We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“splendid”
Review of The Dolphin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dolphin Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We'd like to start this review with my sincere thanks to all the staff that made your hoilday experience in beer a wonderful and enjoyable one. Stayed here over the Easter weekend what a wonderful experience it was, can really see value for money holidays abroad are not the future when you have this beautiful little hot spot in Devon called Beer.
Fantastic food and bar. We ate the restaurant the first night I had the signature scallops incredibly fresh and jam packed with flavour. Second night we ate the bar (because the restaurant was full) also excellent. This night we got carried away with all the local and the real ales so a much needed breakfast was more than w welcome and didn't it half hit the spot lol
once again thanks to all the staff and I will defiantly be visiting you again this year
Ben and Sue

Room Tip: All rooms are recently refurbished I was told by reception
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benvisitbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
There are newer reviews for The Dolphin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 359 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

Beer is an amazing place, but there is a limited choice of hotels.
As other reviewers have said it can be noisy at night with music etc from the bar downstairs, so best not to try and sleep early. We booked a twin room and I remain confused why the cost was double a single and so approx £98 which seems steep. The room was fine, but the ensuite had no lock on the door and the shower door was almost impossible to open and close. The temperature from the shower is not set by the control but varies at will between hot and cold which is not ideal. The breakfast is good but limited in time from 8-30 to 9-15 and one needs to check out by 10am.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monfode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This review only relates to the hotel restaurant - bar seemed a more lively option but we had booked so went ahead. Our party was served by 5 different members of staff, none of whom were particularly cheerful or welcoming. The food was distinctly average. The decor is brown. This reminds me of the sort of experience that we had 30 years ago in great British seaside hotels. Think carefully before committing to this cheerless dining room and maybe look to some of the more forward-thinking places in the area who are at least trying to be a bit different.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank VikingDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolphinhotelbeer, Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Whilst we welcome all reviews from our customers the Management of The Dolphin Hotel feel our decor is in keeping with a Grade II listed building that dates back a few hundred years. Staffing levels are high, working together as a team, in order to maintain efficiency in our popular Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

we have been going to this hotel for years cant find any better every one that has gone there with us returns time after time.
staff are great locals are fun we have never had any problems with getting a drink.food great
we always have a great time love it music is great never seen a band like the one on the bosses
birthday great place for fun.
a smart

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

thanx to the x53 me and my husband visit beer 2 or 3 times a month .we often go in the dolphin for lunch in the long bar.the food is very good value for money and very nice indeed.but if its drink your after dont go on thursday or friday lunch times.if you cant see the bar man. look on the fruit machine or outside in the smoking area .where he seems to spend a lot of time.or if not he is stood behind the bar on his mobile phone.i dont normaly moan about any body and he seems such a nice young man. but i think youll loose a customer or 2 in the summer if you cant serve them in the winter.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maggie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolphinhotelbeer, Owner at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

The management of the Dolphin Hotel, Beer, would like to thank the reviewer (2nd March) for bringing to our attention a staffing issue. We apologise for the inconvenience caused and happily offer our assurance that it will not happen again in the future. We take pride in the service given to our guests and patrons and appreciate the feedback in order to improve our relationship with our valued customers. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

What a welcome-people were interested in us-staff were helpful to us -one of the only hotels i have ever stayed in in which i felt my custom truly valued and it was warm in November -open fires and radiators on high - gorgeous after a walk by the sea. The staff are hardworking and happy and seem to love the place which made me love the place and Howard on reception well he should be made one of England's golden treasures! Very fine food and perfect bar- after 24 hours i did not want to leave and guess what we are going back for New Year - cannot wait,
Olivia Davison

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LivDavison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed in a 'dog' room and were warned on booking that it was above the bar. Having stayed in several pubs and inns around England above bars, we thought we knew what to expect. I asked how bad it was and was told it should be not bad as there was no live music.

Upon check-in, I had my doubts but the room was very large and comfortable, and there was some effort made at cleanliness and nice decoration. After a quiet start when we went to bed about 10, then the jukebox throbbed like it was in our room, people screeching and yelling outside and in until 1 a.m., and the dog and I didn't sleep a wink, although I think :my husband and son eventually got to sleep. I was told by staff the next day that the owner said it had been a very quiet night in the bar! We checked out early, and as were leaving, we saw a sign that they had a live band that night in the function room!!! Thank god we didn't stay the second night! Do not stay here unless you want to party with the locals.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zimagrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beer
1.6 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
645 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
367 reviews
2.4 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchor Inn Beer
Anchor Inn Beer
#6 of 9 in Beer
346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Durham House
Durham House
#3 of 9 in Beer
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel

Address: Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton > Beer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beer
Price Range: $95 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolphin Hotel is an impressive historic Hotel situated in the beautiful fishing village of Beer on the Jurassic Coast. We have 22 bedrooms, a Restaurant, 2 Public Bars and a Function Room. We specialise in hearty portions of local seafood and home cooked meals. We have our OWN CAR PARK! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Beer
The Dolphin Hotel Beer, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing