We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth.”
Review of Sticky Rice Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sticky Rice Villas
Sefton, NSW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on earth.”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Despite four days of cold and rain once inside our Bali villa it was like we'd been transported to paradise. The villa is luxuriously appointed but feels warm and welcoming, not cold and sterile like some hotels can be. Although we could only enjoy the wrap around courtyard from the indoors due to the inclement weather, the floor to ceiling glass made it feel like an extension of the villa and added to the tranquitlity of the place. Being off the road behind the cooking school added to the quiteness and solitude of the place. The cooking class was fun; the bubbly, cheese and brekkie provisions ample. The peacefulness provided us with a welcome escape from a hectic year and a nice way to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Claire has done a marvelous job with the decor and her congeniality only added to the peasantness of our stay. The rest of the staff were equally as engaging and all contributed to a wonderful short break. We'll definitely be back to stay again. (Oh forgot to mention the king sized Tempur mattress. Best sleep I've ever had away from home.)
Amanda

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    3
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Truly spectacular design and the promise of wine in the huge bathtub lured us into a state of 'love at first sight', and then after we sat down with the 3D glasses to watch a film after our phenomenal cooking class, we wanted to marry the place!
Cheese and wine in the fridge, plus breakfast supplies, a fluffy white kingsize bed, underfloor heating - all the good parts about hiding away in winter - we were in HEAVEN.
Be warned Sticky Rice - if I can't get in contact with that architect - I am moving in here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Everyone associated with the Sticky Rice Cooking School and Villas showed an unusual desire to genuinely exceed the expectations of their guests. Claire was welcoming and cared that she shared in my surprise weekend for my wife’s birthday celebration, which included the surprise arrival of our children and their partners who stayed overnight in the Yoko and Bali Villas. One of the staff even made an emergency dash to the local wine store late on Friday evening to satisfy my daughter's need for Baileys!

The accommodation was excellent and spotlessly clean. My wife loved the Zen Villa, which is decadent and brooding but I was more impressed with the openness and the thoroughly modern Japanese styling of the Yoko Villa. The Zen Villa was great for entertaining our children and their partners with its impressive chefs kitchen and well-appointed communal lounge space.
The local sourced breakfast provisions were generous, probably overly so, and the complimentary wine excellent.

We all loved the cooking school experience, which was warm and inviting and sitting down at long trestle tables to share food, wine and stories with other aspiring cooks made it a truly memorable birthday celebration.

We loved this experience.

Gary and Julie

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here for our tenth anniversary last month. We were in the Yoko villa which is spacious and stylish. The bathroom is just gorgeous and the whole place is framed by timber and glass so you feel like you are sitting in the garden. Every detail has been thought of and Claire has dreamt up a wonderful hideaway. We didn't leave our villa from check in to check out. We took food to cook together for dinner and enjoyed the fabulous new kitchen. We will definitely return to such a high quality villa not far from the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradletn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at the Sticky Rice Villas in the Bali Villa so we could also enjoy our cooking class experience (without having to drive back to Adelaide) which is held on the same property. Both the villa and the cooking class were fantastic and definetly worth the 30 minute trip from Adelaide to Stirling.

The Bali Villa is very spacious, has a warm feelling due probably to the north westerly facing full length windows which draws the Bali garden and sun into all the rooms. The gardens are very private and secure and it has an outside Balanese lounge to relax in. The room has all the modern facilities that work with the theme of the villa.

Claire took time out to show us around the rest of the villas and any of these would definately be worth the stay.

The cooking class was a great way to learn some new skills while enjoying a wine and meeting people with simlar interests

Great weekend away

Libby & Don

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libby_don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

From culinary celebration to sumptuous surroundings, the sticky rice villas and cooking school soothes the soul and satisfying the appetite. Nestled amidst the sprawling Adelaide hills it is surrounded by wineries and endless adventures. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by the owners infectious personality. We had booked in for two relaxing nights in the Bali villa in conjunction with an Asian cooking class.
On entering the villas courtyard we are transported 2335 miles to a stunning recreation of a Balinese paradise. The authentic thatched hut is but one of many traditional Balinese pieces making this villa a visual banquet.
The blend of the traditional and the modern works in perfect harmony catering for all. With an emphasis on privacy and luxury this villa rates amongst the finest.
The first of many visits no doubt
selamat tinggal

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fireworxNscooters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were the first visitors to stay in the Bali "hut". It was architecturally designed and beautifully decorated. It felt like we were on holidays in Bali! It was warm, light, modern, very comfortable & luxurious. The space connects beautifully with the outside & the kitchen is definitely set up for foodies. We were so grateful for Claire's hospitality & attention to detail. Would thoroughly recommend a cooking class while you are there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenaeLeeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stirling
1.5 mi away
Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel
9.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
1,045 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
5.6 mi away
Adelaide Hills Country Cottages
0.7 mi away
The Retreat at Stirling
The Retreat at Stirling
#3 of 4 in Stirling
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sticky Rice Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sticky Rice Villas

Property: Sticky Rice Villas
Address: 96 Old Mount Barker Rd, Stirling, South Australia 5152, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide Hills > Stirling
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sticky Rice Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These Villas are the ultimate in luxury accommodation in the Adelaide Hills and opened in March 2013. Exclusive yet affordable they are an architectural inspiration of luxury holiday Villas often seen in places such as Bali, Thailand and Japan. Purpose built indoor living area, a private outdoor courtyard plus individual gardens in which to explore and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sticky Rice Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sticky Rice Villas Stirling, Adelaide Hills, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing