resort is working on making more facilities like badminton/tennis court and yoga/Ayurvedic massage centre, till tat time one has to be happy with the options available.

The blankets need to be better, were old and without covers, some has stink too (may be coz of the humid weather throughout the year)

It's a very big property with a big jungle in front...a walking track would enhance the staying experience.

Verdict: an amazing property to stay at... And its home away from home experience is enough to make us come back again soon.. Will be waiting for some more facilities to come up to have a complete family holiday experience,

Room Tip: Take the 3 rooms in front for the outstanding views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajitchoudhary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moradabad, Uttar Pradesh, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Ohhh I loved this place, this is actually a Home away from home.... each room has its own interior & its classy.... Good food & the best part is its staff...
I still remember Omi, he is just too good.... he is one man army...
Would love to go again n again....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajeev1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We travelled to Taradale Cottage in the -rainy season- just so as to enjoy the rains in the hills. The drive from Delhi was relaxed . and took a little longer than we imagined -. We were guided all along the drive by the excellent directions given in the site plus also the calls from the resort Caretaker Mr Om Prakash (Omi for short!!!!). He welcomed us at the road just above the resort along with 2 others who carried the luggage down to the resort for us as the resort is 250 meters by walk from the road (the only point of concern I found if someone travels there and has a difficulty to walk this distance, but not surprising as it is clearly mentioned on their website...). The resort staff welcomed us with the Uttarakhand specialty Rhodheodendron flower juice a sumptuous drink. The room we had chosen was in the first floor and I was a bit disappointed that I had NOT chosen the Attic room (I was a bit concerned not to choose the attic room because we have a 2 year daughter), in fact the view and ambiance is really good in the ATTIC. This said the room we got had a very scenic view and was very airy and roomy with high ceiling. The bathroom was clean well equipped and had good running water with continuous hot water from the water heater (The water was so pure that my hair was silky after bath thanks to the soft water in the hills). What impressed me when the power supply was disrupted was the promptness in the generator being switched on and then again there was not a decibel rise in the silence level due to the gen-set which was tucked away cleverly out of sight by the side of the kitchen-dining area. The staff was very cordial in quickly preparing a late lunch for us and taking care of the toddler whenever required. The food was excellent and we had the choice of selection of menu which was prepared to our liking. The kitchen which always tells about a place of stay was well equipped, clean and was not smelling of anything stale or old. The tea in the morning was as fresh and refreshing as the air and the ambiance of tea in the garden was well worth having after a good night’s sleep. In fact both my wife and I knew only of lying down and then waking up with nothing but a solid 8 hours solace in between which was so so welcome after the hustle and bustle of Delhi. On the lighter side the room did lack A/C and fans and we did require a light blanket though it was July with rains outside. The garden surrounding the resort and the fruit estate extending downhill belongs to the resort holding a variety of fruits and flowering plants. The one thing I did miss here was the sound of vehicles and the only vehicle I could see was across the hills maybe at a distance of 5 kms occasionally going up or down hill. The predominant sound in the resort was birds, and occasionally the distant sound of a dog barking away at the monkeys or the school children returning home after school. The resort - appears 100 years old and left me wondering quite a few times of the history this place holds. This property with the granite and wooden structure is imposing by itself and adorned by antique furniture, curios, memorabilia and photographs of yester years. It has a view which we found absolutely stunning especially at dusk when the sky changed its colors like a teenager in the changing room of an apparel store. We had a lazy 2 day stay here and went down driving in the mornings to imbibe as much as the lovely country side as possible before retiring to the resort for late lunch and early dinner. There was never a moment when we felt this was a resort and we were guest’s here rather we felt so much at home. Although raining I had plenty of opportunities to do photography but preferred this vacation to be a lazy one. I wish to be here in all the seasons especially winters to get the magnificent view of the snow clad Himalayas which we missed this time. To the visitor here be prepared of the small walk down to the resort, lack of swimming pool A/C etc because you don’t need that in the hills, sans this be also prepared to discover the magic in silence in the midst of nature in - an old resort with no snooping eyes around veiled in mist from time to time. I have not described the night ambiance which will be next time around……………to be continued after the next visit.

Room Tip: Any room but the Attic has a charm the first floor rooms are charming the ground floor rooms are cla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank radionair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Pros:
- Charming colonial cottage nestled in the himalayan foothills.
- Stay here only if you want a B&B or homestay type of experience.
- Good food

Cons:
- We travelled in November and temperatures dropped to 10 C. However, we were just given a small heater that simply couldnt keep up. It was even more chilly in common areas like dining room, TV room and we had a terrible room moving around.
- The attic room is horrible. Please pay an extra 1k and upgrade to one of the 5 other rooms. Even those rooms are quite worn out.
- Saw a few spiders (one of them was HUGE). Better pest control is needed.
- Being a small cottage, the staff goes back home every night and you are left alone with haunted spirits ;)

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank chintan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taradale C, Owner at WelcomHeritage Taradale Cottage, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your feed-back, and for highlighting the charm of our property. We also appreciate the fact that you found our food good.

On the other hand we sincerely apologise and regret the inconvenience that you might have been caused due to some of the aspects that you raised. May I address each of the areas that you listed.

As is common knowledge winters in the Himalayas are very cold, especially when one is located at around 6,500 feet above sea level, as is our property (and not in the foothills). Guests who book in winter are usually aware of this fact. Winters are a beautiful time to visit us as the views of the snow-capped higher ranges are spectacular at this time.And one might also encounter snow fall. We do our best and provide very warm beddings and heaters in every room. Although most bedrooms have fireplaces, we are compelled not to allow the use of the same keeping in mind the safety of the guests and that of the property. We also have working fireplaces in the Dining & Drawing rooms which are in constant use but come at a price which is listed in the rooms as well as in the reception Foyer. We discourage the use/burning of wood, and it therefore comes at a charge/price, as we are an environmentally conscious property.Since your visit, we have also started providing hot water bottles to guests at bedtime.

Nowhere do we claim to be anything but a small hotel and a home away from home. We take pride in the fact that we are not a run of the mill hotel and provide our guests with a unique experience of old world charm amidst a setting of seclusion & tranquillity in the lap of nature. We are therefore flummoxed that you interpret this much sought after & rare feature of solitude that our property provides as creepy & haunted.

With regards to you comment about the Attic. May I kindly state that our Attic is much in demand by our guests. It is definitely smaller in size, but it makes up by its quaint charm which is difficult to come across in other hill houses in our country, and also by the best views that it provides. Only due to its size the Attic is currently priced at Rs 1,500 cheaper than our other rooms. During the course of your stay most of our other rooms were also available but you opted for the less expensive option.

We are really sorry that you had to encounters spiders. As our property is in the midst of lush greenery therefore despite regular pest control efforts, some spiders appear to be resistant and survive. I can assure you that they are quite harmless. We will nevertheless continue to pay more attention to this detail.

May we lastly clarify that although due to the model & philosophy of our property we do not have staff available after lights out, but one or two staff is always present in their quarters at night which is within the compound of our property. This staff can always be called upon in case of any special need at night.

We value your opinion, and trust that you will take our response in the same spirit as just an explanation to your in-puts.

Thanks for your patronage.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Taradale lives up to it's promise of removing you from all attachments to urban closed dwellings and helps you harmonize with its magical spaces both within and outside.

Food is the first thing that comes to mind on holidays and Taradale has an elegant little dining which does just that. The chef is always on his heels and makes it easy to want to just settle down with excellent home cooking.

We walked around the hills after some delicious cooking to discover that Taradale has no competition when it comes to its facade. The charming little spaces encourage your creativity and its so relaxing to just settle down with silence and happy meditative spaces within and around the little property.

What appeared to me as collectors items in varied forms - in print / porcelain /wood add an old world charm and contribute to a tasteful decor.Enough to take me back to yesteryears and imagine my time with my grandparents.

I would ask for the attic room for the kids - our girls played pretense with such ease they almost nailed family pictures on the walls and being complete city kids didn't want to leave.

Highly recommended property for it s view is splendid and the air weaves the rest of the magic.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelinjoy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

A nice little property tucked in the hilly charm of Ramgarh. We went in the harvesting season when the orchards around it were laden with orange peaches. The food was like a home cooked food with a hilly flavor. Staff was very helpful. Only one thing, which one needs to be careful is that it is located on a steep slope, so in case you have elderly people, it may become a bit difficult for them.The hotel has porters to carry your luggage and they serve you well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepak41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramgarh
1.0 mi away
Soulitude in the Himalayas
0.7 mi away
Aamari Resorts
Aamari Resorts
#2 of 4 in Ramgarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#7 of 48 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
#1 of 1 in Dhanachuli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows
0.2 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ramgarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Taradale Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Taradale Cottage

Property: WelcomHeritage Taradale Cottage
Address: (On PWD Rest House Road), Village Bohrakot, Tehsil, (Malla),Ramgarh, Dist. Nainital, Kumaon | Kumaon Hills, District Nainital, Ramgarh 263137, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Ramgarh
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ramgarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — WelcomHeritage Taradale Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WelcomHeritage Taradale Cottage was christened after the illustrious aristocrat & diplomat Major General 'Tara' Singh Bal, and belongs to his daughter in law Indra Bal. A five minutes downhill walk from the road leads you to the property which is reminiscent of the summer houses built during the British Raj. The Boutique Hotel Taradale Cottage is located 325 Kms from Delhi, and lies in the sleepy hamlet of Ramgarh in the north-eastern part of the Kumaon region of the Himalayas. This relatively undiscovered but increasingly popular destination is often termed as the fruit basket of the picturesque Uttarakhand state because of its sprawling peach, plum, apricot, apple & pear orchards. The beauty of Ramgarh and its surrounding majestic mountains, pristine Oak & Rhododendron forests, crisp cool air and vast clear skies attracted several industrial & royal houses to set up their estates here. The peace & tranquility of this place inspired the likes of Rabindranath Tagore who penned parts of his famous Gitanjali here. Narain Swami & Sri Aurobindo also founded Ashrams in the vicinity. The famous wildlife conservationist and writer Jim Corbett stayed here while en-route to bag one of the man-eating Tigers and has mentioned Ramgarh in one of his books. Taradale Cottage is situated in a fairly secluded spot overlooking tree covered slopes and a verdant green valley or 'Dale' from which it derives the latter half of its name. A five minutes easy downhill walk from the road leads you to the property which is reminiscent of the summer houses built during the British Raj. The grey & white stucco facade, slanting tin roofs, bay windows, verandas & balconies replete with delicate Victorian trims lend an old world charm to this home away from home. The cottage is nestled in a small English garden, adjacent to a patch of stately Pine & Deodar trees overlooking the spectacular snow bound Himalayan peaks of Nanda Devi, Trishul & Panchachuli. A quaint Attic room & a Duplex Suite are amongst the 6 well appointed bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and modern comforts. Colonial furniture and tastefully done interiors, wooden ceilings and fireplaces in most rooms welcome you. Personalised and painstakingly done decor complete with old framed prints , family photos and fascinating antique bric-a-brac adorn the foyer, parlour & powder room. The Dining room offers simple but delectable Indian, Continental & Kumaoni cuisine to savour and pamper your taste buds. No drive in available. Five minutes comfortable downhill walk to the porch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your WelcomHeritage Taradale Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing