We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unsatisfactory” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mill at Gordleton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mill at Gordleton
Ranked #1 of 3 Hordle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Unsatisfactory”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We had great hopes for this restaurant because the setting was great as was the welcome. However the food was very underwhelming. Both dishes were served on stone cold plates. The food looked nice but the scallops were a poor replica of scallops and the prawns I believe were cooked from frozen. They had no taste. It is a shame that English restaurants do not travel to France to understand how proper food should be cooked and served. It would be nice to think that the owner and chef would take notice of this review because it is as honest as it can be.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cooperman503907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    59
    20
    11
    6
See reviews for
77
215
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
183 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Just spent one night with my wife and could not fault the Hotel at all. A warm welcome with tea and biscuits in our room, we had a few drinks in the cosy bar before sitting down to a delightful 3 course meal made entirely at the Hotel by the 7 chefs and using an abundance of local produce. The double room was confortable and clean with a nice shower and very soft bed overlooking the 2 acres of gardens. The meal cost £110 plus tip which for 3 courses with wine and a meal of that quality was very, very good value for money. The breakfast was great as well, overall the staff friendliness means we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BatWillow68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

A wonderful stay for a birthday treat. A huge thank you to Liz and her staff. Orchard room became our sanctuary for 48hrs and we really enjoyed replacing the calories we walked off in the Forest; passionfruit souffle was delicious!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Lovely weekend break to unwind after a hectic time. Hotel was lovely, clean, warm and welcoming, our room although was listed as a King actually was only a double but nonetheless was excellent.
Ate in the restaurant both evenings which was excellent, good service, varied menu and lovely ambience. I agree with some other comments regarding price but I didn't mind paying above average for this place.
Gardens are fantastic and well worth a stroll around.
I will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SM24412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Great location - beautiful spot in the countryside by a river ( hence the Mill in the title )
Great staff - attentive knowledgeable and very friendly without being overbearing
Good food - Decent wine selection but food was only good. Tempura prawns tasted "from frozen" and steak was only standard - expect better filet for my £30 but duck starter was very good.

Room was very comfortable and quiet even though we were at the front of the hotel.

Overall though we loved it - a real gem in the New Forest. Great for couples and small families like ours. We'll definitely be back!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We both had steak. Really good but they need to give you a steak knife! I had soufflé to start, really nice. My husband had scallops. The dessert we chose the cheese and biscuits for £14.95 between us. This was way over priced. Setting is really lovely, romantic. I thought it as expensive of what it was but good.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ciara t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

First visit and wont be the last. Excellent service in beautiful surroundings. The Sunday lunch menu was delightful. Very warm welcome from staff, cannot fault the cuisine and service was brilliant. A real Sunday treat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hordle
1.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
2.1 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
2.0 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill at Gordleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill at Gordleton

Property: The Mill at Gordleton
Address: Silver Street, Hordle, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 6DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lymington > Hordle
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hordle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mill at Gordleton 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a pretty privately owned restaurant with 7 lovely individually decorated bedrooms, serving gorgeous local or organic food. We try not to be pretentious, preferring instead to be informal and friendly, but we are still totally committed to quality and service. But the best part of all is the river and rambling gardens, home to a family of ducks and if you are lucky you might even spot a Kingfisher! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Mill at Gordleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill At Gordleton Hotel Hordle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing