We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stonehurst B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fergus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stonehurst B&B
Ranked #1 of 8 Fergus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Although our schedule only permitted us to stay one night at Stunehurst, we felt really comfortable and at home there. We chose this B&B because of all teh good reviews and finally it's our turn to write such a review because Stonehurst is an excellent place to stay - even for just one night.

We were given the access code in case we'd arrive late and had the chance to go for a swim in the pool a few minutes after arriving. We were recommended some great restaurants in walking distance and enjoed the great breakfast the next morning. We even got some recommendations for the following day including the directions to find the place.

If we make it back to Fergus one day, we'll definitely stay at Stonehurst again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    8
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
74
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southern, Ontario
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We seldom return to the same location for a holiday. However Stonehurst and it's owners make it impossible to stay away. The lovely yard, with it's inviting pool and shaded deck keep you from wandering. Some might say that it is the tasty chocolate chip cookies outside your room that keep you close to Stonehurst.
Nice size rooms that are meticulously clean, with lovely ensuite bathrooms and noise free air conditioners and incredibly comfortable mattresses, make sleeping easy.
Thank you for making our visit so perfect.
Regards. Richard and Edna Kelly

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BSCSkiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Stonehurst B&B is a perfect place to stay, with all the comforts of home. The grounds are wonderfully kept and the home is tastefully decorated. Rich and Deb are gracious and accommodating hosts, making sure our needs were met, which made our first stay at a B&B most enjoyable. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful, the room cozy yet spacious. We would highly recommend the Stonehurst to anyone travelling to Fergus area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff_Arden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Stonehurst B&B! We found the host, Deb, to be most friendly and welcoming. We were immediately shown around the house and made to feel at home. We appreciated the several spaces to lounge in, including the huge yard, pool, hot tub and garden. We stayed in the rose room which was very comfortable! Breakfast was delicious and, again, the service by Deb outstanding! The only reason I can't give this an "Excellent" rating, and this is my only critique, is that we (nor the other guests) could not access wifi from our room, we had to go to the main floor, which is quite an inconvenience!

Room Tip: The Rose Room is wonderful with a queen size bed and a jet tub, 2 large windows so lots of light and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our sales team travels to Fergus every July to attend the Fergus Truck Show - and each year we book all four rooms at Stonehurst for our team. Over the years, the Fergus Truck Show has become one of our favourite events of the year as we all enjoy staying at Stonehurst so much. The bedrooms are beautiful, there is lots of space for us to have a team meeting before/after the show, the breakfasts are delicious and we love that we can come back after a long day at the show to relax on the deck and have a swim/hot-tub. Deb & Rich are fantastic hosts and always go above and beyond to make sure that we have everything we need. Thanks to you both for another great stay - we look forward to seeing you again next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

When your children choose to be married away from the comforts of home, where to stay can be a challenge. We drove around Fergus and Elora checking out B & B's and finally decided on the Stonehurst. Patients from the Fergus hospital who had had family stay there said it was great. Thanks to Rich and Debra for making us feel so at home and putting up with all the mess the day of the wedding as we rushed off to the church. The breakfast you served was amazing and perfect...the rooms were immaculate and so comfortable. We had a wonderful stay!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ont. Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were in Fergus a few days ago and had the good fortune to get a room at The Stonehurst B&B. We stayed in THE GREEN ROOM. The room was beautiful with a very comfy bed and well appointed ensuite. THe Home is Lovely with Two large verandahs that face the street, just lovely to sit there and have a cup of tea or a glass of wine and watch the strollers go bye. There is an assortment of teas and juice and freshly baked cookies. Debra is a wonderful and friendly hostess and we got info on the surrounding areas. There is a very inviting swimming pool a hot tub and exercise room. The gardens on the property are beautifully maintained. We had a lovely conversation with Debra in the morning, she is warm and friendly and made us a delicious breakfast. We could not have asked for anything better. Thanks Debra, your hard work pays off, you have a B&B that is beautiful,one which you can be truly proud.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw looked lovely,we were in the Green Room, Queen Size,It looked out on the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissaC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fergus
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fergus Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Village Inn Elora
16.4 mi away
Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Guelph
14.6 mi away
Days Inn Guelph
Days Inn Guelph
#7 of 13 in Guelph
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Van Galis Cafe & Inn
Van Galis Cafe & Inn
#4 of 8 in Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehurst B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehurst B&B

Property: Stonehurst B&B
Address: 265 St David St S | Ontario, Fergus, Ontario N1M 2L6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Fergus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Fergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stonehurst B&B is the perfect place to stay when you visit and explore the Fergus/Elora and Centre Wellington Area. Open all Year. Intimate Weddings, Weekend escapes, Small meetings, Business Travelers. Our Bed and Breakfast can accommodate the business traveler with early morning breakfast service, wireless computer connections, fax & internet access, as well as local phone calls. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stonehurst B&B Fergus, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing