We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ate in the pub”
Review of The Dolphin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dolphin Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

At first we thought of eating in the restaurant but decided on the bar. Food portion were good enough. We went for sandwiches and they were well made and quite delicious. The bar staff were very friendly as were the locals. Definitely go again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Gastromist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your meals with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 372 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

We recently stopped for a meal in the Dolphin in the beautiful town of Beer. The food was okay, but the prices were steep for the food that was served. I work in Londin and the bill came to more than my local.

The service was very friendly and it was located near to the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fennybobsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, your comments have been noted and passed onto the relevant person. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at the Dolphin hotel with our children, the family room had a separate twin bed area where the children could go to sleep. The whole experience was lovely although quite a big hotel it still has a homely feel, the breakfasts were top and Dannys Steak Pie stands alone and could win awards! Great Sunday carvery and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter when the function room is not in use. The front rooms over look the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and meals with us and we look forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is the second time that I have stayed at the Dolphin. This time I and 7 other friends went down on our motorcycles. The Dolphin benefits from the fact that it has its own car park to the rear. My room was comfortable and recently refurbished. It came with a shower cubicle (but then I didn't want a bath) and the staff were very accommodating especially as we all checked in rather late. The bar staff were charming and breakfast was more than adequate. I will, no doubt, visit Beer again and if I do, I'll stay at the Dolphin again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, I am glad that everyone enjoyed their stay and we look forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stopped here at random and were welcomed in with good advise about the rooms, a friendly meal and a comfy bed.
In the morning we had a pleasant full breakfast and left feeling good
thank you
we will visit again

Room Tip: The room we had was large but over the long bar. However we did not get much disturbance and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s.a.m.England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and meals with us and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We didn't sleep at the hotel but had dinner there. Decent size portions, and lots too choose from. Food ok but what really put me off were the Flys flying around, and what made matters worse was they had a sticky fly trap on a mirror, and it had loads of dead flys on it!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank lonyo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, we are pleasd that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments we will make sure that the matter is seen to at once. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have just returned from The Dolphin, have been staying here for over 20 years when visiting relatives and it never disappoints. The bedroom refurb was needed and has been done very tastefully. I work as a manager in a 5 star resort and so know what to look for.
Just some points which need addressing but are not worth rating deductions -1. Ask the chefs to stand away from the back entrance,right under guests bedrooms. I know better than most that the breaks are an absolute necessity, but the fowl language isnt, and we and children above in those rooms shouldnt be subject to hearing it from staff. 2. Meals in the restaurant are outstanding quality & value, however WAY too big! Who really needs half a whole chicken in their chicken salad meaning the other accompanments need a whole separate plate? And a whole portion of veg involving 8 potatoes for a toddler? Im just thinking of your waste really. I dont want this comment to take away from the meal enjoyment though, great quality.
Please take our advise and visit the antique centre opposite, enjoy the gorgeous cliff walks and enjoy a prawn sarnie overlooking the beach. Its a must, Beer is a delight!
Thank you, see you next year!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, we are pleasd that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments we will make sure that the matter is seen to at once. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beer
1.6 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
676 reviews
7 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
445 reviews
2.4 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Home Farm Hotel
Home Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wilmington
61 reviews
6.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
478 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
#8 of 13 in Sidmouth
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel

Address: Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton > Beer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beer
Price Range: $98 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolphin Hotel is an impressive historic Hotel situated in the beautiful fishing village of Beer on the Jurassic Coast. We have 22 bedrooms, a Restaurant, 2 Public Bars and a Function Room. We specialise in hearty portions of local seafood and home cooked meals. We have our OWN CAR PARK! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Beer
The Dolphin Hotel Beer, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing