We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“British seaside town at its best.”
Review of Belmont House Beer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belmont House Beer
Ranked #5 of 9 Beer B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 3, 2010

My wife and I wanted to get away for the weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary of 33 years, we had visited Beer before as day trippers and felt the warmth of the locals gave true value to this loverly unspoilt seaside town, The belmont House B/B seemed to fit those values that made for a great stay. A seaside town working as one to celebrate hospitality,caring and a genuine need to please. A recomendation from the owner Simon Gooch steared us to Beers great pubs and fine dining, Flowers in the room for my wife and Bucksfizz as requested was greatly receieved by my wife after a long journey.
Thank you to Simon and his staff for a great weekend. M Blick.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiltsMitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 201 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2010

Simon and Jilly are the most welcoming and helpful people we have met in the last two years. The house is excellent in the most fabulous surroundings. Jilly is a very bright spot first thing in the morning even on a very dull day. Beer village is a relaxing friendly village and all the pubs/restuarants are within a very short walk of Belmont House which is an added bonus. Will certainly visit again.
Val and Bryan Essex

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valeriepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

An excellent B&B with a courteous and helpful owner. All the rooms have been well thought out and make the most use out of the space. The rooms are clean and warm, the carpark is opposite with free parking courtesy of the B&B and an on hand taxi service come tour guide in the owner / manager if you want it. So mauch attention has been paid to detail, we stayed over valentines weekend an on arrival Bucks Fizz had been left on the bed with chocolates and glittery hearts. I suspect at any time this attention to detail is inherent in the desire to offer his guests a optimum experience
We had booked Rover Cottage and were transported there and back and were even met at the Tractor by Simon torch in hand. it took away all the usual incumbant stress. Simon will advise you on all your options but will also quite happily let you get onwith your own plans. We were happy for the direction.
Beer is a get away from it all place a step back in time a completely relaxing place which we intend to visit again soon.
I would advise the Blue room for maximum space closely followed by the pink and green, the monochrome is lovley too. You do need to be quite at home with the person you are sharing with in relation to the use of the en suite facilities but these have been well thought out to maximise the use of the space in the rooms.
Stay here and you will be welcomed and made to feel at home where nothing has been too much trouble.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaybcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2009

My husband and I were attending a River Cottage event as a 40th birthday surprise for my hubby and we booked into the Belmont for one night. I emailed Simon (the owner)with a list of requests to make the stay special and he was aboslutely fantastic. Simon arranged bucks fizz and a birthday cake to be in the room on our arrival. We stayed in the blue room which was beautiful. The bed was so comfortable I wanted to stay there all day. The bathroom has a fab corner bath and there were lovely little touches in there like shower gel, hand wash (Dove I might add) and there were bath robes. There was also a TV,DVD player and films and a fridge with bottles of water. Tea, coffe, hot chocolate and biscuits and bowls of sweets all round the room! The Belmont is very clean and decorated to a high standard. Cooked breakfast was fab. Simon transported us to and from River Cottage in his luxury transport.Simon is very knowledgeable about the area and gave us lots of interesting places to visit. Nothing was to much trouble for Simon and he made us feel very welcome. A first class service and will be going back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisy8216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

Simon (the owner)met us off the London train at Axminster and provided us with a limo type sevice for our three days. Beer is a wonderful location and with Simon's help we had all we wanted. If you are looking for a B&B with a little extra then this is it. The extra
is good food round the corner all over Beer with Steamers Restaurant extra fiendly and
good food(owned by the chef). Simon took us to Lyme Regis(Hicks Retaurant) and to River Cottage canteen in Axminster. The Hicks restaurant has excellent food and an unsurpassed view of Lyme Bay. For anyone who likes walking the Beer area is great with cliff top walks. An unspoilt location and may it remain so. I said this morning that I would like to go back and that is my best recommendation.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nizels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Our stay at the Belmont was fine - we had the pink room which was, well, quite pink. That aside, the place was clean and quiet, and the lady who looked after us was very accommodating. Breakfast was tasty. The location was close to the centre of town, which was good for us as we were on a hiking holiday and were on foot. Compared to other places we stayed in, perhaps a little pricey, but not outrageous.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toad55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2009

Stayed here to attend event at River Cottage. Comfortable rooms and extremely close to local pubs and restaurant. Short walk to sea front and lovely bay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jezza1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beer hotels
0 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel
The Dolphin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beer
373 reviews
0 mi away
Durham House
Durham House
#4 of 9 in Beer
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colebrooke House
Colebrooke House
#2 of 9 in Beer
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anchor Inn Beer
Anchor Inn Beer
#6 of 9 in Beer
363 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Beer
YHA Beer
#2 of 2 in Beer
74 reviews
0 mi away
Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmont House Beer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont House Beer

Address: Dolphin Road, Beer, Seaton EX12 3EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton > Beer
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Beer
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
200 Year old flint stone fisherman's cottage with a 2 minute flat level walk to the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belmont House Bed And Breakfast Beer
Belmont House b&b Beer Hotel Beer
Belmont House Beer Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing