We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent....hospitality at its finest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mill at Gordleton
Ranked #1 of 3 Hordle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amersham
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent....hospitality at its finest”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We arrived to a very warm welcome and were shown to our room (7) which was wonderfully spacious, spotlessly clean and had little touches of bottled water, fresh fruit, biscuits and quality toiletries. The gardens are beautiful and a very tranquil place even when the restaurant and hotel are busy. All of the staff were impeccably polite with a discreet and efficient service. We only ate in the restaurant on one evening as we are attending a party locally on the other, and the food was delicious, perfectly cooked, plentiful and served in a proper manner. We retired to the bar after dinner for drinks, and with the warmth of the fire welcome after it turned a bit chilly, it was the perfect end to a lovely day. Breakfast is excellent with a good choice of cereal, yoghurts, juices and fruit and a good choice of cooked options. I was pleasantly surprised to find that tea is served as it should be with loose tea rather than tea bags. If you like the finer things in life, you will enjoy staying at this hotel where you are looked after extremely well with beautiful surroundings and delicious food. We can't wait to come and visit our friends again so that we can stay here.

Room Tip: We were in room 7 at the front of the hotel. We thought we may hear traffic as we had the windows op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    62
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
81
228
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here to break up a long journey and left wishing we had stayed for a few days. The grounds, complete with sometimes quirky sculptures, are beautiful and relaxing. The food was very good indeed and sitting on the terrace watching the sun disappear across the stream spanned by the Monet style footbridge was wonderful. Rooms are stylish clean and well laid out (Outdated? - no way), beds are comfortable and we slept soundly. We found all the staff very helpful and friendly and particularly enjoyed the excellent breakfast, followed by another walk round the grounds.
highly recommended for a special occasion, anniversary or just as a treat because, of course, you deserve it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank pauljoem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This was our second visit to the Mill at Gordleton and we had another fabulous experience. Beautiful grounds (despite the wet weather), delightful staff, a very attractive room and delicious and affordable meals in the restaurant. Sounds like perfection? Pretty close in fact. And we'll definitely be back...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summertime2010London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

What a lovely place really enjoyed gardens but very diserpointed with the food, very over priced the chef needs to taste the food, it is in need of seasioning and more flaviour.
Will be back but just for a drink to enjoy garden, if prices drop and food improves l will try the food again.

Room Tip: only eat did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axbridge
Level Contributor
158 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We spent 2 nights here recently and had an excellent time. The staff were without exception friendly and helpful, the food was also top quality with 3 different menus to choose from. The signature menu (a la carte) consisted of the Mill`s favourite dishes. We both chose the confit duck, I then had a blackberry souffle while my husband chose the prune and almond bakewell. The set menu changes weekly and from that we had plenty of choice and at £27-95 for 3 courses was good value. There was also a bar menu. The restaurant was full both nights and the bar was buzzing with locals as well as guests. The breakfast was excellent, the usual choices of fruits, yogurts, cereals and freshly-squeezed orange juice followed by a selection of cooked food with the best bacon I have tasted in a long time. Toast, croissants and home-made jams completed the meal.
Our room was nicely furnished, appeared to have been recently decorated and was spotlessly clean with a king-sized comfortable bed. It overlooked the lovely gardens and the mill stream.
The gardens are stunning, lots of corners to explore with the millstream running through and to add interest lots of sculptures by local artists were dotted around.
An excellent stay, a pity we didn`t have longer but we would definitely stay there again if we visit the New Forest in the future

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyGAxbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

A friend took me here on Sunday. My first visist. She had said it was beautiful but that hardly did the Mill justice. The hotel/bar/restaurant is set in stunningly kept grounds, where the Mill water hurries down stream and gardens are set around the waters. There is ample outdoor space to sit and eat, should the weather permit (they also have outdoor heaters for colder weather) and whilst doing, have the enviable views of the beautiful gardens, wonderful ornaments, blue tits, chaffinches, wrens swinging on hanging food trays, masses of daffodils and other spring flowers and the sweet sound of birds singing, but out of sight. Inside is just as wonderful. Beautifully decorated and furnished, so tasteful. The service was exemplary and we were made to feel totally pampered, which added to the enjoyment of our lunch. The food was excellent and we ended with an orange cheesecake which sent us into seventh heaven! A must have is the warm brown walnut and raisin bread that is brought before the meals - I could have just eaten them! I've lived in the area for 16 years and never knew this existed - what a shame, but now I've found it, I will be a regular visitor and will keep you updated as the seasons change.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodeoronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Great location just off the New Forest, but ask for a room on the rear or side as front road can be a bit noisey early in the morning. Superb food and reasonably priced and a real gem of a location not far from the coast and easy to explore into Lymington or cross on the ferry to the Isle of Wight for a day out.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ricard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hordle
1.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
2.0 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
7.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill at Gordleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill at Gordleton

Property: The Mill at Gordleton
Address: Silver Street, Hordle, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 6DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lymington > Hordle
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hordle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mill at Gordleton 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a pretty privately owned restaurant with 7 lovely individually decorated bedrooms, serving gorgeous local or organic food. We try not to be pretentious, preferring instead to be informal and friendly, but we are still totally committed to quality and service. But the best part of all is the river and rambling gardens, home to a family of ducks and if you are lucky you might even spot a Kingfisher! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Mill at Gordleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill At Gordleton Hotel Hordle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing