We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stop off Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Opononi Lighthouse Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Opononi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Narbonne, France
Level Contributor
123 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good stop off Location”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Quiet location with a small sandy/pebbly beach across a small road. The accommodation was okay but the one night on the way North was enough. Shops & bars within walking distance. Free WiFi as long as you don't download.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodilly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    72
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
66
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
361 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Although the motel is a bit dated, our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The owner was friendly and helpful. Opononi itself is very small and the shops, such as they are, are just a short drive away. We decided to use the motel's BBQ during our visit. All in all a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: We got there early and got a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidH118WH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We arrived late afternoon and were really pleased to have found somewhere so nice. The spa was great after travelling in a hot car for hours. The rooms were really nice and well equipped. The bed was comfortable and everything was clean . I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkBonBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This motel is very neat and clean - a little dated in the bathroom (very little vanity space) but everything one needed to be self sufficient and a short walk from the village with its pub/restaurant/general store, takeaways and wharf(and RSA) Another lovely NZ seaside village (we do them well !!)
The hosts were friendly - we had little interaction with them but they were there for a chat and info if needed. .
Nice to have a deck - unit 6 does get a view down the drive to the sea. Will try for that room next time. A comfortable queen bed. The TV is the size of a computer screen but surprisingly viewable. The free wifi was appreciated. The units were serviced daily
The walls are thin but it is not a problem if other guests respect fellow travellers and keep the noise down.
An enjoyable stay. The price of $150 per night was probably at the top end for its type.

Room Tip: Unit 6 has a view from the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I arrived at OLM quite late but Brent was unbelievably welcoming and accomodating. I only stayed here one night but I am absolutely sure I will stay here again. I'm not sure if I'm telling too many people about a little gem here, but you will go a long way to finding somewhere so beautiful & relaxing. The view from the cafe for breakfast near the lookout was wonderful. Thank you Gareth for the tip!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertBalaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

At the last minute I changed our accommodation from 1 bed to 2 bed unit and Debbie, the owner, was extremely helpful. The unit was well furnished with comfortable beds and good quality bed linen. It was also very clean and well equipped for the three of us. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Brent, the co owner who showed us the unit, and also gave us plenty of local information. There was a hot tub and BBQ to use plus a laundry and books and games etc. The motel was obviously well cared for and in an excellent condition and excellent location right opposite the sand dunes and across the road from a lovely sandy beach. We had a spacious verandah to use and found other travellers friendly and quiet.

Both Debbie and Brent made themselves available at all times and advised on good places to visit and to eat. FRee Wifi was an added bonus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hulberthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

What a beautiful village and a great place to stay. The room was clean and well equipped. The owners were very friendly and helpful at all times. I enjoyed the spa too. The motel is close to everything in tis charming village.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dotcrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opononi
1.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga
0.3 mi away
Opononi Hotel Limited
Opononi Hotel Limited
#1 of 2 in Opononi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
2.2 mi away
Waiotemarama Falls Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park
19.4 mi away
Birdsnest Holiday Home
Birdsnest Holiday Home
#7 of 12 in Dargaville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
20.1 mi away
Pupu Rangi Nature Sanctuary
Pupu Rangi Nature Sanctuary
#11 of 12 in Dargaville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opononi Lighthouse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opononi Lighthouse Motel

Property: Opononi Lighthouse Motel
Address: 45 State Highway 12, Opononi, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Opononi
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Opononi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Opononi Lighthouse Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A motel in a tropical setting, 20 metres from the beach. Clean, comfortable rooms in a quiet location close to local shops & restaurants 450m. Central location to explore the Hokianga region including the Waipoua Forest and Tane Mahuta. Beautiful views from the front of the property. Self-contained units with sea and garden views. One and two bedroomed units, 2 studio units, (one with wheelchair access). Motel amenities include a spa pool, under cover BBQ area, guest laundry. Free wifi on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Opononi Lighthouse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing