We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Opononi Hotel Limited
Nearby Hotels
$62
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Waipoua Lodge(Waipoua Forest)
$330
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loredo Motel(Kaitaia)
$74
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay of Islands Country Lodge Motel(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kerikeri Park Lodge(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
$100
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kauri Park Motel(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
$95
$92
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveler rating
21
55
29
8
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
55
29
8
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspizzathe pubrooms are smallglass of wineboarroom was cleancooked breakfasthotel barfriesseafoodlive musicclassic kiwigreat atmospherelarge showerhokianga harbourkauri treeslovely location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 129 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Opononi resort hotel is a good location for exploring that area and the kuari forests. Room was clean and quaint with whitewashed furniture, but could use a little sprucing (like the hole in our wall). Big shower with great water pressure and hot water. Toilet area a little cramped. Bed comfortable. Our room looked out to bay with a great view, but with the view comes noise from the road. Didn't bother us since the road isn't busy at night. You can also hear other guests if they are loud, but again, at night everything was quiet.
The only real con is that the food at the bar and restaurant really isn't great, but very convenient. I would probably try the take-away place on the other side and just get drinks from the bar.
If I needed to stay in the area again I would definitely consider this place, but it seemed that there might be other options that aren't on trip advisor also worth looking into. Overall, not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElKochan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Nice and clean but very small rooms. Good location if you would like to go for sand boarding at the oposite dunes and visiting the beautiful Kauri forest. The i-site office is also next door. Very positive is the adjecent restaurant which surprises with really good food and presentation of it as well as with the size of the meal. Also nice the pub wich is again next to the restaurant with pool tables, darts and good beers. Special hint: do the Footprint Waipoua tour while you are there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernd_Wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

From the outside this hotel seems average, but the rooms are really nice and luxurious. Our room was all in white with a ceiling fan and air-conditioning unit. It had double french doors that opened onto the courtyard (which is nothing special -- a parking lot and the outdoor seating for the restaurant). But there is a nice private deck to sit on. The bathroom is very nice with a wonderful shower, high end towels, and very clean. The restaurant associated with the hotel serves good food, and you can bill the food to your room. The hotel is across the street from the water, and a beautiful view of the harbor. The original building serves as the bar and late-night hangout place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We found this lovely Hotel after a very long day of driving down from the Far North and 4hrs of horse riding at Herekino, Kaitaia. It was late when we arrived all we wanted was a long hot shower and a comfortable bed - and we got exactly that. We were accommodated in a lovely all white room over looking the Hokianga Harbour. The next day we got up late and decided to explore the region but before we left we decided that it was so lovely there we would stay an extra night. When we got back from a long day of exploring the wonderful walks amongst the Kauri trees and along the beautiful beaches we had a wonderful dinner in the pub, a couple of drinks and few rounds of darts. The dinner was devine, the atmosphere of the pub was wonderful and so were the young staff who were great fun. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms over looking the harbour. The little balcony is lovely to sit on in the evening to watch the comings and goings of the locals.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maree T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed one night on our ten day holiday...weather was bad ...wind and rain but the Hotel was warm and inviting.We were the only guests and had the front room overlooking the sea...great view.The room was furnished to a high quality.The Bar where we had dinner was warm and cosy ,,,open fire...good beer great pizza .Nice Hotel ...staff were helpful and reasonable prices

Room Tip: Ask for one of the front rooms overlooking the sea
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwigaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews