We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mill at Gordleton
Ranked #2 of 3 Hordle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
upavon
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“First Class!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Mill at Gordleton had been highly recommended to us and within ten minutes of arriving it was easy to see why. The hospitality of all the staff we met was outstanding; from the bar staff, the restaurant staff and the owner, all seemed determined to please.
Our room was clean, comfortable, well equipped and cosy. The shower was powerful and large - no having to squeeze into some cubicle designed for midgets! The bed was comfortable, although I prefer a duvet. I am sure that had I asked, one would have been produced, although at 1 o' clock in the morning my request would not have been reasonable, even in my consideration.
My wife and I had the full dinner menu and breakfast the following morning. The food was beautifully served and tasted delicious. I'd like to have stayed a week to taste the whole menu. The wine list was sensible, both in length and price.
I'm not surprised this is a popular venue for weddings; with such a delightful setting, beautiful gardens and such obliging and welcoming hosts. The Mill is a great find - we shall return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillandJanUpavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    69
    27
    13
    7
See reviews for
89
237
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

After a wonderful wedding anniversary here last December, we returned recently with friends for dinner and an overnight stop and The Mill was just as wonderful the second time around. The hotel is in beautiful gardens and has tasteful decor in all the rooms - the owner clearly has a great eye for detail. The restaurant has an interesting menu, good service and great food. All in all, a very enjoyable break - we'll be back again!

Room Tip: All the rooms vary in size and style with individual decor. Full details of individual rooms are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barkis87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Had a meal here on the recommendation of friend and was not disappointed. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and they even gave us chocolates on a "happy anniversary" iced plate! We both ate from the set evening menu which had a good choice, the lamb shanks were delicious and the exotic fruit pavlova was to die for. Thank you for a lovely evening

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kevsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Our daughter & husband ( sounds strange!) had their reception at the Mill last Sat 14th June. It was perfection I cannot speak highly enough of Lis & her staff it was faultless. The food was excellent as are the rooms & the gardens. We all agreed it is a magical place & that we could quite happily live there! A huge thank you to Lis & her team you are all amazing. Love Jules & Bob xxxx

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had our wedding here on the 22 May 2014. The most perfect day. The staff went out of their way to make our day so special, especially Teri who took all the stress away and made the proceedings run as smooth as silk. The wedding, held in the restaurant area, was beautiful, elegant and select. The post-wedding drinks and canapés on the terrace were delicious and of the highest quality and the wedding breakfast, held in the private dining room and taken from the a la carte menu was superb. Our hats of to the chef and the kitchen staff. We have travelled the world and stayed in many 5 star hotels but the accommodation, food, welcome and service was better than any we had experienced before. All the rooms, booked for ourselves and our guests were superbly appointed and tastefully decorated especially the 'Millars' suite. A truly wonderful gem hidden in the heart of the new forest. We highly recommend any visit here whether it is for a drink, lunch, dinner or special occasion. We will return.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms will not disappoint
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2014

It was our first visit to the Mill at Gordleton and we will definitely be back, We stayed in the suite which was wonderful - homely yet luxurious with the most amazing bathroom and very comfortable huge bed. We went for a walk before dinner in the beautiful garden next to the river and then had the most amazing dinner, with great food and wine and very attentive staff. And the next morning we had a wonderful breakfast to finish off our stay. I wish we had stayed all week!

Room Tip: Choose room 8 if you want a really special stay with a lovely view of the garden, Be aware the rive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

What a fabulous find, in the heart of the New Forest. We spent the Bank Holiday there, indulged in a suite, and dined extremely well each evening. We truly couldn't fault anything. Liz, who owns this magical bolthole, obviously cares passionately about ensuring her guests have a wonderful time and this goes for all her staff too. Set in beautiful gardens - housing a sculpture exhibition - with a river running through it, the Mill also has its own resident duck, called Crispie! Enjoying exquisite interiors, the Mill is popular with locals and visitors alike, with the restaurant full every night of our stay, and has a very happy atmosphere. We will be back!

Room Tip: The suite is roomy, beautifully decorated and with a fabulous bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheredah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hordle
1.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
714 reviews
2.0 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
439 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
4.3 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,801 reviews
7.0 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill at Gordleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill at Gordleton

Property: The Mill at Gordleton
Address: Silver Street, Hordle, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 6DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lymington > Hordle
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hordle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mill at Gordleton 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a pretty privately owned restaurant with 7 lovely individually decorated bedrooms, serving gorgeous local or organic food. We try not to be pretentious, preferring instead to be informal and friendly, but we are still totally committed to quality and service. But the best part of all is the river and rambling gardens, home to a family of ducks and if you are lucky you might even spot a Kingfisher! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Mill at Gordleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill At Gordleton Hotel Hordle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing