We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Opononi Beach Takeaways
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Opononi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Yeppoon, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

After a drive in the country we stopped to stretch our legs and ordered coffee, cake and ice cream. We weren't disappointed with the hokey pokey ice cream divine. The fruit cake was also excellent and all reasonably priced. The beautiful views made up for the unpleasant, gusty wind. Next time we will have the fish & chips!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb_C630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    29
    4
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Great place to have Fish and Chips. Right on the waterfront, awesome to watch the local kids doing jumping off the wharf, doing "bombs". Also nice to see and have an egg burger with a runny yolk.

Helpful?
Thank muddles69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst fish and chip ever”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

After a long drive from Auckland a feed of fish and chips would have hit the spot. The fish was dry, frozen I suspect, and tasted horrible. After 2 mouthfuls, with tomato sauce on I ended up spitting out the third mouthful. If it had not been for the hot dog I would have been starving. I wanted to cry afterward. I was very relived the 4 square was open so I could buy ice cream and strawberries.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fish n Chups at the famous Opononi takeaway shop”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We heard about this fish and chip shop from our daughter and thought we'll try it out when we visited the Hokianga area this week.
We bought fish and chips for two after a long day out and it was one of the best fish and chip meals we have had. The service was friendly and helpful and we only paid under $15 for our meal which was massive - two large pieces of perfectly cooked beer battered fresh fish with crispy fries with tartare sauce and tomato sauce on the side - a very ordinary fat laden meal but one of the best I have had in a long time. The meal was so much nicer than the fancy fish of the day with French fries and salad meal I had at our hotel which cost us around $25 + GST a day before.

They also serve a range of icecreams, smoothies, hot and cold drinks and a lot of choices of burgers etc. available.

On our second day, we were not meaning to eat at the same place but the fancier place next door was filled to the brim with Melbourne cup watchers when we popped in for a late lunch. So we had no alternative but to visit the Fish and Chip shop again.

We had fish burgers which were delightful with heaps of fish (at least 4 or 5 pieces. with lettuce, tomato and beetroot in a warm bun with sauces) and it was delightful and very good value for money at $6.50 a burger. We also had potato wedges with sour cream. I found the wedges to be over-fried unlike the chips of yesterday.

Overall, its a lovely place to stop by and have a meal if you are passing Opononi which is between Dargaville and Rewene.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AKBNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
282 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fish burger”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

While visiting the Hokianga region recently, we stopped at the Opononi Beach Takeaways for lunch. It's a popular place judging by the number of customers there. Both my husband and I had an Opo burger each. Wow what a burger! Filled with dressing and the usual salad components and oodles of beautifully cooked battered fish. We definitely recommend this little shop if you're passing through Opononi.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wendhmagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opononi Beach Takeaways also viewed

Opononi, Northland Region
 
Omapere, Northland Region
Omapere, Northland Region
 

Been to Opononi Beach Takeaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing