We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oban accessible without the agro”
Review of Knipoch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knipoch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Knipoch B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Excellent situation loch side, though with a road between. As with all mature hotels there was work in progress though this was not intrusive. The lounge, bar and restaurant were comfortable and well appointed, though some of the leather was tiring. Great views from lounge and restaurant with a convivial atmosphere. Limited menu, but every effort was made to accommodate individual preference or idiosyncratic dietary requirement.
Crepe desert (signature?) highly recommended.
Trim gardens.
Go again? Yes.

Room Tip: If you are a late riser, perhaps a back room may avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 194 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night over the bank holiday weekend on our way to the Isle of Mull. The location was beautiful with stunning views and the hotel was delightful. Staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The en suite room was spotless with good facilities. I found the room to be comfortable although a little hot even with the heating turned off. We had the evening meal which was good, and breakfast was also very good. I would definitely stay here again if I was travelling to the area again. The only downside was that the bar did not serve draught beer which caused some disappointment to my partner!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 776Anne776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We recently spent two nights at the lovely Knipoch Hotel, it was blissful. We had Room 11 which had a lovely view, the food was wonderful and on each night the choices were very tempting. We were made very welcome and nothing was too much trouble, even the weather was perfect. We can't wait to have a return visit.

Room Tip: Definitely room 11!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geopatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The hotel is set on a beautiful piece of property, very quite and peaceful. Great view of the sea and mountains from our room. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was very good with a good assortment of hot and cold foods.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IAlwaysWantToGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Spent three nights here in March 2014. Despite typically wet Oban weather, the hotel was wArm and welcoming. Staff were ere unobtrusive to the point of hardly seeing anyone around! The breakfast room was lacking in atmosphere and the service was somewhat stern.

The food was lovely and the

The location was perfect for touring and walking, being outside the town.

Enjoyable!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed here 5th - 7th April 2014 on a 2 day trip to Oban. Really idyllic settings with great views across the loch and the surrounding hills. Very peaceful, quiet and serene away from the busy small harbour town of Oban but only a stone's throw away from it. Good food, great service and great whisky collection of which the owner was only too happy to give us a very full and in depth lesson of the fine art of whisky tasting. Would be very happy to visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chilly729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I recently stayed at the Knipoch Hotel for 2 nights and I was very impressed from the minute I arrived. It is set in a lovely location a short drive from Oban and overlooking a sea loch. It was very much a pleasent stay and great value for the money paid. A lovely full breakfast was provided each morning which set us up for the day :) Thank you once again for a nice welcome and stay :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Knipoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knipoch Hotel

Address: Knipoch PA34 4QT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Knipoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Knipoch
Price Range: $211 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knipoch Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling beside Loch Feochan in Argyll, Scotland, lays Knipoch Hotel (pronounced neepoch -och as in loch). This four star country house hotel is privately owned and run by the Craig family.We opened Knipoch as a hotel in 1981 when the original building was refurbished with the reception, kitchen and bedroom wing being added.Prior to this it was our family home with a history. In 1592, Campbell, Thane of Cawdor was assassinated here at the "house of Knipoch in Lorne".In England as well as Scotland, hotels vary and individually owned hotels each have a personality. At 22 rooms (including suites), Knipoch Hotel is small enough to care for our guests personally, yet large enough to be a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Knipoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knipoch Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing