We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Memorable Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fergus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Breadalbane Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Fergus B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Memorable Experience”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

What a memorable and wonderful experience we enjoyed at the Breadalbane Inn!

It started with a warm and friendly welcome at the reception desk, followed by an informative introduction to the establishment and its heritage enroute to our beautifully appointed room appropriately named the Tippen Suite after a former Owner of the Inn.

We were presented dinner and breakfast menus providing a savory selection of options to choose from while seated in the Breadalbane's beautiful solarium dining room.

Our servers were insightful and knowledgeable of their menu and wine list. They provided good counsel on food and wine pairings.

If you are looking for a wonderful destination in a beautiful part of Ontario to enjoy great food, wine, accommodations and professional staff look no further then the Breadalbane Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergussinn, General Manager at The Breadalbane Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Peter,
thank you for your kind review. At The Breadalbane Inn we always look after offering the best customer service and experience for all our guests, we are happy to read you had such great experience.
Looking forward to having you here at the Breadalbane Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    34
    17
    8
    12
See reviews for
19
91
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Elmira, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Enjoyed our recent stay at the Breadalbane Inn. The McCatty suite was wonderful and more than met our expectations. We enjoyed a lovely dinner at the bistro and the dessert was an especially nice surprise. The staff was friendly and helpful and it was an enjoyable experience overall. We certainly appreciated their desire to satisfy their guests. We would recommend the Breadalbane Inn to others for a getaway stay.

Room Tip: Carriage house is quieter than main building and still close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergussinn, General Manager at The Breadalbane Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Ian,
thank you for your kind feedback.
We are really happy your stay exceeded your expectation because we really thrive on delivering great experience.
Looking forward to having you back at the Breadalbane Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Our experience at the Breadalbane Inn was absolutely fantastic! The food was excellent, the wine list was spectacular and the service was exceptional. We loved the warm, friendly atmosphere of the entire place and found all of the staff to be really polite and helpful. Our room was great too, it was clean and comfortable and we loved it's uniqueness and character. We will absolutely stay there again and recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergussinn, General Manager at The Breadalbane Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Treena,
thank you for your kind feedback and appreciation of our Breadalbane Inn.
We are very happy you enjoyed our stay and everything we have to offer, service and food.
We re looking to having you back at the Breadalbane Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Just AMAZING!

I had the opportunity to have a Saturday night out with some friends at Scozia. First I have to say that the service was second to none. Every staff encountered that night were friendly and eager to make our experience the best they had to offer. The food was even better than the service! I adore Italian food and have to say that it exceeded all of my expectations. As a group we sampled and shared several appetizers, entrees and desserts and each and every one was just delicious! The restaurant was busy when we were there and as a group of six people we were made to feel as though we were the only people in the restaurant. We were not rushed to order, eat, pay our bill like many restaurants will do on a busy Saturday night in order to turn over the table for other patrons to fill.

Scozia is a GEM! Looking forward to many more dinners and gatherings there in the near future!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Hrse_Grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergussinn, General Manager at The Breadalbane Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Hrse_Grl,
thank you for your kind feedback.
As you may know, we just recently change the concept of what used to be the Breadalbane Street Bistro to our new Italian restaurant Scozia, and being very proud of what we have to offer, your comment makes us proud of what we have been doing and the service you received.
Looking forward to having you at Scozia again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed for the Valentine's and tried the special menu. The food and wine pairing were excellent. The room had the vintage charm, but at the same time, were very clean with modern amenities. The service was exceptional, with smiles and friendly faces all around. The breakfast was perfect as well (try the frittata). Get yourself a couple of bottles of the salad dressing; it's delicious. We tried the spa as well, and received great service. But unfortunately, they did not have RMTs. The Inn is very close to Elora, where you can spend some time exploring the beautiful gorge and the charming downtown area.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Ariel room, which was great. The only problem was its proximity to the back door, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stati0naryTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergussinn, General Manager at The Breadalbane Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Stati0nary Traveller,
thank you very much for your kind feedback.
We are very happy to hear ho much you enjoyed your Valentine weekend with us with your stay and dinner. I agree that the Ariel room at times can be a bit noisy being located by the emergency exit in the back and the rooms in the Carriage House offer more quiet solution, please do not hesitate to ask our reservation agent for a room that can accommodate you at best.
Looking forward to having back at the Breadalaben Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

great place......it was my local fav.....great wings amazing service.....we ordered 4 sorbets...at 6 dollars a piece...says 2 scoops it was honestly less than a cup and it really wasnt that great......very misleading and I left feeling ripped off....manager must change this.....not a nice way to leave a restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergussinn, Regional Manager at The Breadalbane Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hello and thank you for your feedback on the dessert - we're pleased you like our pub so much and thanks for the kind words. It sounds like we didn't make this dessert correctly and I'm sorry for that - our portion sizes in the Fergusson Room should be value sized and we want you to leave feeling full every time! We'll revisit this dish with the chefs today and would love to invite you for a replacement dessert on us anytime. Try the legendary chocolate fudge cake - it won't let you down! Trevor Jones - 519-843-4770
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My wife and I were invited to help celebrate a surprise 65th birthday party based at the Inn. We assembled late afternoon and were transported by limo to the Wellington Brewery for a beer tasting. We then returned to the Inn for dinner which was excellent and followed by a Scotch tasting. The whole evening was well organised and a complete surprise including the showing a purpose made video as a celebration.
Next morning after a good nights sleep, in a suite, which was well appointed, we enjoyed Breakfast whilst watching the Canadian ice hockey team defeat Sweden for the Gold in Sochi.

Room Tip: The Coach house may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCurgenven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergussinn, Regional Manager at The Breadalbane Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words on your visit with us. It was our pleasure serving your group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fergus
3.0 mi away
The Village Inn Elora
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Fergus Hotel
18.6 mi away
Millcroft Inn & Spa
Millcroft Inn & Spa
#1 of 1 in Alton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Guelph
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Guelph
0.4 mi away
Van Galis Cafe & Inn
Van Galis Cafe & Inn
#3 of 8 in Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breadalbane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breadalbane Inn

Property: The Breadalbane Inn
Address: 487 St Andrew St W | Centre Wellington-Fergus/Elora, Fergus, Ontario N1M 1P2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Fergus
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Breadalbane Hotel Fergus
The Breadalbane Inn Fergus, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing