We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We never made it!”
Review of Manor Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manor Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Kangarilla B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We never made it!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I were given a voucher as a generous Christmas gift by our daughter; purchased from a reputable booking agency. 2 Nights at "The Manor Estate" Kangarilla SA. Cost $265.00.
When contacting "Peter" the manager, every date my wife requested was "not available". She asked him"what dates are available" and selected 2 nights. A week before the dates booked she received a call from "Peter", and was told the room would not be ready "owing to incompleted renovations". She obliged him by re-booking ,a second time for 24/4/13.
Driving afternoon to Kangarilla in the car we took a blue-tooth phone call from "Peter" telling us of a water problem from the heavy rain the night before and that the spas were not working either. He was cancelling our booking! "Would we like to re-book again?" I said "No we wouldn't"
By this time I had read the assorted reviews of "The Manor" and was "apprehensive" as to what awaited us. He offered to credit the $265.00 to our own CC (which I learned that he obtained details of from my wife!).....strange since the 2 night stay had already been pre-paid by our daughter?
No credit refund was received on our card and our daughter has now finally (17/6/13) obtained the refund via the original booking agency. It seems to me that this establishment operates under its own rules.."check in 4pm-5pm" ..self rated..amateurish operation..unreliable.. etc etc. That is my opinion for what it is worth. A total waste of our time!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
17 Thank john_stevens3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    16
    17
    19
    46
See reviews for
20
162
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Was pretty disappointed with our stay at the Manor Estate whilst we travelled through South Australia's wine region.

Once checked in, could not get hold of the owners again for the duration of our stay.

Room presented nicely upon first glance, but after spending the first night there, we felt like we were in the middle of a Fawlty Towers episode.

At night, the rooms are swarming with mosquitoes. The made things worse as we had a very lumpy mattress.

Shower facility was terrible , water went everywhere, and even saturated the only roll of toilet paper that we were given.

Breakfast provisions was the worst we have ever seen, stale cereal, little milk, and soft, old, bruised fruit.

They're happy to take your money, we expected a standard in return.

Wasn't so. Would never recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank StaceGS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kangarilla hotels

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My girlfriend and i (whom travel regularly through the hills) arrived in the early afternoon to beautiful scenery and a warm welcome from the host. After a short tour of our room (balcony spa suite) and a walk through the land (which was stunning) we enjoyed a spa in one of the luxurious rooms available at manor estate. The balcony offered a breath-taking view and everything seemed up-to date and new, stunning marble floor. The service from the host was flawless, no issues arose during our stay and we enjoyed our time there thoroughly. I would strongly recommend this estate and also it's wine ;) will definitely be visiting again soon!

Room Tip: Go for a walk! see the horses :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Luke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Really nice and green, beautiful driveway leading up to the main house. We went for a walk up the road and there was a beautiful view from Manor Estate to the ocean, really nice. I heard there were old mines really close by too, which we didn't get time to explore. We were never bothered or inturpted, and our massage organised by the team at the Manor was also really really fantastic, just what I needed, highly recommended. The room itself was really spacious and new. Beautiful big spa bath. TV with movies, couch. Very big kitchen area, I was actually supprised, because its not what you would expect for a B&B. Great surroundings, I highly recommend exploring the area too. Highly recommend :)

Room Tip: For a getaway in a large room (bigger than my unit at home!!) choose the Retreat. Big bathroom, bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GinaK845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

For very active travelers, this experience left us extremely disappointed, particularly after reading other reviews. It's important to provide a current review as most are quite dated. Our first warning of the impending disaster should have been the lack of response to our phone/email inquiries. Secondly, it should have been the fact that no one was there on arrival to greet us, In fact, we were there 2 1/2 days and saw no one!! No administration staff, no cleaners, no gardeners, NO ONE. Our room was changed from downstairs to upstairs without any notice. As stated in many other reviews/blogs, the shower water runs all over the Bathroom as there is no screen. There was mould in the tiles. The balcony handrail is rotted and extremely dangerous and would fail any building code. We were charged an additional fee of $67.00, 5 weeks after visiting. They claimed that we stole a bottle of wine????They again will not answer phone calls or emails. This is common in other reviews and blogs from other sites also. So in summary, an extremely over-rated venue. You'd do well to research the area in detail as there is some beautiful accommodation, just not this one!! This is an honest review so do yourself a favor and do your research carefully. Thanks for reading.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Noosa2soon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great stay in a great location set in a parklike garden setting of a county mansion in the quiet wine hills area of the famous South australian Mclaren Vale. Our beautiful suite and friendly service made our stay memorable. Compared to other busy accommodation we were used to this was so relaxing the spa and bedroom facilities in our private retreat were amazing. Great Aussie BBQ provided and great hosts. Could not fault it. Recommend staying a must.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PrincessChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

As soon as we drove down the tree lined avenue and saw the Manor mansion and the huge central fountain we were reminded of the great houses of France. We were greeted by the host who was friendly and inviting. The suites were a mix of classical and modern chic decor, very comfortable and attractive. The unsuite bathroom was spacious and generously appointed with towels and accessories. Breakfast was ample fresh fruit and a variety of cereals and toast and wine provided was delicious. Stunning place stunning bnb in Mclaren Vale.

Room Tip: Huge spa unsuite recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Roadtripahoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kangarilla
8.5 mi away
Serafino McLaren Vale
Serafino McLaren Vale
#2 of 2 in McLaren Vale
186 reviews
10.7 mi away
Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Mt Bold Estate
Mt Bold Estate
#2 of 2 in Kangarilla
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Adelaide Hills Country Cottages
10.3 mi away
Longview Vineyard
Longview Vineyard
#1 of 2 in Macclesfield
70 reviews
9.2 mi away
Wine and Roses Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Estate

Property: Manor Estate
Address: Saddlebags Road, Kangarilla, South Australia SA 5157, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Kangarilla
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kangarilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Manor Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing