We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant day out”
Review of Pecorama

Pecorama
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Beer
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: PECORAMA - one of East Devon's leading visitor attractions, is set on a hillside above the pictureque fishing village of Beer. It is home to the mile-long Beer Heights Light Railway with its fleet of miniature steam locomotives; the famous PECO Model Railway Exhibition featuring superbly detailed layouts in every major gauge and the PECO Millennium Celebration Garden, five stunning Garden "rooms" based on a celestial theme. Children's activity areas feature the wonderful new indoor 'Play Staion' plus an extensive range of outdoor play equipment, whilst grown-ups can try their skill and stamina on the Crazy Golf course and Fitness Trail. There is a varied programme of entertainment throughout the summer season, including children's shows featuring jesters, clowns and magicians performing under cover of our own big top, the PECO Marquee. The displayed opening times are for the summer season only (Easter to October). During our low season, the Beer Heights Light Railway and Gardens close but the Model Railway Exhibition & Shop, Garden Room Restaurant and Play Station Soft Play area remain open. Please see our website for these facilities’ winter opening hours.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant day out”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Spent bank holiday Monday here with our daughter, son-in-law and two grandsons aged six and four. We all thoroughly enjoyed our visit there. As it was a bank holiday extra engines were on show, plenty to do as well as the trains, crazy golf, adventure play areas (had a job getting the eldest grandson off the zip wire). Gardens well laid out with so many little hidden gems. We all liked it so much we decided to have an extra train ride before leaving.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndyJ39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    179
    51
    16
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
exeter
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Visit with the mrs and kids, not too expense, enough to keep you busy for most of the day. Food in restaurant was ok. The railway was very good, the engines etc all very well put together. The whole site was extremely well kept and tidy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank djbesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best small train trip we have ever been on”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

My whole family loved this place so much better than we expected. The museum bit was great my little boy thought it was "the best place ever" then we went up the hill and into the gardens it was the bank holiday steam event with all the little engines out and the train ride itself was so good not just round in a circle round a really interesting route turning crossing over though tunnels it lasting for about 20mins but I could of done it again there was so much to see. The play areas were great, the crazy golf was so cheap and really good fun up and down

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank familygal84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hilly, train filled day out”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Model railways, a train ride, multiple play areas. When you are 3.5 and 5 this is heaven.
My children adored all the model railway layouts as did my husband and they gave him lots of food for thought for his layout (which is currently languishing in the bedroom). Add in a ride on a steam train and and hilly climb to the play area and we had two very tired children on the way home.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Knittingnovice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun for Young and Old”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were aware of Pecorama having stayed in Beer many times but had never visited. This time we had our grandchildren with us and decided on a day out. What a great time we all had. The gardens were magnificent and the train ride the best ever experienced. Plenty for the children to do and entertainment on as well. It was hard to drag them away at the end of the day. It could well be a train set for Christmas having enjoyed the model train exhibition. Well done Pecorama for catering for all ages at a sensible price.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ladbroke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pecorama also viewed

 

Been to Pecorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing