We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer was lovely - Belmont House was disappointing”
Review of Belmont House Beer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belmont House Beer
Ranked #5 of 9 Beer B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beer was lovely - Belmont House was disappointing”
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We’ve just returned from a fabulous weekend in Beer, the village really was enchanting and the perfect getaway. However I'm surprised at all of these great reviews for in Belmont House, as I’m sorry to say that we were disappointed.

The website describes the establishment as a ‘luxury four star’ B&B, so naturally we arrived with high expectations. On a positive note, the location in the heart of the village was ideal, and we had no complaints about the standard of cleanliness of the room. Unfortunately, being situated next to the kitchen and dining room, there was a lot of noise from staff and guests, as you could hear all conversations in the morning, and our own privacy felt somewhat compromised. Being provided with just one packet of two biscuits felt a bit tight-fisted – especially when they weren’t replenished the following morning.

Breakfast was a big disappointment. I’ve stayed in a lot of country B&Bs in my time, and used to seeing local produce pn the breakfast menu. The orange juice tasted like cheap long-life juice, there were no cereals on offer, and the sausages were just abysmal – very poor quality. It’s also a shame that there wasn’t a choice of eggs or anything else – it was full English or nothing. Serving breakfast between 8.30-9.00 on a weekend morning seems very early, and we were very pleased not to be the poor couple who arrived for breakfast only to discover that all tables had been taken and they were asked to wait outside until a space became available. If there are 5 rooms and you are serving breakfast over a short period, why only have 4 tables?


The parking pass was a major bonus we thought, BUT – when we checked out on Sunday morning I asked if I could drop it in later when we left the village, and we were asked to return it straight away. So we still ended up feeding £8 into the meter on Sunday.

In summary, I’m afraid that at £80 per night we did not feel that we got value for money, and certainly not a ‘luxury four star’ experience. We also expected to meet our host at some point during our visit, and that lack of personal touch summed up our stay really.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SouthamptonRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    41
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
146
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northants
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Wonderful stay - very comfortable. Friendly welcome and helpful information about local area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vespa250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clevedon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

this is a lovely b&b , nothing to much trouble , very clean and very friendly , breakfast was great , what more could anyone want and in a lovely fishing village

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nat1968Clevedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2010

This was booked by my girlfriend for a weekend away in Beer. It was a friendly and clean BnB. We stayed in the pink room - it felt a bit crowded for her but I thought it was fine for a short stay.
Simon and the rest of the staff were very helpful and informative.
Bed was not the most comfortable but again OK for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elstnep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2010

My fiancee and I wanted to have a little break, and we decided to go to a quiet place, a small town... So we went to Beer, and after read all the reviews in here, we decided to book at Belmont House. Lilly was there to meet us when we arrived. When we booked we told Simon that I am Spanish and my fiancee is French, and Lilly bought some Pain aux chocolat and some Brioche for her. We really apreciated that. We stayed in the monochrome room, and everything was perfect. Next time we will try the blue room, but the monochrome room was very lovely.

Food at the Anchor Inn is perfect, big portions and very tasty. At the Barrel-o-Beer we ate whole crab and mussels... Loads of quality for a reasonible price.

We had a little problem when we had dinner at the Dolphin. They ran out of Sea Brimm and Brill. It took them ages to bring us two menus, take our orders and bring us the starters. They apologized letting us know that they had a function... We understood, but that was not our problem... If they have a function, they should buy more food and bring some more staff to work... I have to say that the food was very good.

Well, I think that that's that.

Congratulations!!! And as we told you, Lilly, we will be back soon!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spanish-in-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilts
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2010

My wife and I wanted to get away for the weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary of 33 years, we had visited Beer before as day trippers and felt the warmth of the locals gave true value to this loverly unspoilt seaside town, The belmont House B/B seemed to fit those values that made for a great stay. A seaside town working as one to celebrate hospitality,caring and a genuine need to please. A recomendation from the owner Simon Gooch steared us to Beers great pubs and fine dining, Flowers in the room for my wife and Bucksfizz as requested was greatly receieved by my wife after a long journey.
Thank you to Simon and his staff for a great weekend. M Blick.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltsMitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Simon and Jilly are the most welcoming and helpful people we have met in the last two years. The house is excellent in the most fabulous surroundings. Jilly is a very bright spot first thing in the morning even on a very dull day. Beer village is a relaxing friendly village and all the pubs/restuarants are within a very short walk of Belmont House which is an added bonus. Will certainly visit again.
Val and Bryan Essex

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valeriepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beer
1.6 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
615 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel
The Dolphin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beer
329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Durham House
Durham House
#3 of 9 in Beer
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Colebrooke House
Colebrooke House
#2 of 9 in Beer
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchor Inn Beer
Anchor Inn Beer
#6 of 9 in Beer
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
YHA Beer
YHA Beer
#2 of 2 in Beer
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmont House Beer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont House Beer

Property: Belmont House Beer
Address: Dolphin Road, Beer, Seaton EX12 3EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton > Beer
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Beer
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
200 Year old flint stone fisherman's cottage with a 2 minute flat level walk to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Belmont House Beer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont House Bed And Breakfast Beer
Belmont House b&b Beer Hotel Beer
Belmont House Beer Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing