We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond Jubilee Tea fit for a Queen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thorngrove Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Stirling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Diamond Jubilee Tea fit for a Queen”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

A perfect time to book the extraordinary afternoon tea/luncheon at Thorngrove. A bonus was the amazing bunch of wildly romantic flowers from the Bluebell Society to take home. This was a feast fit for a "King" as well as a Queen. The fire was blazing when we arrived and where shown to the Kings Chamber, an exuberant and amazing room; wonderful on a wintry day. The table was beautiful, with no food yet to be laid. Firstly came plates of hot savoury dishes. Everything is handmade for the occasion, including the ever so thin and light butter puff pastry. A menu is left on the table. Service is with stunningpieces of antique sterling silver dating from the mid 1700s.
There were the tiniest of macarons, glan chou, the tinest of petite-four Lindt chocolate gateau,cygne,toffee orange cakes and light ethereal scones. Everything was perfect-our sugar intake for the year, but balanced with Moroccan beef and Italian chicken. So many teas, coffees and pure indulgence. We also had a goody box to take some home to share. An amazing experience to celebrate all things royal. Being in the Kings Chamber we also got to see the bedroom and bathroom. The bed was so high,you would need a ste,p and the bathroom overlooked a pond.

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are magic and a tad eccentric like this one was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ashleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngrove, General Manager at Thorngrove Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
We are always so pleased that our guests continue to "enjoy the magic!" We set out to create unique and wonderful experiences for our guests. It is the heartfelt responses that make outr efforts so worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
43
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

It has to be a best kept secret. We felt like the only guests in this fairytale castle. We were totally blown away by the Tower Room-a rapunzel tower! We have never experienced anything like this before, from the moment Ken greeted at the gate. Attention to detail was amazing and the attentivenes and care is a result of ken's passion for architecture and sharing his creation with others. He is butler, host, architect, creator and dreamer!
The food had amazing taste and artistry. A privately catered dinner is a rarity. I think it was Coco Channel that said fashion goes out of style, but style never goes out of fashion.........
It is truly a unique experience in an imagination filled world. They only accpt a few guests at a time-the lucky ones like us. We will certainly go back, just for the beds.

Room Tip: Look on their website and decide what suits you and what you prefer. It does not really matter which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnjandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngrove, Guest Relations Manager at Thorngrove Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thank you for your heartfelt response. We are appreciative of all the positive comments we receive, even after 27 years-there is always a better mousetrap to be invented!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We had an amazing New Years Eve staying at this fantastic hotel where we were exclusive guests for the evening.We stayed in the Observatory suite high up in one of the turrets with commanding views across the Adelaide Hills.Ken the owner prepared a wonderful meal and we dined in our suite with silver service.New Years day was met with a superb breakfast served on the terrace.For all those who enjoy quirky buildings this is hard to beat.The thought and quality that has gone into this place is quite unique.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tigersChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngrove, General Manager at Thorngrove Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you for all your kind words and appreciation of our service, dining and accommodation. We were delighted that you chose to celebrate your birthdays at Thorngrove. Our aim is to create magic moments in a magical setting.
Best regards
Kenneth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Thorngrove is a whimsical castle escape, it is jam packed with artistry and creativity and truly unique. Kenneth greeted us at the amazing gates topped with mythical beasts (friendly of course). The passion is evident in every nook and cranny and the attention to detail amazing, the best we have ever seen.We stayed in the Observatory, which is like being in a birds nest high atop a tree-you can see for ever!
service is attentive and dinner amazing, served with antique silver. It is a tad quirky, but an amazing design with extraordinary detail. How often is the architect there to speak to guests and share the dream and vision? It is a privilege to be a guest in this unique fantasy world. The garden has hidden topiary animals hidding amongst manicured hedging;and absolute delight,

Room Tip: The Observatory-
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Virginia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngrove M, Owner at Thorngrove Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
We are delighted that Thorngrove wove its magic spell over you.
We look forward to the pleasure of your company again when next you can get away. Special romantic occasions is what we do best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We had the most amazing stay at Thorngrove Manor and it was by far the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in. Kenneth greeted us upon our arrival and was extremely friendly and helpful. It's obvious how passionate he is about his castle when we were given the tour. We stayed in the Queen's Chambre and our teenage girls stayed in the Tower room. We had very heavy bags and before we could say anything Kenneth was halling them up the curved stairwell. The rooms were gorgeous and really did feel like you were in a medieval castle. When we crawled into bed, we were delited to discover that the heated comforter had already been turned on and the bed nice and toasty - a very nice touch.

After touring around Australia, we really enjoyed Stirling in the Autumn as the trees were changing to red and yellow, and it reminded us so much of our home back in Canada. It was a short and beautiful walk to town and a three km walk to the top of Mt. Lofty where we found an amazing restaurant and great view of Adelaide.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beeper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2011

From the entry at the gates it looks like something out of the ordinary. It is full of creativity and everything is interesting with extraordinary attention to detail. Our anniversary dinner was brilliant and great that the architect also is on hand. He ensures your stay is perfect with plenty of breathing space. Service is attentiveand the organic food amazing. We have never seen or experienced anything like this. a truly amazing place in a beautiful garden setting overlooking a valley. Our 4 poster bed had squirrels carved on it!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susiewoo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngrove, General Manager at Thorngrove Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2011
Dear Sue
We are blessed with such overwhelming responses from our guests and hope to share this special place with you again. Bon voyage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

A bit away from the small city of Adelaide is a rare gem! A castle nestled in the hills run by a quirky and sincere man and his wife. Although the hotel has 5 rooms they don't allow more than 2 rooms to be occupied in order to pay full attention to you every need. Kenneth, the husband, came to greet us at the front gate and showed us around the property and to our suite, The Queen's Chamber, which was spacious and perfectly furnished to make you feel like you were in a fairytale. While we looked around our room, Kenneth brought our VERRRRRRRYYY HEAVY luggage up the very narrow spiral staircase and to our room. For some reason we really did not expect that this was the only way to get the luggage up to the room and we REALLY didn't expect Kenneth to do it for us. Breakfast is served every morning in your room and dinner is served for an additional cost either in your room or in a very beautiful dining area facing the garden. I would recommend this! In the dining room there is a real candle chandelier that is lit for your dinner. The rooms is small, intimate and comfortable and they seat you right in the window for a beautiful view of the sunset. Another amazing detail is the flatware that Kenneth and his wife uses for the dinner. Each piece is a unique antique some dating back to the 1500's. Kenneth served us the night we ate in the dining room and we really loved getting to know about him, the castle and the history of the furnishings. He is a little timid, but really enjoys talking about his passion which is Thorngrove Manor. Although we only had 2 nights there we will definitely remember it as a great experience and hope to return again. It is definitely 5-star worthy!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thrPRICESareRIGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngrove, General Manager at Thorngrove Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2011
Dear Jessica & Gregory - it was an absolute pleasure to share our special part of SA and Thorngrove's unique world with you. We hope you took home many happy memories that will last forever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stirling
0.8 mi away
Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel
8.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
1,083 reviews
6.3 mi away
Adelaide Hills Country Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Longview Vineyard
Longview Vineyard
#1 of 2 in Macclesfield
71 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Retreat at Stirling
The Retreat at Stirling
#3 of 4 in Stirling
34 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stirling Hotel Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorngrove Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorngrove Manor Hotel

Property: Thorngrove Manor Hotel
Address: 2 Glenside Lane, Stirling, South Australia 5152, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide Hills > Stirling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Thorngrove Manor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorngrove - "Experience another World" - Enter a world of imagination, romance and escape. A unique enchanting destinational choice; South Australia's unique artistic Small Luxury Hotel-20 minutes from the Adelaide CBD in a designated country living zone. Distinctive and captivating architectural expression, individual and privately located accommodation catering for individual selection, with dedicated entries. Individual style with lavish furnishing and the finest European textiles and passementerie.Inspired timeless design with a sense of wonder; complementary appointments with both antique and the finest bespoke furnishing. A dynamic non-conformist signature property, with an indefinable ethereal quality, not replicated elsewhere; a place where creative surroundings and living spaces provide unique engaging experiences for the soul. Unique and commanding outlooks across sweeping vistas, a special sense of time and place -a labyrinthine architectural adventure with integrity and conviction. Only for those with imagination and romance in their soul! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thorngrove Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorngrove Manor Hotel Stirling, Adelaide Hills, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing