We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Dolphin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dolphin Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Whilst the decor and food style is dated, we had a fabulous meal here. Portions were huge, the fish perfectly cooked and clearly caught fresh today and the deserts were homemade. Faultless service, and fast despite being busy. Great value too! I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgie2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, we are pleased that you enjoyed your meals with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 372 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for two nights in August this year. Good location, good food, good room, good service. As Trip Adviser needs at least 200 characters to submit a review I have added this! As Trip Adviser needs at least 200 characters to submit a review I have added this!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, we are pleased that your enjoyed your stay and meals with us and hope that you visit Beer and us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay as were in our campervan but stopped by for dinner on a Sat evening. Food was delicious, huge portions and very quick service. There was a wedding in the function room but that obviously didn't phase the kitchen. Would recommend to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Energyimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, we are pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and hope that you eat with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Had a great family dinner, huge platefuls of food in a warm and friendly atmosphere. Strongly recommend but you must book. It is the best place to eat in this fantastic fishing village. All the fish is fresh mostly straight from the local beach.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and hope that you eat with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We eat here most times we visit Beer. The menu is quite good and the portions are always good. Always get loads of veggies with the meals. Service good and friendly. Sometimes wish there was something a little lighter on the menu...tomatoey pasta, grilled chicken and rice or cous cous or baked spud for example.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Cliff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, we are pleased that you enjoyed your meals and hope that you visit us and beer again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

ONLY FOOD; Have never stayed on a B&B basis, but the bar meals - Excellent staff, food and atmosphere, never had a the necessity to complain, just enjoy, the staff are brilliant and relaxed, the room is cool, even is the heat

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Big_BlueUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, we are pleased you enjoyed your meals with us and hope you visit us and Beer again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Hubby and I have just returned from a short break in Beer and we stayed at the Dolphin Hotel. It really is a brilliant place. It's old, it's quirky and it's fantastic. The room was lovely and immaculate with a comfy bed. The staff are happy, friendly and attentive and the food is excellent. Huge portions and the very highest quality - do try the fresh seafood there if you get a chance as it's superb. Will definitely be back. Thank you for a lovely stay, Dolphin Hotel, a fantastic base for a stay in a beautiful little village.

Room Tip: If it's very hot, the rooms above the kitchen can get rather warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley_Wh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beer
1.6 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
670 reviews
7 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
445 reviews
2.4 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
#8 of 13 in Sidmouth
922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchor Inn Beer
Anchor Inn Beer
#6 of 9 in Beer
358 reviews
0 mi away
Durham House
Durham House
#4 of 9 in Beer
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel

Address: Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton > Beer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beer
Price Range: $96 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolphin Hotel is an impressive historic Hotel situated in the beautiful fishing village of Beer on the Jurassic Coast. We have 22 bedrooms, a Restaurant, 2 Public Bars and a Function Room. We specialise in hearty portions of local seafood and home cooked meals. We have our OWN CAR PARK! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Beer
The Dolphin Hotel Beer, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing