We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome”
Review of Tane Mahuta Walk

Tane Mahuta Walk
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Opononi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Always check the website for changes that might affect your trip.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
436 reviews
188 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Tane Mahuta is spectacular and although its looking a little tired after 2000+ yeras it is a huge and magnificent teree. It catches you unaware as you walk round the boardwalk but suddenly its there on the left - massive!!!! Worth walking a little further to another viewing spot where you get an even better appreciation of this huge tree

A MUST if you are nearby - its only 5 mins from the main road and its FREE!!!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    79
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
202 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“An amazing part of our NZ history.”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Visited Tane Mahuta with our kids to round off their NZ history lesson on this Northland holiday. It had rained overnight so the surrounding forest had that wonderful damp earth smell. We were all in awe of this amazing piece of NZ history and honoured that we can still visit and experience this natural wonder.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We Are Humble”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

OMG, you have to see this tree. We are just Hobbits in front of it. If Treebeard wants to find the missing Ents, he needs to travel to Tane Mahuta

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix Arizona
Level Contributor
249 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“See this Historical and Grand "Lord of the Forest"”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We made Tane Mahuta a must-see and we're glad we did. An easy walk from the road, it's a chance to see something you may never see again - a 2000 year old tree (kauri) standing 168 feet tall. Great photo ops and a nice stretch for the legs. Across the street from the bush walk entrance there is a picnic area. You can get hot dogs, fries, etc. from a trailer on the road. Watch out for bees. We had a bunch of them swarming around the car when we came out of the forest.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
177 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Part of NZ heritage”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

You may think 'oh only a tree!' but Tane Mahuta is a must see tree. It is one of the largest and oldest trees in NZ. It is only a few minutes walk from the road and you certainly get a feeling of 'majestic'. A coffee cart is parked here, if you need a caffeine fix.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nakitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tane Mahuta Walk also viewed

Waipoua Forest, Northland Region
Pukenui, Northland Region
 
Horeke, Northland Region
 

Been to Tane Mahuta Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing