We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Medieval Mother's Day and more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thorngrove Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Stirling B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical Medieval Mother's Day and more”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I recently had the wonderful opportunity of sharing high tea with my two daughters on Mother's Day at the magical Thorngrove Manor. This medieval inspired castle is in the Adelaide Hills and is truly incredible. Everything you see and touch is exquisitely presented and the rooms (chambers) are awe inspiring. If you are looking for a memorable experience I highly recommend either staying a night or two, or experiencing an intimate dinner, or like us an amazing afternoon tea. This hidden gem is also listed amongst the top small luxury hotels of the world - wow! Thankyou Nydia and Ken for giving us a memory that will last forever.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
42
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We celebrated our one year anniversary at Thorngrove & it was also our first trip to Adelaide, most amazing & romantic experience & the best place I've ever stayed...considering
I'm a frequent travel & been to over 20 countries it was surprising for me that a place in Australia is top of the list!

We were in the castle tower, such a beautiful room with a comfy bed, authentic decor & overall luxurious vibe...& yes felt like a queen!

The bathroom downstairs has an amazing spa, you're provided with all the toiletries you could ever ask for & it makes you feel like royalty.

The breakfast is delicious & we were provided with fruit, more than enough cereal & bread options, juice, yoghurt, delicious tea & coffee & milk to suit our tastes :)

Can't thank Nydia & Ken enough!!! They were more than hospitable, recommended lovely dinner options, gave us maps & directions & overall assisted us when ever we required, including just taking pics for us, most sweet couple & made us feel so at home that we struggled to leave!!

Big tip...if lovely weather have breakfast in the incredible garden & if visiting in winter there's a fireplace :)

Can't recommend Thorngrove enough & truly hope to return one day...it is more than worth a visit & try not to pack too much in so you can just relax & take in the once in a lifetime experience!!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Farfalla_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngrove, Manager at Thorngrove Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us in the Castle Keep at Thorngrove. We especially appreciate all feedback and endeavour to continually strive to excel in what we do and the exceptional accommodation experience we provide.

Thorngrove is a uniquely beautiful creative property set in the picturesque Adelaide Hills, specifically catering to those with romance in their soul.
We look forward to welcoming you back here again in the near future. Thank you for sharing the dream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Thorngrove Manor at first glances appears to be a stately home transplanted in the Adelaide Hills from 18th Century Europe. You may also be inclined to assume that this is a hotel. On both counts you'd be wrong. The building is in fact only 30-or-so years old, and though you have the privilege of staying there, it's a living sculpture created by owners Ken & Nydia Lehman.

This is an experience of contrasts. Authentic architecture is offset by modern fittings. Hand crafted furniture and gold leaf stencilling. Linen and bedding like no other; even sleeping feels luxurious. This is bespoke and private accommodation for lovers of the finer points in life. An experience unlike another in Australia.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AusHuskyDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngrove, General Manager at Thorngrove Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are passionate about architectural art and try to ensure
our boutique hotel weaves its magical spell on our guests. Next year we will celebrate a 30 year creative journey. We look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Ill keep this brief; Thorngrove Manor is a unique and amazing experience.

You will not be disappointed by any element of your stay.

I chose this location to propose to my girlfriend at the time & the location was simply perfect.

Private, romantic, authentic experience & truly enjoyed the service from the managers who live and love Thorngrove.

We will be back!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaygee79Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngrove, Owner at Thorngrove Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of your stay with us. Such heartfelt comments are the reason that we do what we do. Our passion and commitment to guest's experiences is further encouraged by the positive comments of all our guests here. Every day we strive to make Thorngrove even better. To evolve and strive for greater excellence is a challenge-each week we set goals. Congratulations on your engagement, and we hope to welcome you back here again soon to once again experience our enchanted world inside the gates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

A perfect time to book the extraordinary afternoon tea/luncheon at Thorngrove. A bonus was the amazing bunch of wildly romantic flowers from the Bluebell Society to take home. This was a feast fit for a "King" as well as a Queen. The fire was blazing when we arrived and where shown to the Kings Chamber, an exuberant and amazing room; wonderful on a wintry day. The table was beautiful, with no food yet to be laid. Firstly came plates of hot savoury dishes. Everything is handmade for the occasion, including the ever so thin and light butter puff pastry. A menu is left on the table. Service is with stunningpieces of antique sterling silver dating from the mid 1700s.
There were the tiniest of macarons, glan chou, the tinest of petite-four Lindt chocolate gateau,cygne,toffee orange cakes and light ethereal scones. Everything was perfect-our sugar intake for the year, but balanced with Moroccan beef and Italian chicken. So many teas, coffees and pure indulgence. We also had a goody box to take some home to share. An amazing experience to celebrate all things royal. Being in the Kings Chamber we also got to see the bedroom and bathroom. The bed was so high,you would need a ste,p and the bathroom overlooked a pond.

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are magic and a tad eccentric like this one was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ashleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngrove, General Manager at Thorngrove Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
We are always so pleased that our guests continue to "enjoy the magic!" We set out to create unique and wonderful experiences for our guests. It is the heartfelt responses that make outr efforts so worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

It has to be a best kept secret. We felt like the only guests in this fairytale castle. We were totally blown away by the Tower Room-a rapunzel tower! We have never experienced anything like this before, from the moment Ken greeted at the gate. Attention to detail was amazing and the attentivenes and care is a result of ken's passion for architecture and sharing his creation with others. He is butler, host, architect, creator and dreamer!
The food had amazing taste and artistry. A privately catered dinner is a rarity. I think it was Coco Channel that said fashion goes out of style, but style never goes out of fashion.........
It is truly a unique experience in an imagination filled world. They only accpt a few guests at a time-the lucky ones like us. We will certainly go back, just for the beds.

Room Tip: Look on their website and decide what suits you and what you prefer. It does not really matter which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnjandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngrove, Guest Relations Manager at Thorngrove Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thank you for your heartfelt response. We are appreciative of all the positive comments we receive, even after 27 years-there is always a better mousetrap to be invented!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We had an amazing New Years Eve staying at this fantastic hotel where we were exclusive guests for the evening.We stayed in the Observatory suite high up in one of the turrets with commanding views across the Adelaide Hills.Ken the owner prepared a wonderful meal and we dined in our suite with silver service.New Years day was met with a superb breakfast served on the terrace.For all those who enjoy quirky buildings this is hard to beat.The thought and quality that has gone into this place is quite unique.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tigersChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngrove, General Manager at Thorngrove Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you for all your kind words and appreciation of our service, dining and accommodation. We were delighted that you chose to celebrate your birthdays at Thorngrove. Our aim is to create magic moments in a magical setting.
Best regards
Kenneth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stirling
0.8 mi away
Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel
8.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
6.3 mi away
Adelaide Hills Country Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Retreat at Stirling
The Retreat at Stirling
#3 of 4 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stirling Hotel
The Stirling Hotel
#2 of 4 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cladich Pavilions Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorngrove Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorngrove Manor Hotel

Property: Thorngrove Manor Hotel
Address: 2 Glenside Lane, Stirling, South Australia 5152, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide Hills > Stirling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Thorngrove Manor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorngrove - "Experience another World" - Enter a world of imagination, romance and escape. A unique enchanting destinational choice; South Australia's unique artistic Small Luxury Hotel-20 minutes from the Adelaide CBD in a designated country living zone. Distinctive and captivating architectural expression, individual and privately located accommodation catering for individual selection, with dedicated entries. Individual style with lavish furnishing and the finest European textiles and passementerie.Inspired timeless design with a sense of wonder; complementary appointments with both antique and the finest bespoke furnishing. A dynamic non-conformist signature property, with an indefinable ethereal quality, not replicated elsewhere; a place where creative surroundings and living spaces provide unique engaging experiences for the soul. Unique and commanding outlooks across sweeping vistas, a special sense of time and place -a labyrinthine architectural adventure with integrity and conviction. Only for those with imagination and romance in their soul! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thorngrove Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorngrove Manor Hotel Stirling, Adelaide Hills, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing