We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Breakfast Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Horizon Restaurant

The Horizon Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 44 Restaurants in Fergus
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

The breakfast here is wonderful. The country fried potatoes are made how they should be made. The waitstaff was friendly and efficient.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    24
    3
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fergus, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best Breakie around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

this is the best Breakie restaurant around! huge portions ! great waitresses ...the chicken on a pita is to die for and the soups are amazing!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jannieannie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Do not support this chef/owner!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I have been long time customers since this restaurant opened and have never had a problem. We love the one server Debbie. But just a few weeks ago we went for drinks with a few friends before an event we were attending and decided to order something to split just to tie us over. The owner/chef (he has a stronger accent) came out of the kitchen after we ordered and asked if we were actually splitting the food. We said yes thinking nothing of it and he gave us this dirty look turned around a mumbled "I'm not making that order". We thought well that was rude and continued sitting there. Then our server came up to us and said "I'm sorry but I guess the chef isnt making your food???" The server was so confused and apologized. We were livid! Couldnt believe it!!! Needless to say we will never be going back and either will our friends and family in the community. This owner needs some serious help and should be closing his restaurant if he hates his life/job that much to treat his customers that way.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
19 Thank acdctravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best food in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I no longer live in Fergus. But I make a point of when ever I come back to town in going to this place. It is hands down the best food in town. Large portions, good quality and good prices.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James1394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good family food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We really like this place. Friendly staff, great soup, food and prices. The specials are HUGE, it's two meals for me. You get soup or salad and a large portion of your main meal. When you order fries, you get a huge serving. A burger alone is enough for me. I usually order from the small appetites and seniors section, just the right size. Desserts ...large variety of cakes (think cheese) and pies. Homemade rice pudding sometimes. We go as a couple and with friends (5 people), never had a bad meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mgmmm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Horizon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Horizon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing