We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Beer”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay View Guest House
Ranked #1 of 9 Beer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Beer”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed at the Bay View in November 2012 - it was our second time there and both visits have been excellent.
The rooms are tastefully furnished and very clean. All the staff are very accommodating and helpful. It has a wonderful location looking across Beer beach and on the second visit we had a sea view.
The breakfasts are very good and set you up for the day.
We will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRHLiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    29
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
170
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
chester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed for a week in Bay View in June 2012. We have stayed before and have always been impressed by the situation, the accommodation and friendliness of the staff. We try and book early in order to reserve one of the rooms overlooking the beach. Great selection of freshly cooked breakfasts. There is free parking for your car at the main Beer car park. There are plenty of places for evening meals within a couple of minutes walk. Hope to be there again in the summer of 2013.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeg42_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Well, what can I say - we travelled down from Bristol on the Monday afternoon and were met at the Bay View by A Lovely Young Man in Shorts who showed us our accommodation for the next four days. We had chosen to stay in one of the row of cottages which had a sitting room attached to the bedroom and en suite. The rooms were pristine, New England Cool, comfortable and, with the autumn chill beginning to creep in under the clouds, warm. As the row of pretty little cottages was at the top of the ramp leading down to the beach, we couldn't have been better placed to literally roll down the hill in the morning! Breakfasts were cheerfully served in the pretty, light tea shop next to our cottage which also belongs to Nikki, who works hard to ensure guests are made welcome and valued. We could come and go as we pleased and adjusted our itinerary to suit the weather - dozing on the beach in the sunshine and on the comfy sofa and deep armchair when the weather turned to the default 2012 setting of "wet". The Beer atmosphere, fuelled by the excellent local beer and stunning locally sourced food (the seafood was the best we have had outside Italy ...) turned our own settings firmly to "recharge". Time slowed and rest was assured. We left with a heavy heart on the Saturday morning, hoping that we will be able to go back many times in the future. Don't read this, anybody, we want to have first refusal whenever we go back!!! Nicki - thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandabristoluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldbourne
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

On our second visit to 'Beer' this year, we once again stayed at 'The Bay View Guest House', same room, same staff, same quality of service, just great!! We wonder where Nicki manages to find such good staff?

Room Tip: Room 3 has a nice view of the beach!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AldbourneHerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Bay View Guest House, our 3rd stay in Beer and 2nd at the Bay View. There is no doubt it is one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in. The room is spotless, the staff warm and welcoming and the breakfast just yummy!
Beer is a very pretty village with a sprinkling of lovely shops, galleries, and tea rooms for the all important cream teas. A stroll into the anchor pub in the evening for a tasty meal and drink or two
finishing the day off just perfectly.
Why would you stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: If you are able to have a room at the front to take in the view take advantage of that, but have al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The high marks here are a bit a surprise for what is basically a good B&B but not an outstanding one. All in all fine, but not as friendly as the other reviewers have reported.
Room and breakfast were OK, but nothing special

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gko13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a one night stay in the Bay View Guest house on route to Exmouth. The room was good value for money, clean and modern. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast top class for a B & B. Parking permit for car included, Would go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double, which was great for one night. For longer stays booked a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark187057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beer
1.7 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
636 reviews
6.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
454 reviews
4.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Durham House
Durham House
#3 of 9 in Beer
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colebrooke House
Colebrooke House
#2 of 9 in Beer
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Beer
YHA Beer
#2 of 2 in Beer
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Guest House

Property: Bay View Guest House
Address: Fore Street | Sea Front, Beer, Seaton EX12 3EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton > Beer
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Beer
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Bay View Guest House Beer, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing