We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hand & Sceptre - Tunbridge Wells, Kent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough
Ranked #1 of 2 Southborough B&B and Inns
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hand & Sceptre - Tunbridge Wells, Kent”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel was easier enough to find and offered a big car park. When we arrived it was very busy in the bar and from what I could see the bar staff had to serve and also do check-ins. We had already waited a while by the check-in sign but the guy at the bar hadn't even noticed us then a girl caught us by the eye and told him, there were people waiting to check-in. He came up to us and said ''are you here to check-in?'' I thought that would have been obvious that we were considering the suitcases with us but yes, we told him; were here to check-in. He said he would be a few minutes and went back to serve someone else on the bar. The payment went fine and he told us about breakfast times etc but did not mention anything about Wi-Fi. The other shock was only continental was included, a full English was another £7.95 on top! When we got to our room, the entrance was very narrow and the room wasn't the biggest in the world, you had a small space either side of the double bed and some by the front but the shuffle came to mind when getting past my partner. The bathroom was in good shape but didn't have a big enough bin. We unpacked and went down to the bar, we had hope to order but overheard people saying they had waited an hour and 20 minutes for there food, we weren't going to do that! I found the bed very hard and pillows went flat as soon as you put your head down, I think they need replacing.
Breakfast was nice although my partner had hoped to have a full English but we stuck with the breakfast on offer. There was a variety of choice which worked for me.
This hotel was good and not all bad but I would of liked to have been told what was around that you could go do, how far was it to walk to town etc all the questions that guests outside of the area don't know. I didn't know check-out times but found it in the information in our room which was 12 noon. Overall a average stay, not all bad but it wouldn't be my first choice again. I didn't think anyone really went out of their way to offer that amazing customer service!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzie_29_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Tunbridge Wells
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    47
    42
    17
    7
See reviews for
37
68
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

It should become obvious from reading previous reviews that the size of room varies. Unfortunately we were placed in one of the second floor rooms which are in the roof space. (If possible avoid Rooms 11-15). The rooms are small and in hot weather such as we have had recently very, very hot. The hotel is situated next to a busy road and to eliminate this, there is secondary glazing. However, because of the high temperatures it is essential to have the windows open and thus our stay was a very noisy one with constant traffic throughout the night and the clock on the nearby church chiming every quarter of an hour. At a generous estimate we might have had three hours sleep and woke up somewhat bad tempered which was exacerbated because the night away was supposed to be a birthday treat. We are still in dispute with the hotel about an overcharging matter. Having said this the hotel is well situated and the rooms very clean.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms on the second floor which are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visitor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had our son's christening celebration in the function room here last year.

It was fantastic - Anderson was extremely helpful in the run-up to the event and although he was away on the date itself, the assistant manager and colleagues did a fantastic job.

We were allowed to access the room early in the morn to set up the cake etc. The finger food buffet we had was yummy. I was worried that there wouldn't be enough food, but there was plenty and we even got to take home the remaining food which we had for dinner that evening.

As we had quite a few babies there, we were able to use the upper level for playing/toys etc. Also it was really useful to have the ladies facilities so near.

Overall it was a great venue and a good space for 50 or so guests. Highly recommended - thank you Anderson and team!

Clare :)

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust-Weddings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Where do we begin, well, we had a wedding venue cancel on us, which meant that the venue, cars, cake, hotel and every thing was gone, so trying to find a hotel at the last minute with serveral rooms was becoming a mission. And so enter The Innkeeper's Lodge. I mean wow. Anderson, you are such a professional, you provided us with a modest room and allowed the bridesmaids to use the facilites whilst their rooms where made ready. The Breakfast was perfect and the friendly staff where very attentive. We would highly recommend a stay here.

On a person note, Thousand, Many thanks to you, Anderson

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FandBCulver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Bar & restaurant was well decorated, warm & welcoming. Meal was very nice but quite pricey & food took ages to arrive after ordering. We stayed for one night. The room nice, just right for our needs, nice view, clean but found it hard to sleep due to the traffic noises. Thought room was slightly overpriced though. Breakfast was good, wuth lots of fruit, breads & cereal to choose from.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emirates-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights, nice big room, was cleaned to high standard and staff were friendly and helpful. Only minor thing was the bed was a bit small but fine for a couple of nights. V nice food in the bar/restaurant too, again service was good here too.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Keep up the good work! Everything was great! Not one fault to be found! All the staff were a great help and the food is second to none! The location of this hotel is perfect for my commute its in between Tonbridge and Tunbridge wells! As I work in both this is ideal! I also love to watch the cricket on the green across the round which you can see from the restaurants patio and my room .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palace88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southborough
2.3 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
670 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
#13 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Smart and Simple Hotel
Smart and Simple Hotel
#10 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
226 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
859 reviews
2.6 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough
Address: London Road | The Hand & Sceptre, Southborough, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 0QB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Southborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Southborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst some of the prettiest villages in Kent, Innkeeper's Lodge Southborough offers characterful yet convenient accommodation in the Royal Tunbridge Wells area.Dating back to 1728, this beautifully restored lodge is a lovely place to unwind - whether you're attending a conference at the Camden Centre or simply enjoying the best of what the Garden of England has to offer. Grab a seat on the pub's terrace and you might even catch a game of cricket on the picturesque Southborough green.Inside, you'll find both period charm and modern luxury aplenty. There are 14 comfy rooms a cosy, stylish pub serving fresh, seasonal food and top-drawer drinks.Southborough, a bustling little town with a 75-acre common, is a perfect base for exploring nearby attractions. There's Groombridge Place, a moated manor house with a secret garden, and museum devoted to the works of Sherlock Holmes creator, Arthur Conan Doyle. Equally worth exploring are the 125 acres of beautiful gardens around Hever Castle, or the English wines at Lamberhurst Vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hand And Sceptre, Innkeeper`s Lodge
The Hand & Sceptre, Innkeeper`s Hotel Southborough
Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough Kent, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing