We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff and great food”
Review of Knipoch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knipoch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Knipoch B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Stayed in the Hotel for 4 days (participated in a residential), and had a wonderful time. The staff were extremely helpful, warm and nice. The food was perfect! I would recommend it to friends and colleagues for rest and business type events!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFiserM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knipochhotel, PA at Knipoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review, it was a pleasure to have you staying with us . We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Knipoch hotel. I have shown your review to all the staff and we all appreciate your kind comments. We hope to welcome you back to Knipoch Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 194 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

wow for the food
wow for the service
wow for the experience

will be booking shortly for my wife and i to get away for a couple of days

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonerinScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

A charming old style country hotel..right down to the creaky floors. Warm and cosy with modern luxuries. A wonderful respite after a long journey. The views over the loch are breathtaking.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller48915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Great old style Scottish hotel with roaring open fires.

Top quality food, rooms overlooking the loch.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarrieS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We have been suggested to stay in this hotel by our Austrian travel agent. The Knipoch Hotel is a small country hotel which also locally has a good reputation, as all Scots we have talked to about it, praised its quality.
Situated a few miles south of Oban near a calm loch (seawater), there are some attractions nearby (Kilmartin Museum, Oban, Sealife Adventures Boat tours), it is a perfect base to tour the West including a trip to the nearer Isles.
The Knipoch is a lovely small hotel with a restaurant. We had the only 3bed-room available. The owner and the staff is very welcoming and nice and everything is very clean. Food in the restaurant is exclusive and excellent, but the menu is rather short and does not contain any kids-relevant food. This is also mentioned in the room menues, families with small kids are offered an afternoon tea in order to let the parents have a relaxed dinner later. Bear in mind that also teens might not be happy what is served, although trying out a delicious pheasant breast was a great pleasure for our 11 year old daughter. We have enjoyed our short stay very much!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlisGlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

All the troubles of the world seem very far away at Knipoch, a rather stylish hotel a little way out of Oban, with a beautiful view over Loch Feochan. The general style of the public areas could be described as "modestly baronial". It appealed to me, as did joint owner Kamma Craig who was welcoming and charming.
We had a spacious and comfortable twin room overlooking the loch and during our three night stay, we sampled an excellent dinner after dining in Oban the first two nights.
A couple of minor quibbles ; - the en suite bathroom was a little on the tired side and, for me personally, the bar had a poor range of beers. The emphasis on the excellent range of malt whiskies is understandable but a few bottles of the local Oban ale would be a welcome addition.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

We arrived at the Knipoch Hotel by way of default as we had reserved 4 nights at another hotel in the locality. However when we checked in to that hotel it wasn't anything like how it had been portrayed on the internet & therefore we didn't stay. Our initial disappointment turned in to absolute joy when we found the Knipoch Hotel. Can I start by saying that the reception we received from the hotel owner was most welcoming & the service from staff impeccable.
The hotel is situated opposite Loch Feochan & located approximately six miles south of Oban. The hotel is very tastefully appointed in all aspects & maintains a homely feeling, but with a touch of elegance. The food is delightful & all freshly prepared & cooked to order . Their wine list is very impressive indeed, with choice to suit everyone's taste & pocket.
I can only add that it was our good fortune to end up staying at the Knipoch & we wouldn't have any hesitation in highly recommending it as a first class hotel & place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crooky53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Knipoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knipoch Hotel

Address: Knipoch PA34 4QT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Knipoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Knipoch
Price Range: $211 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knipoch Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling beside Loch Feochan in Argyll, Scotland, lays Knipoch Hotel (pronounced neepoch -och as in loch). This four star country house hotel is privately owned and run by the Craig family.We opened Knipoch as a hotel in 1981 when the original building was refurbished with the reception, kitchen and bedroom wing being added.Prior to this it was our family home with a history. In 1592, Campbell, Thane of Cawdor was assassinated here at the "house of Knipoch in Lorne".In England as well as Scotland, hotels vary and individually owned hotels each have a personality. At 22 rooms (including suites), Knipoch Hotel is small enough to care for our guests personally, yet large enough to be a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Knipoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knipoch Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing