We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough
Ranked #1 of 2 Southborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Innkeeper's Lodge is the lodging part of a lovely country gastropub - 'The Hand and Sceptre'. I stayed here with my husband for just Saturday night in order to visit friends in the area. The whole place is decorated in a contemporary style, which works surprisingly well with this historic building, which overlooks the village green (cricket) and common. On check-in, we were greeted by charming member of staff who was efficient friendly and helpful. Our double room was compact but very pleasantly decorated - the bathroom was especially bright and clean and I appreciated the complimentary toiletries. We made use of the in-room tea/coffee facilities too. Our room (no 3) was quiet and we both slept well in the comfy bed. Breakfast was very plentiful and included lots of choice from cereals, toast and spreads, croissants/pastries, muffins and fresh fruit accompanied by a selection of teas, fresh coffee and fruit juices. The dining room itself was bright and clean and made for a lovely way to end our stay. There was another member of staff in quiet attendance looking after things discreetly, but efficiently. Whilst we decided to have the continental included in the room rate, it is possible to upgrade to a full cooked breakfast as the couple of the next table did, which looked lovely! All in all I would recommend The Innkeepers Lodge to others.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The Hand & Sceptre, Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 160 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here overnight as we were visiting family in Tunbridge Wells. Cannot fault the facilities. We were the only guests and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
Rooms are clean and well appointed, bed is very comfortable.
Very reasonably priced and breakfast was included and adequate.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room that doesnt face the main road as it could be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkJones63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

We are so pleased to hear that you found The Hand & Sceptre, Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Booked two rooms - a double and a family room - to visit family in Tunbridge Wells and requested as quiet rooms as possible. Unfortunately, whilst the noise from the pub itself was not particularly disruptive, we had been allocated the two rooms immediately opposite the access door, meaning that each noisy guest returning to their rooms during the night disturbed us as they came in the door, talking/shouting and banging the doors. This happened several times into the early hours and resulted in very disrupted sleep for us all.
The rooms were ok, but the beds very small, not sure even standard double. Breakfast was ok, though we had to rush to make it for the 10am finish time, having had such a bad night's sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonVisitor45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to our Innkeepers Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I will be using this place again as I stay in the area often with work. excellent food, very nice modern room and good value accomodation. Big free car park with welcoming log fires in the bar. Continental breakfast or you can pay a little extra for cooked version. A great find just out side t.wells.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruairi786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at The Hand and Sceptre, Innkeeper's Lodge, Tunbridge Wells , and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

A 15 person family reunion was arranged 9th of November at the hotel ,
Good value accommodation, and facilities.
Dinner was arranged to be held in the private dinning room, the food was of a good standard congratulations to the chef,
Now the real spoiler to our visit
The duty manager of the Bar /Restaurant Mr Craig Lawrence was exceptionally rude to the hotel guests. My 20 year old grandson Harry was ask for his ID no great problem, but we were eating at the time in the bar. at great expense .
He showed his Uni student identity , this duty manager said this is not you in the photo, Harry's father said yes it is, and the manager walked away no apologies given.Half an hour later Harry was again asked for his ID by the same Craig Lawrence ask why, he was told to drink up and get out. Harry's father and his cousin in law went to speak to this Craig Lawrence, and told him his manner was not what hotel guests expect from the manager, he replied "hotel guests were not his concern". I have written to the Head Office to complain but received no reply, Would we go there again for another family reunion NO

Room Tip: There aren't any, they are all small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

We’re sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit to The Hand and Sceptre, Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough. Thank you for raising this with us, we really value all guest feedback, and we are working closely with the staff to ensure that this doesn't happen again. It is our aim to give every guest the very best service we can, and we have replied to you personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a business trip with colleagues from Spain. The hotel was good value, welcoming and friendly. The staff were very nice and the food was good. the rooms are good value if not a little small, but only a litle...

The log fire was a welcome retreat in the bar before dinner.

Breakfast was great with lots of choice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you for your recent review, It was good of you to take the time to leave your feedback following your visit to The Hand and Sceptre, Innkeeper's Lodge, Tunbridge Wells.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We went down to Tunbridge Wells for the weekend of the October half term to visit our son who lives there. We stayed at The Hand and Sceptre as it is close to his house. We stayed in room 15 which was at the top of the hotel. It was a bit on the small side but had everything that we needed. We had a nice view over the town. We ate in the restaurant on the Friday night after our trip down, it cost us £90 but that was for 3x 3courses with 2 rounds of drinks, I didnt think this was that bad for "down South" and the food was a very high standard! The staff were polite and efficient in all departments and nothing was too much trouble.

We travelled into London early on the Saturday morning and the complimentary breakfat set us up for the day. It had everything you would expect ie cereals, toast, cheeses. fruit, yoghurts juice and tea/coffes even marminte, which I love! After our son (who was acting as our guide) literally walked the feet off us it was really lovely to return to "our" little home in the south and have a quick shower then just relax in the comfortable couches/chairs in the bar!

We really enjoyed our stay and will happily stay here again when we return in the New Year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The Hand and Sceptre, Innkeeepr's Lodge, Tunbridge Wells . Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southborough
2.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
907 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
2.3 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Smart and Simple Hotel
Smart and Simple Hotel
#10 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
228 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
238 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Camden Arms
The Camden Arms
#1 of 2 in Pembury
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough

Address: London Road | The Hand & Sceptre, Southborough, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 0QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Southborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Southborough
Price Range: $93 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst some of the prettiest villages in Kent, Innkeeper's Lodge Southborough offers characterful yet convenient accommodation in the Royal Tunbridge Wells area.Dating back to 1728, this beautifully restored lodge is a lovely place to unwind - whether you're attending a conference at the Camden Centre or simply enjoying the best of what the Garden of England has to offer. Grab a seat on the pub's terrace and you might even catch a game of cricket on the picturesque Southborough green.Inside, you'll find both period charm and modern luxury aplenty. There are 14 comfy rooms a cosy, stylish pub serving fresh, seasonal food and top-drawer drinks.Southborough, a bustling little town with a 75-acre common, is a perfect base for exploring nearby attractions. There's Groombridge Place, a moated manor house with a secret garden, and museum devoted to the works of Sherlock Holmes creator, Arthur Conan Doyle. Equally worth exploring are the 125 acres of beautiful gardens around Hever Castle, or the English wines at Lamberhurst Vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hand And Sceptre, Innkeeper`s Lodge
The Hand & Sceptre, Innkeeper`s Hotel Southborough
Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough Kent, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing