We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Masons Arms(Branscombe)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Riviera(Sidmouth)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Elizabeth(Sidmouth)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveler rating
8
8
1
6
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
8
1
6
12
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 35 of 35 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This has got to have been one of the worst B & B's that I have ever stayed in! A room with a tv that did not work because of the rain! A tolet door with no lock, not enough towels, no toiletries, sour milk, mould in the kettle and a very abusive landlady. Frankly we could not wait to leave. How thi sver got a three star rating is beyond me!

Room Tip: don't bother!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz s, Owner at Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

firstly how you can commment on my establishment when you cant even write and spell properley is very clever, as i have been in this business for over 15 yrs and have never had someone like you stay is another bonus, how many towels does one need are you that desperate that 2 large bath towels plus hand towels are not enough, toiletries we dont advetise them and its not a requirement for 3 star ,as for the ensuite bathroom , you were in a family room with no access to windows in the ensuite and for health and safety we dont wish for our children staying with us to get locked in which is a problem for many b&bs, t v was working and i dont have control over the stockland hill receiver , as for milks then the cash and carry that they were bought in will have to complain to the manufacturer that you dont like the uht milk, as the date stamp was until january 2012 , mould in a kettle, thats a new one as was the kettle and as for abusive landlady, i always treat customers as friends and everyone the same even when they are loud abusive and swearing when they have had enough drink, so if you go away again go to a posh hotel in london pay 1000 plus a night you might be happy then ,but doubt that , and i can show hundreds of satisfied customers that have stayed with us over the years and all there comments so thanks for yours and i wont take anymore notice of that liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

The bed and breakfast was very clean and the owner was very friendly.

The bedroom was clean but needed a very good make over and new beding,i would stay again if the was upgraded.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz s, Owner at Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

thankyou for the comments, as the longest standing b&b owners in beer we believe in keeping our accomodation clean tidy affordable and no frills just a good honest bed and breakfast, as you have to accomodate many guests through the season items can get damaged and so its impractical to upgrade fixtures and fittings to every guest taste but our rooms are updated and refurbished as the need arises, and we had our quality in tourism assessor give us an impromto overnight visit earier in august and she was most happy with the surroundings and stayed in the room in which you stayed in , so thankyou for your comments and they are noted, regards liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

A lovely experience. Great to have a parking permit for the large car park opposite. The B&B is eight next to the main street with outstanding pubs and restaurants. It is about a 500m walk to the beach which has good amenities.

The rooms are functional and tidy if a little cramped. We had a compfy nights sleep every night and enjoyed the breakfasts. The landlady (Liz) is an outstanding host and made us feel very welcome. As a 3 star place it's obviously not going to have all the bells and whistles but,overall, the place is an absolute gem and I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Illadvised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz s, Owner at Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

thankyou for your comments and trust you will come an see us again in the future
regards liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Lovely , 2 mins from the beach and in the heart of beer village, good comfy bed and very nice clean room, excellent breakfast, nice freindly landlady who gave us parking permit to use in the car park opposite, which saved us on parking, would recommed

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fisherman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz s, Owner at Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

thankyou for your imput and nice comments hop to see you again regards liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews