We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should have listened to other reviews”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fergus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Breadalbane Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Fergus B&B and Inns
brampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Should have listened to other reviews”
Reviewed October 16, 2009

My husband and I were really looking forward to our mid week getaway. We had planned it for a few weeks and even took the time to drive to the Inn. We thought we knew what we were getting into.

The good points:
Liked location - went to walk & visit local shops (Elora & Fergus)
Breakfast was awesome - no denying the value you there
Carriage rooms spacious (Inn rooms smaller)

Back points:
Wireless internet access NOT at all reliable
TV's Old and very small in many rooms
Food in Inn average - not first class / fine dining material

Problems:
Room booked had a gas leak to gas fireplace. Fireplace was the only source of heat. Management staff when showing us the room COMPLETELY ignored the smell and expected us to love the room. When mentioned the smell and indicated we could not start in the room - management was a bit annoyed with us. This was the start of what was to be a great get-a-way. It took 1/2 to find another room - bumping last guest booked out of theirs. No internet - bathroom robes were not put in our room either night.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank traveler_cin63bau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    34
    17
    8
    12
See reviews for
19
90
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

The room and service was everything that we thought that it would be. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. All the staff were very friendly and most accommodating. The young lady that took us to our room was very knowledgable about the history of the Inn and had some very interesting stories about the Inn. Our full dinner was included with the cost of our stay, and it was delcious. The chef has a flair for presentation of food and meal was beyond anything that we have had elsewhere. Breakfast was also included in our stay. We were surprised that we had a full breakfast. The perfect way to start our day and to end our stay. We look forward to our return to The Breadalbane Inn and would highly recommed it all our friends, so much so that they will be getting gift certificates for Christmas presents.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bossko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We stayed at this inn during a bike trip along the Elora - Cataract Trial. We were two couples travelling together and we had a completely positive experience. We were able to lock our bikes up on the other couples' balcony and felt that they were perfectly safe for the night. Being on a tighter budget, we opted for a smaller room. However, after we showered and had an after biking rest, we noticed that the fan in the kitchen below was making a load noise (turns out the bearings were gone.) We brought this to the attention of the staff, who immediately offered us a larger suite. The customer service to solve this problem was very good. The new room was absolutely beautiful! We really enjoyed it.
Our supper (included in the very reasonable package price) was excellent, consisted of fine local ingredients from local farms. Breakfast also was very, very, good and very filling (since we had a long bike ride ahead.)
I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LauraPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrie
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

I travelled on business to Fergus for severak nights, and chose this location as is sounded quiet and was in town. Also it was listed in the Ontario Inn's and Spa guide, which is usually reliable.
My room was very small, no dresser. Two people could not have existed in that room for any length of time. Definately just a place to sleep. It was at the back of the main building, and the smells of grease from the kitchen below was often overwhelming. As an avid cook, I like the smell of cooking, but not a fryer. There is an air conditioner mounted in the wall, which was so loud it sounded like a plane engine. You could not sleep with it on, and if you opened the windows to get air, the stench of the kitchen grease was awful.

This inn has no amenities, so plan to just sleep there. The town is nice to walk around, but that takes all of a hour.

There are two restaurants at the Inn- one is a pub, the other a more traditional style dining room with a beautiful solarium area and patio. The food is OK, but not great. The wine is outrageously over priced. The two restaurants share their menus, so you can eat from either menu in either establishment.
The pub does good local business with the local population - nachos and chicken wings etc seemed popular - hence the smell of grease from the kitchen. I ate in the dining room one night, and was the only person there. The staff in the pub are young and very friendly. The manager comes across as rather pompous.
Breakfast was included, but is not offered until 8:00 am, which was too late for me. From other reviews it was not a great breakfast.
Overall, not somewhere I would go back to, and definately not worthy of being in the same league as other ontario inn's I have stayed at.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelingcouple03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2009

This was our second visit to the Breadalbane, the first was a couple of years ago and it was lovely. This second visit will definitely be our last.

We decided to venture up to Fergus again this weekend, ostensibly to celebrate our wedding anniversary but also to scout for a meeting/incentive venue for a group.

We got the same room as the last time, it was very nice but impossible to see to read or do makeup as all the lights were very low wattage.

We went to dinner and were given the wine list, all the wines were from Ontario. We like a few Ontario wines but none of them were on the list, so we asked if they had wines from anywhere else. The waitress said there was one red wine from Australia but we don't like Shiraz much. We settled for a 2006 VQA which was undrinkable, but the waitress said she couldn't do anything about it as the bottle was open. We had made the mistake when tasting, of thinking that it needed to breathe a bit, but what it really needed was to choke to death.

The dinner was not a good experience. A huge pan of mussels arrived for the first course, about 10 of which were not open - we commented on that and were told it was normal for some not to open - that's as may be, but you don't serve them to a client, they could get really ill! My husband ordered a fish cake which was stone cold but tasty.

Then my husband's steak was really overcooked, although ordered Medium Rare. I had finished my (nice) meal by the time the second steak arrived, and it was a lot smaller than the original, however was cooked correctly. The manager gave us a $25.00 voucher towards our next visit and then gave us a bill for $92.00 for two bottles of wine, the undrinkable of which we brought home to have analyzed by the winery. The mark up on our second bottle of wine was over 400% and we had to order it from the adjoining pub, also owned by the Inn.

Breakfast the next day was a fiasco, my husband was served a "Breakfast" sausage that was part hot dog and part chorizo, absolutely disgusting. Again, by the time the replacement meat (ham) arrived, I had finished my meal (eggs benedict, I gave half to my husband, they were good).

Our bill for one night, a lousy dinner and mediocre breakfast was over $400.00. Needless to say, the $25.00 voucher went in the garbage where it belonged.

The thing that got us most annoyed was the incredibly superior attitude of the venue and manager. Turns out there is another wine list, with wines that are not VQA, the prices are for the most part outrageous in the region of $300.00 to $600.00 for a bottle of wine that costs less than a quarter of that in the LCBO.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank VenueScouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
753 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 791 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2008

Fergus is a bit off the tourist beaten track and we ventured here on an alternative route from Niagara to Toronto with little information in our guide book other than a mention that it was an area which had Scottish founders and where you would quite possibly come across Amish people. The roads are barely sign-posted (just numbers) and we drove aimlessly for many miles looking for some directional road signs before buying a detailed map at a filling station to find out where we were!

The town is small and the Breadalbane Inn is a historic property which is located on one of the main streets. Our room was in an extension attached to the main building but we could see that lodge style cottages had also been added beyond the car park area. We were shown 3 rooms by a welcoming hostess - all decorated individually and we opted for the Ariel Dyer suite as it was the most spacious of those available. The room was on the first floor, up an old wooden staircase which creaked like these always do in the movies but we didn’t come upon anyone brandishing a large knife!

It was decorated in “old-world” style however the structure was an unusual mix of old and new. The exposed stone wall on one side (possibly part of the old house) didn’t quite match the cabin-style wall opposite. There was a comfortable double bed, a couple of armchairs, coffee table and TV and a log/stove style fire which we didn’t quite figure out how to work! The ensuite had a terrific body-jet shower (which fires at all angles and gave us a great laugh trying to figure out if it had any controls) however it was housed in an unattractive plastic cabinet - again strange contrasts. We saw some other rooms when passing along the corridor whilst housemaids were working and at least one of these rooms in the original part of the house looked huge.

The dining room on the ground floor had a varied menu available for evenings/lunch however we had eaten too well during our travels and couldn’t justify the expense. We therefore dined in the pub area of the hotel - the Fergusson Room - which provided nice enough bar food but we weren’t overly impressed by the slow service (we think the waitress was being distracted by friends). There is nothing fancy about the surroundings here but it seemed popular with lots of locals. In the morning we had a very large breakfast in the conservatory area, just off the dining room and this was much more upmarket. The service and full cooked “Scottish” breakfast were both good. If we are back in the area we’d probably stay again, although choose one of the rooms more definitely in the old building or a cottage in the grounds.

Apart from a stroll around town which seemed to be geared up to provide everything practical for the surrounding rural population , a drink in the pub next to the bridge and a drive out to Lake Bellwood we didn’t get to savour much of the area. We did also see one Amish horse and carriage in our travels! We went cross-country back to Toronto stopping off en route at the excellent McMichael Canadian Art Collection at Kleinburg. This beautiful gallery houses lots of work of the Group of Seven artists and it was great to see so many of their original paintings.

  • Liked — It was quirky
  • Disliked — Could have given instructions for shower/fire
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rantin rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We spent one night here on our way back home. We were a "drop in" and called at the last minute to see if they had availability. We had been out all day, were hot, sticky, and somewhat bedraggled. When we called we were offered the George Fergusson room, double jacuzzi, double shower, fireplace, bathrobes, toiletries including q-tips and cotton balls (the kind of things you expect when you're paying good money for a room). Bed was very comfortable.

The room was perfect and matched the photos on the website. It was so nice to be able to shower and then soak in the hot tub (which you can do while watching TV if you so desire). We weren't paying attention when we turned on the hot-tub and even though the water mostly covered the jets we were treated to a jet stream of water that arced right over the tub and onto the floor (just do a double check on the nozzle position before you start it up). Used up some towels (which are plentiful) on that one. Instructions on the various knobs would be nice.

Breakfast was your choice of usual fare (omelets, pancakes, french toast, eggs benedict...) and is included in the rate - one of us had the vegetarian omelet and the other of us had pancakes. Both were excellent. We were tired and not pretty the night before so didn't do dinner at the restaurant but went to their pub next door. We had mango/goat cheese egg rolls and ribs. The egg rolls could have been dessert because they literally are just mango and goat cheese. Very nice.

When we went upstairs to our room the other vacant rooms were open so we could see what the other rooms looked like. They appear to be true to the photos. I can see where the other reviewer wouldn't care for the guest house - it would be a bit of a fish-bowl.

One note is that the inn charges a 10% additional fee - this is meant to cover tips to the service staff so you don't need to leave tips in your room.

The grounds are nice enough for a small property in town - but they don't generate the ooh, aaah of some of the more remote and larger inns. The breakfast area is very nice and buts up against a garden that is beautiful. But the rooms are wonderful and the inn ranks up there for a tie with number one for us for inns in Ontario that we've visited.

One last note for the light sleepers is that the floors are very creaky - you can hear the foot traffic in the hallway. Since the inn wasn't very busy when we were staying there it wasn't an issue and we didn't mind the odd passer-by. If you're a light sleeper you might want to try the rooms in the Carriage House.

We'll be back.

  • Liked — the beauty of the rooms
  • Disliked — all good
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fergus
3.0 mi away
The Village Inn Elora
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fergus Hotel
18.6 mi away
Millcroft Inn & Spa
Millcroft Inn & Spa
#1 of 1 in Alton
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Guelph
16.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Guelph
0.4 mi away
Van Galis Cafe & Inn
Van Galis Cafe & Inn
#4 of 8 in Fergus
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breadalbane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breadalbane Inn

Property: The Breadalbane Inn
Address: 487 Andrew St. West | Centre Wellington-Fergus/Elora, Fergus, Ontario N1M 1P2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Fergus
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Breadalbane Hotel Fergus
The Breadalbane Inn Fergus, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing