We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware if you like sleep”
Review of The Dolphin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dolphin Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beer
Certificate of Excellence
Folsom, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beware if you like sleep”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed in a 'dog' room and were warned on booking that it was above the bar. Having stayed in several pubs and inns around England above bars, we thought we knew what to expect. I asked how bad it was and was told it should be not bad as there was no live music.

Upon check-in, I had my doubts but the room was very large and comfortable, and there was some effort made at cleanliness and nice decoration. After a quiet start when we went to bed about 10, then the jukebox throbbed like it was in our room, people screeching and yelling outside and in until 1 a.m., and the dog and I didn't sleep a wink, although I think :my husband and son eventually got to sleep. I was told by staff the next day that the owner said it had been a very quiet night in the bar! We checked out early, and as were leaving, we saw a sign that they had a live band that night in the function room!!! Thank god we didn't stay the second night! Do not stay here unless you want to party with the locals.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zimagrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    129
    45
    13
    19
See reviews for
84
152
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

This place is a nightmare. There is constant bar noise and the management really don't care. Food is nothing special and neither are the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 0811traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banburyuk
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Please please dont be put off by the few negative views , particularly concerning noise at this wonderful hotel. We stayed for two nights, fully aware that we were staying in a room above the long bar. This was explained by reception and we duly accepted our fate. Do you know what, enjoy all that Beer has to offer, beaitiful walks, sea air, great food (at the Dolphin's own restaurant) and then retire to the bars and have a few drinks, let your hair down, soaking up the local atmosphere and then when you DO go to bed, it's a case of "what noise?" We came here for our 2nd visit to Beer and our 1st stay at the Dolphin, beleive me, it will not be the last. Service is with a smile and they have very hard-working staff. Rooms are clean. Beds are so comfortable. The food is excellent. So, yes, you do hear seagulls in the morning. Funny that, being by the sea. I loved it all and my husband and I cant wait to escape for another Beer adventure very soon. Dolphin Hotel, please dont change.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wifeoftommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leamington spa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed here with our dog for the weekend, the hotel and staff were all great, and we had no complaints at all.

We stayed in one of the rooms which allow dogs, and it was very clean when we arrived, no signs or smells that dogs frequently occupied the room.

Ate here on one night, the food was of a very high quality...if a little dated.

All in all we had a great stay, and are already planning to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stampz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

A very lovely family run hotel.breakfasts was one of the nicest we have had.all staff very attentive.we all came down for a 40th birthday,and stayed 3 nights.and we all thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and beer.slight downside was it was noisy when the longbar closed,with people drunkenly shouting,wasn't any trouble,but I would take some ear plugs.part from that,I've recommended it,and will carry on so.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charleycole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

While this might be the only decent hotel in Beer, butit sure has a high noise exposure. We were there on Saturday and Sunday nights and we had a room in the rear above the bar. There was yelling, loud music, rough behavior (couples arguing) into the wee hours on early Sunday morning and on Monday morning it was the sound of loud garbage collectors. To top this, the 4:00 AM screeching of sea gulls was enough to make you scream. The food in the restaurant was good and our room was spotless. But you need to being ear plugs to escape the horrid noise.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ernrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Booked in for a Saturday and Sunday night - left at 0130 on the Sunday morning because of the continued noise and swearing from the Long Bar. On the plus side the food was good value and very tasty. Will stay in Beer again. but definitely not at the Dolphin Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spitwac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beer
1.6 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
629 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
344 reviews
2.4 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
429 reviews
6.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
446 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel

Property: The Dolphin Hotel
Address: Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton > Beer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolphin Hotel is an impressive historic Hotel situated in the beautiful fishing village of Beer on the Jurassic Coast. We have 22 bedrooms, a Restaurant, 2 Public Bars and a Function Room. We specialise in hearty portions of local seafood and home cooked meals. We have our OWN CAR PARK! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Beer
The Dolphin Hotel Beer, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing